Psychology

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Help

Reference Desk:

334-844-1737
Chat

Contact me:

Barbara A. Bishop
334-844-1690

My Desk Hours:

By appointment

First and foremost: to find library resources (books and journals) you must search the title (or journal title) in the library catalog. The records in the catalog will include links for electronic access and call numbers for print sources.

[edit] Indexes & Databases

Most databases are available both on and off campus. To access a resource from off campus, you will need to type your Auburn University user ID (i.e., the first part of your email address), and password.

[edit] Psychology

PsycINFO 1887-Current. Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations, books and book chapters. Covers over 1300 journals in over 30 languages from approximately 50 countries. Approximately 40% of the articles in this database are full text through this interface.
PsycARTICLES Provides access to full text articles from the American Psychological Association journals and selected Educational Publishing Foundation journals, mostly from 1988 to the present. PsycARTICLES is a sub-set of PsycINFO, so you will find all articles from PsycARTICLES when searching PsycINFO.
PsychiatryOnline Provides full text access to the main publications of the American Psychiatric Association including the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV-TR®). In addition to various psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools this database provides online versions of the following journals: The American Journal of Psychiatry (AJP), Psychiatric Services, Academic Psychiatry, The Journal of Neuropsychiatry & Clinical Neurosciences and Psychosomatics.

[edit] Education

The Education Research Complete database(ERC) is a massive online resource for education research. This database offers the largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals. It also includes some full text books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
The ERIC database, the world's largest source of education information, contains more than 950,000 abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database is updated monthly, and provides access to educational literature going back to 1966.
Professional Development Collection Indexes and abstracts journal articles specifically for professional educators. 50% of the articles in this database are full-text. Professional Development is a powerful supplement to ERIC and Academic Search Elite. Check off, and search, all three databases in EBSCO and you will access a significant sweep of the literature.

[edit] Medical

Medline The complete MEDLINE database covering journals from 1966-present. The categories covered in the database include anatomy, organisms, diseases, chemicals and drugs, techniques and equipment, psychiatry and psychology, biological sciences, physical sciences, social sciences and education, technology, agriculture, food, industry, humanities, information science and communications, and health care.
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts Provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present. Comprehensive information is included for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.

[edit] Sociology

Sociological Abstracts Sociological Abstracts is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.
Social Services Abstracts Social Services Abstracts provide bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

[edit] General Databases & Dissertations

Academic Search Premier Academic Search Premier provides full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975.
Academic OneFile A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
Dissertations & Theses Citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 through present. Full text Auburn University dissertations and theses going back to the 1990's through present.
AUETD (Auburn University Theses and Dissertations Full text of Auburn University dissertations and theses from 2006 through present.

[edit] Journals & Journal Access

Behavioral Sciences Journals

Lists those behavioral sciences journals held by Auburn University Libraries. Always search the library catalog for the journal title to find both for print and electronic access.
ScienceDirect Auburn Library has access to over 200 psychology journals through Science Direct including full-text access to all the American Psychological Association journals.
Google Scholar

Citation Resources

Social Sciences Citation Index The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1984 - Present.

E-mailing scanned journal articles and book chapters to you

Electronic and Departmental Delivery Have articles and book chapters delivered to you electronically from materials located in the AU Libraries. This service is not for materials we have electronic access to. Articles & chapters must be under 50 pages and held in print format only for scanning. We will also deliver books to your office on campus.

Access to Journals not owned by our library

Ingenta A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows full-text PDF access and faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Subsidized document delivery up to $46.00 per article. If our library doesn't subscribe to a journal, try searching the Ingenta database.

Journal Abbreviation Assistance

When your journal title is abbreviated, you try to search the abbreviation by journal title in the library catalog, otherwise you need to find out what the abbreviation means. These online sources will frequently translate the journal abbreviation into a full journal title.
WorldCat
  Search abbreviations.com for journal by abbreviation:     

[edit] Reference: Measurements, Encyclopedias, Dictionaries & Handbooks

Books owned by Auburn University Libraries can be discovered by searching our catalog.

WorldCat OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Use this database to verify book citations, government and agency reports not owned by our library.

