Horticulture

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Library Specialist

Claudine Jenda

jendaca@auburn.edu

334-844-1658

RBD Library 2nd Floor


Contents

[edit] ReferenceTools

[edit] Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

CRC World Dictionary of Plant Names: Common Names, Scientific Names, Eponyms, Synonyms, and Etymology Ref QK 13 Q 38 2000
Dictionary of Gardening Ref SB 450.95 D 53 1992
Dictionary of Horticulture Ref SB 45 N 38 1994
Dictionary of Plants Containing Secondary Metabolites RefQK 887 G 58 1991
Elsevier's Dictionary of Horticultural and Agricultural Plant Production:In Ten Languages, English, Dutch, French, German, Danish, Swedish, Italian,Spanish, Portuguese, and Latin Ref SB 45 E 42 1990
Elsevier's Dictionary of Plant Names: in Latin, English, French, German,and Italian Ref QK 13 E 57 1996
Encyclopedia of Medicinal Plants Ref RS 164 C 4437 1996
Hortus Third: a Concise Dictionary of Plants Cultivated in the UnitedStates and Canada Ref SB 45 B 22 1976
Plant Identification Terminology: an Illustrated Glossary RefQK 9 H 37 1994

[edit] Handbooks and General Refernce Books

Hillier Gardener's Guide to Trees and Shrubs RefSB 435 H 54 1997
Index of Garden Plants Ref SB 407 G 75 1994
Kew Index for. . .: names of seed-bearing plants, ferns and fern alliesat the rank of family and below QK 11 I 4
National Organic Directory: a Guide to Organic Information & Resources HD 9003 N 33
North American Horticulture: a Reference Guide RefSB 317.56 U 6 .N67 1992
Manual of Woody Landscape Plants: their Identification, Ornamental Characteristics,Culture, Propagation, and Uses SB 435 D 57 1998
Plant Form: an Illustrated Guide to Flowering Plant Morphology RefQK 641 B 45 1991
Poisonous and Medicinal Plants QK 100 A 1 B 57 1990

[edit] Subject Profile Call Numbers

QK Botany
SB Plant Culture
SB 183 - SB 317 Field Crops
SB 320 - SB 353.5 Vegetables
SB 354 - SB 402 Fruit Culture and Orchard Care
SB 403 - SB 450.7 Flowers
SB 450.9 - SB 467 Gardens and Gardening
SB 469 - SB 476 Landscape Gardening/Landscape Architecture
SB 481 - SB 485 Parks and Public Reservations
SB 599 - SB 989 Pests and Diseases
TP 963 Manufacture, Fertilizers

Top of page


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotelyunless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you willneed to type your library ID and last name. Your library ID is usually:two, zero, your Social Security Number, then zero. For example: A person with the Social Security Number 123-45-6789 has the library ID: 201234567890</font>

Subject Databases

Agricola
National Agricultural Library's database indexing journal articles, bookchapters, agriculture extension bulletins, etc. from 1979 - Present
Public access at http://www.nal.usda.gov/ag98/ag98.html
(For researching agricultural literature from 1942-1978, consult Bibliography of Agriculture S 493 B 525.)
CABAbstracts
CAB International's database covering literature in the fields of agriculture,forestry, animal sciences, food science, etc. 1973 - Present
(For researching horticultural literature before 1973, consult
Horticultural Abstracts SB 1 H 65,
Plant Breeding Abstracts SB 123 P 54.)
BiologicalAbstracts
Indexes journal articles covering the fields of biology, botany, zoology,microbiology, clinical and experimental medicine, etc. 1990- Present
(For researching biological literature from 1927-1990, consult Biological Abstracts QH 301 B 37.)
Business and Industry Database
Covers public and private companies, industries products and markets. Approximately60% of the database is full text. 1994 - Present
Chemical Abstracts(Now SciFinder Scholar)
Covers a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information includingchemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering. 1967 - Present. Onlyavailable on campus.
(For researching chemical literature from 1907-1966, consult Chemical Abstracts QD 1 A 51.)
Environmental Sciences
Indexes literature on aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energyresources, environmental biotechnology, environmental engineering, etc. from1981 to the present except citations from Selected Water Resources Abstracts begin in 1967.
For researching environmental literature prior to 1981, refer to AubieCat to find call numbers for the print indexes corresponding to the Environmental Sciences subfiles.
Medline(from Ovid)
Citations to journal literature covering biomedicine including research,clinical practice, administration, policy issues, etc. 1966 - Present
Public access at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi
OLDMEDLINE (1958-1965) at http://gateway.nlm.nih.gov/gw/Cmd
(For researching medical literature from 1941-1959, consult Current List of Medical Literature Z 6660 C 8.)
General Databases
Academic Search FULLTEXT Elite
Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and featuresfull text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.
InfoTrac's Expanded AcademicASAP
Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articlesin over 500 journals are full text. 1980 � Present
Dissertation Abstracts
1861 � Present. The most current two years are available off campus, butearlier years are only available on campus.
Current Awareness Resources
Current Contents
Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from currentissues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 � Present
Reveal
An automated alerting service that delivers the table of contents of periodicalsor results of keyword searches directly to your e-mail address. Availableto AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Be sure to first enter your library barcode, then your password and in the next window choose the Reveal option.
Ingenta Uncover Plus
A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Citation Database
Science Citation Index
Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited referencesfrom over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.1984 - Present.
(For researching citation literature from 1961-1983, consult Science Citation Index Ref Q 1 S 3693.) [#top Top of page]

