Sociology

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Library Specialist

Greg Schmidt
schmigr@auburn.edu
334-844-1736

Contents

[edit] Indexes and Databases

Sociological Databases

Sociological Abstracts (CSA) 1963-Current

Social Services Abstracts (CSA) 1980-Current

PsycINFO (EBSCO) 1887-Current

Anthrosource (American Anthropological Association) 1880-Current


General Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present

Dissertation Abstracts

1861 – Present. The years 1998-1999 are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.

Social Sciences Citation Index (ISI)

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1984 - Present.


Current Awareness Resources


CQ Researcher

The award-winning The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. There are 44 reports produced each year including four expanded reports. The CQ Researcher's hallmark is scrupulous objectivity and balance. Every 12,000-word report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts -- round out each report.

Ingenta

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.


[edit] Finding Journals


To find a particular journal, do a journal title search in AubieCat using this quick search box!'
Search AUBIECat: by: Journal Title' Quick SearchTitleAuthorBrowse SubjectsBrowse AuthorsBrowse Call NumbersAdvanced Search

Sociology Journals at the AU Libraries


Sociology and Social Work Journals

Electronic Journal of Sociology

Other Sociology and Social Science Journals Online


[edit] Web Sites

[edit] Social Psychology Metasites:

Sociology Web Sites Compiled by Grolier's Multemedia Encyclopedia

Social Psychology Network
Social_Psychology.Net


SocioSite
Social science information system based at the University of Amsterdam.
Journal Site
Online Journal of Current Research in Social Psychology
http://www.uiowa.edu/~grpproc/crisp/crisp.html

Databases with Sociology related Journals available online (patron ID required if off campus)


Internet Sites for the Sociologist
This is a link is to Auburn University's Sociology Resources on the Internet page.
Center for Demography and Ecology (CDE) Working Papers [.pdf, .ps]
The CDE at the University of Wisconsin-Madison is "a multi-disciplinary faculty research cooperative for social scientific demographic research whose membership includes sociologists, rural sociologists, economists, and historians." CDE research focuses "on population composition and distribution within the United States, especially on changes in family structure and process and social inequality, but the total range of research and training activities of CDE members is far broader in content and scope." This page features two working paper series: CDE papers and National Survey of Families and Households (NSFH) papers. Selected papers (Adobe Acrobat [.pdf] and PostScript) are avialable online, but ordering information is provided and available abstracts may be viewed without special software.
Dead Sociologist Index
The Dead Sociologists Index compiles brief biographies of sixteen famous sociologists, summarizes their important contributions to sociology, and provides excerpts of their original work. Some of the expired sociological theorists included in the index are Jane Addams, W.E.B. Du Bois, Emile Durkheim, Karl Marx, and Thorstein Veblen. Larry R. Ridener, the creator of the index, intends to expand this site, include more dead sociologists, and develop a small digital library of sociological resources.

[edit] Reference Tools

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Directories and Handbooks

Dictionary of Sociology
Dictionary of sociology / edited by Gordon Marshall.
Location
Social Sciences (3rd Floor) Call No: HM 17 .C66 1998

Dictionary of the Social Sciences / edited by Craig Calhoun.
Location Reference Desk (2nd floor) Call No: H 41. D53

Sociology : a guide to reference and information sources''' by Stephen H. Aby.
Location: Social Sciences (2nd.Floor) - Reference Collection Call Number: HM 51 .A24 1997
Directory of teaching innovations in sociology. by L.R. Meeth, Dean S. Gregory.
Location
Social Sciences (3rd Floor) Call Number: LB2331.M397

Encyclopedias on Sociology
Encyclopedia of sociology / Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief, Marie L. Borgatta, managing editor. Auburn RBD Library (3rd Floor) Call No: REF HM 17 .E5 1992.


Encyclopedia of sociology. Auburn RBD Library (3rd Floor) Call No: HM17 .E5


International encyclopedia of the sociology of education / edited by Lawrence J. Saha. Auburn RBD Library (3rd Floor) Call No: LC 191 .I49 1997.


New dictionary of Catholic social thought / Judith A. Dwyer, editor ; Elizabeth L. Montgomery, production editor. Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) Call No: BX 1753 .N497 1994

Handbooks on Sociology

International handbook of contemporary developments in sociology / edited by Raj P. Mohan & Arthur S. Wilke. Auburn RBD Library (3rd Floor) Call Number: HM 19 .I59 1994.


Handbook of clinical sociology / edited by Howard M. Rebach and John G. Bruhn. Auburn RBD Library (3rd Floor) Call No: HM 73 .H315 1991


Handbook of sociology / edited by Neil J. Smelser. Auburn RBD Library (3rd Floor) Call No: HM 51 .H249 1988


[edit] Associations and Societies

American Sociological Association
International Sociological Association

[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages

Auburn University Sociology Department

SOCY 2000 Social Issues Research Guide --Candidate Comparison Assignment.
http://www.lib.auburn.edu/socsci/docs/socy2000.htm