Mental Measurements

Mental Measurements Yearbook Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.
Identifying and Locating Mental Measurements This web page includes all the key resources and ideas I have for finding mental measurements.

Encyclopedias

Baker encyclopedia of psychology & counseling Ref BF 31 .B25 1999
The Blackwell encyclopedia of social psychology [e-book, does not include some or all of the images that were part of the print version.] Ref HM 251 .B476 1995 (paper copy)
Comprehensive clinical psychology Ref RC 467 .C597 1998 v. 1-11
Concise Encyclopedia of psychology Ref BF 31 .C67 1996
The Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science[e-book] Ref BF 31 .E52 2001
Encyclopaedia of applied psychology Ref BF 636 .S587 2002
Encyclopedia of children and childhood: in history and society Ref HQ 767.84 .E53 2003 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of human behavior Ref BF 31 .E5 1994 v.1-4
Encyclopedia of psychology 3rd edition Ref BF 31 .E52 2001
Encyclopedia of psychology Ref BF 31 .E52 2000 v.1-8
Encyclopedia of psychotherapy 4th floor RC 475.7 .E537 2002
Encyclopedia of social measurement Ref H 62 .E566 2005 v.1-3
Encyclopedia of the human brain Ref QP 376 .E586 2002 v.1-4
Encyclopedia of the neurological sciences Vet Med Ref RC 334 .E526 2003
The family encyclopedia of child psychology and development Ref BF 721 .B7157 1992
The Gale encyclopedia of psychology Ref BF 31 .G35 1996
International encyclopedia of marriage and family Ref HQ 9 .E52 2003 v.1-4
International encyclopedia of the social & behavioral sciences Ref H 41 .I58 2001 v.1-26
The Sage encyclopedia of social science research methods Ref H 62 .L456 2004 v.1-3
Survey of social science. Psychology series Ref BF 31 .S79 1993 v.1-6

Dictionaries

Biographical dictionary of psychology Ref BF 109 .A1 B56 1997
The Blackwell dictionary of cognitive psychology Ref BF 311 .B535 1990
The Blackwell dictionary of neuropsychology Ref QP 360 .B577 1996
The concise dictionary of psychology Ref BF 31 .S62 1998
Dictionary of biological psychology Ref QP360 .D52 2001
Dictionary of cognitive psychology Ref BF 201 .S78 1995
Dictionary of Cognitive Science : neuroscience, psychology, artificial intelligence, linguistics, and philosophy Ref BF 311 .V56713 2004
Dictionary of developmental psychology Ref BF 712.7 .S78 1996
A dictionary of dream symbols : with an introduction to dream psychology Ref BF 1091 .A34 1993
The Dictionary of family psychology and family therapy Ref RC 488.5 .D525 1993
A dictionary of psychology (e-book) BF 31 .C65 2001 (print)
The Oxford companion to the mind (e-book) Ref BF 31 .O84 2004 (paper)
The Penguin dictionary of psychology Ref BF 31 .R43 2001
A student’s dictionary of psychology Ref BF 31 .S69 2003

Handbooks

APA Manual: Publication manual of the American Psychological Association 5th ed. Ref Desk BF 76.7 .P83 2001
Child development Ref HQ 772 .C436 2002
Clinical handbook of psychological disorders : a step-by-step treatment manual Ref RC 489 .B4 C584 2001 3rd edition
Comprehensive handbook of psychotherapy Ref RC 480 .C593 2002
Comprehensive handbook of psychological assessment Ref BF 176 .C654 2004
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders : DSM-IV-TR Online Access via Psychiatry Online 4th ed., text revision. Ref RC 455.2 .C4 D536 2000 (paper)
Handbook of parenting Ref HQ 755.8 .H357 2002 v.1-5
Handbook of psychology BF 121 .H1955 2003 v.1-12
Handbook of qualitative research Ref H 62 .H2455 2000

[edit] Associations & Societies

American Psychiatric Association
American Psychological Association
American Counseling Association
American Psychological Society
National Institute of Mental Health

[edit] Auburn University Psychology Department

[edit] Help with APA Style

Last but not least: to properly cite the resources in your papers, using APA style, try using

Researching in the Social Sciences

or APA Citation Guide for examples.