[edit] Journals

List of Current Print Horticulture Journals
List of Current Journals at the Library of Architecture, Design and Construction
E-journals at AU Libraries
This E-journals list includes ALL subject areas, not just Horticulture.
Please note: If you don't see the journal that you need on the above lists, always be sure to check AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.

To search for articles, see the Indexes and Databases section of this guide. Top of page


[edit] Web Sites

AgNIC (Agriculture Databases) http://www.agnic.org/
Guide to quality agricultural information on the Internet as selected by the National Agricultural Library, Land-Grant Universities and other institutions
Cooperative State Research, Education, and Extension Service http://www.csrees.usda.gov/
CSREES expands the research and higher education functions of the former Cooperative State Research Service and the education and outreach functions of the former Extension Service. Links to state extension pages.
Cornell University Poisonous Plants Page http://www.ansci.cornell.edu/plants/plants.html
Lists genus and species, poisons, and other sites on the web for more informationabout poisonous plants
Food and Nutrition Information Center http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/
Nutrition databases, publications, audiovisuals, & software developedby USDA
International Plant Names Index http://www.ipni.org/
A collaborative initiative of The Royal Botanic Gardens (Kew Web http://www.rbgkew.org.uk/), The Harvard University Herbaria (Gray Card Index http://www.huh.harvard.edu/), and the Australian National Herbarium for a comprehensive literature-based database of the scientific names and associated bibliographical details of all vascular (seed) plants
National Plants Database http://plants.usda.gov/
The NPD contains information about plants, their identification, and distribution
Plant Dictionary Image Library http://plantfacts.osu.edu/images.lasso

Plant Gene Register (American Society of Plant Physiologists) http://www.tarweed.com/pgr/index.html
Electronic publication for articles describing the isolation and DNA sequencedetermination of plant genes.
PlantFacts Search Engine http://plantfacts.ohio-state.edu
Includes two databases: Factsheet Database, guides for answering plant-related questions and Reseach and Teaching, links to university departments
Paul Evans Library of Fruit Science http://library.missouristate.edu/paulevans/
Links to Agricultural Experiment Stations, Cooperative Extension Services & Horticulture Departments as well as links to journals. Emphasis on viticulture.
TROPICOS Image Index http://mobot.mobot.org/Pick/Search/image/imagefr.html
Plant image database project from the Missouri Botanical Garden
Web-agri.com http://web-agri.com
An agricultural search engine (not a directory site) to search over 300,000 web pages
World Wide Web Virtual Library
Biotechnology http://cato.com/biotech/
Covers pharmaceutical development, genetic engineering, etc. with emphasison product development
WWW Virtual Library on Gardening http://www.gardenweb.com/vl/
Site for gardeners

Top of page


[edit] ResearchGuides

General

Guide to Information Sources in the Botanical Sciences RefQK 45.2 D 38 1996
Reference Sources in Science, Engineering, Medicine, and Agriculture RefQ 158.5 M 278

Top of page


[edit] Associations and Societies

ASHS (American Society for Horticultural Science) http://www.ashs.org/
ASPP (American Society of Plant Physiologists) http://www.aspb.org/
BIC (Biotechnology Information Center) http://www.nal.usda.gov/bic/www.html#scisoc
ISHS (International Society for Horticultural Science) http://www.ishs.org/
NGA (National Gardening Association) http://www.garden.org/
RHS (The Royal Horticulture Society) http://www.rhs.org.uk/[#top Top of page]

[edit] Discussion Lists and Newsgroups

General

Electronic Mailing Lists at Auburn University http://www.auburn.edu/helpdesk/internet/listserv.html#classmail
Contains links to help sites for all varieties of mailing lists.

Subject Specific

Kovacs' WWW View of Directory of Scholarly and Professional E-Conferenceshttp
//www.kovacs.com/directory.html
BIOSCI/bionet Electronic Newsgroup Network for Biology http://net.bio.net/

[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages

[edit] Departmental--Faculty Web Pages

Department of Horticulture http://www.ag.auburn.edu/dept/hf/ Landscape/Horticulture http://www.ag.auburn.edu/landscape/

[edit] Alabama Cooperative Extension System

Horticulture http://www.aces.edu/pubs/docs/indexes/anrho.tmpl


Top of page

If you have any comments about this information page, please contact:jendaca@auburn.edu