Human Factors Engineering

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Reference Tools

Handbooks and General Reference Books

Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards Ref T 55.3 .H3 B73

Definitions, Conversions, and Calculations for Occupational Safety and Health Professionals RC 963.3 .F56

Employee Handbook for on-the-job Survival 3rd floor HF 5549.5 .C8 C63

Ergonomic Design for People at Work T 59.7 .E714

Handbook of Emergency Toxicology: A Guide to the Identification, Diagnosis, and Treatment of Poisioning RA 1224.5 .K38

Handbook of Industrial Toxicology Ref RA 1229 .P58

The Handbook of Health and Safety Practice RC 967 .S77

Occupational Safety and Health Guidelines for Chemical Hazards MADD HE 20.7108:C 42/3/supp. 3-OHG

Human Factors Design Handbook Ref TA 166 .W57

Human Factors Reference Guide for Process Plants TA 166 .W57

Human Performance Measures Handbook T 59.7 .G38 2000

Lewis' Dictionary of Occupational and Environmental Safety and Health Ref T 55 .L468 2000

OSHA Compliance Handbook 3rd floor KF 3570 .R356 1992


[edit] Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call Number Range LC Subject Heading
HD 7260 - HD 7250 Industrial Hygiene and Occupational Safety
HF 5548.8 Industrial Psychology
HV 675 Prevention of Accidents
RA 411 - RA 415 Provisions for Medical Care
RA 565 - RA 601 Public Health. Hygiene
RA 1230 - RA 1247 Toxicology: Inorganic Poisons; Organic Poisons; Gaseous
RC 963 - RC 969 Industrial Hygiene
TA 165 - TA 168 Human and Systems Engineering
TA 192 Management and Engineering Works - Safety Measures



[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your Global ID and password, which should be the same as your Auburn email username and password.


[edit] Subject Databases

Chemical Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCIFI

(Covers a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information including chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering. 1967 - Present. Only available on campus.)

Engineering Village http://www.lib.auburn.edu/EIVILLAGE

Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings with some fulltext available through Science Direct. 1970 - Present

Ergonomics Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ERGAB

Index to Ergonomics literature from 1985-Present.

INSPEC http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INSPEC

Indexes journal, conference and report literature in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, and computer science and information technology. 1968 - Present

Materials Science http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CSA

(Includes METADEX, Materials Business File, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Corrosion Abstracts, Weldasearch and Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts. 1985 - Present)

Medline http://www.lib.auburn.edu/MEDL

Medical research indexed from the sixties to the present day. Includes links to some online sources and AubieCat for journal articles.


[edit] General Databases

Academic Search FULLTEXT Premier http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ASP

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP Plus http://www.lib.auburn.edu/searchbank

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present

Digital Dissertations http://www.lib.auburn.edu/DA

1861 – Present. Most recent Auburn dissertations are available online for Auburn students, faculty, and staff for free. There is a charge for dissertations from other institutions.

Lexis-Nexis http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ACADU

News, Statistics, Legal Research, broken into subcategories. Legal research includes court decisions, legal news, law reviews, US Code, Federal Regulations, and other matters that impact occupational safety.

Science Accelerator http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/

Single interface that searches multiple US government technology indexes.


Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents/Science Edition http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CCSE

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 – Present

Ingenta http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INGENTA

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.

Citation Database

Science Citation Index (http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCI)

Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. 1984 - Present

[edit] Journals

To search for articles, use the Indexes and Databases section of this guide.

Lists of journal titles: Selected electronic Human Factors Engineering journals at AU Libraries [There is also a comprehensive list of E-journals at AU Libraries; this E-journals list includes ALL subject areas, not just Industrial Engineering.] Selected paper Human Factors Engineering Journals at AU Libraries [These are selected titles that we are currently subscribing to in paper format in the library; call numbers are included.] Please note: If you don't see the journal that you need on the above lists, always be sure to check AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.


[edit] Associations and Societies

INFORMS

http://www.informs.org/

Human Factors and Ergonomics Society

http://www.hfes.org/


[edit] Web Sites

Links to web sites

Industrial Engineering Virtual Library

http://www.isye.gatech.edu/www-ie/


[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

http://www.eng.auburn.edu/insy/


If you have any comments about this information page, please contact: wohrlaj@auburn.edu

Auburn University Libraries • 231 Mell Street • Auburn University, AL 36849

Phone: (334) 844-4500 or 800-446-0387