History Journals
From SubjectGuides
|
Image:Liblogo2.gif=History Journal Subscriptions in Paper={| width="570" cellspacing="2" cellpadding="2" |
The following is a list of History journals to which the Ralph Brown Draughon Library currently subscribes in paper format. All current issues are located in the Current Issues shelves on the second floor unless otherwise noted. Older issues are located at the call number listed next to the title. (Please note: some of these call numbers are located on the Third and Fourth Floor; only the current issues will be located on the Second Floor unless otherwise indicated). Please note that an increasing number of journals are being subscribed to but in only electronic format, so you should consult the list of current electronic History journal titles listed below. If you do not see a particular journal title, be sure to check the A.U. Libraries' online catalog, AUBIEcat, to see if the libraries subscribe to that journal and to see the availability of back issues in any format (print, microform, or electronic). Journal Title and Location/Call NumberAir Force Magazine [UG 633 .A65] [Fourth Floor]Air Power History [UG 633 .A1 A515] [Fourth Floor]Alabama Baptist Historian [BX 6248 .A2 A4] [ Special Collections - Ground Floor]Alabama Confederate [E 482 .A42] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]Alabama Folklife: News and Information about Alabama's Traditional Culture [GR 110 .A2 A42][Special Collections - Ground Floor]Alabama Heritage [F 321 .A158] [Special Collections – Ground Floor]Alabama Review [F 321 .A2535] [Special Collections – Ground Floor]Alabama Unforgettable: the Official Vacation Guide for the State of Alabama [F324.3 .A433] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]Albion [DA 20 .A42]American Archivist [CD 3020 .A45]American Heritage [E 171 .A43]American Historical Review [E 171 .A57]American Jewish Archives Journal [E 184 .J5 A37]American Neptune [V 1 .A4] [Fourth Floor]American Quarterly [E 151 .A54]American Studies [E 169.1 .M6215]Americas (Academy of American Franciscan History) [E 11 .A4]Americas (Organization of American States) [F 1401 .A57]Annales Historiques de la Revolution Francaise [DC 139 .A62]Archival Issues: Journal of the Midwest Archives Conference [CD 3054 .M53]Archivaria [CD 27 .C2 A7]Archives and Museum Informatics [CD 973 .D3 A72]Arkansas Historical Quarterly [F 406 .A6]Birmingham [F 334 .B6 B3][Special Collections - Ground Floor]Bulletin of Latin American Research [F 1401 .B84]Butler County Historical and Genealogical Society Quarterly [F 332 .B9 A1][Special Collections - Ground Floor]Canadian-American Slavic Studies [D 377 .A1 C34]Canadian Historical Review [F 1001 .C27]Caribbean Quarterly [F 1601 .C3]Central European History [DD 1 .C4]China Quarterly [DS 701 .C472]Chinese Historical Review [D 1 .C417]Citizen Airman: the Official Magazine of the Air National Guard and Air Force Reserve [D 301.8:] [ First Floor]Civil War History [E 461 .C5]Civil War Times Illustrated [E 461 .C562]Comparative Studies in Society and History: an International Quarterly [H 31 .C73]Contributions to Nepalese Studies [DS 493 .C68]Current History [D 410 .C82] Online only, 2006- Diplomatic History [E 183.7 .D48] Online only, 2006- Early American Studies [Call number not yet assigned]Eighteenth Century [CB 411 .E33]Eighteenth-Century Life [HN 1 .E42] Online only, 2007- English Historical Review [DA 20 .E58] Online only, 2006- Ethnohistory [E 51 .E8] Online only, 2007- European History Quarterly [D 1 .E76] Online only, 2006- Everton's Genealogical Helper [CS 1 .G38][Special Collections - Ground Floor]Florida Historical Quarterly [F 306 .F65]Forces [H 3 .F6]French Historical Studies [DC 1 .F69] Online only, 2007- French History [DC 1 .F692]Gender and History [HQ 1101 .G46] Online only, 2006- Georgia Historical Quarterly [F 281 .G2975]Himalayan Research Bulletin [DS 485 .H6 H565]Hispanic American Historical Review [F 1401 .H66]Historia Mexicana [F 1201 .H5]Historian [D 1 .H22] Online only, 2006- Historical Journal [D 1 .H33]Historical Methods [H 1 .H525]History [D 1 .H815] Online only, 2006- History and Theory [D 16.8 .H8173] Online only, 2006- History News [E 172 .A533]History Notes (Virginia Historical Society) [F 221 .V7442]History Today [D 1 .H818]Humanities in the South [CB 3 .S62]Illinois Heritage [F 536 .I148]International History Review [D 1 .I57]International Review of Social History [HN 1 .I53]Irish Historical Studies [DA 900 .I63]Isis [Q 1 .I7] [Fourth Floor]Japan Echo [DS 801 .J256]Journal of African History [DT 1 .J65]Journal of American and Canadian Studies [E 169.1 .J69]Journal of American History [F 351 .M69]Journal of American Studies [E 151 .J6]Journal of Asian and African Studies [DT 1 .J66]Journal of Asian Studies [DS 501 .F274]Journal of British Studies [DA 20 .J6]Journal of Confederate History Series [E 487 .J77]Journal of Contemporary History [D 410 .J66] Online only, 2006- Journal of European Economic History [HC 240 .A1 J68]Journal Of Illinois History [F 536 .J68]Journal of Interdisciplinary History [D 1 .J59] Online only, 2006- Journal of Japanese Studies [DS 801 .J7]Journal of Medieval History [D 1 .J598]Journal of Military History [E 181 .M55]Journal of Mississippi History [F 336 .J68]Journal of Modern History [D 1 .J6]Journal of Negro History [E 185.5 .J86]Journal of Policy History [H 97 .J68]Journal of Psychohistory [HQ 768 .H56]Journal of Social History [HN 1 .J6]Journal of Southern History [F 206 .J68]Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era [E 175 .J68]Journal of the Society for Army Historical Research [DA 49 .S6]Journal of the Southwest [F 806 .A69]Journal of the Early Republic [E 164 .J68]Journal of the Georgia Association of Historians [D 1 .G63a]Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society [F 536 .I18]Journal of the West [F 591 .J65]Journal of World History: Official Journal of the World History Association [D 1 .J62]Korea Now [DS 901 .K715]Kritika: Explorations in Russian and Eurasian History [DK 1 .K75]Labor History [HD 4802 .L435] Online only, 2007-Legacy: the Magazine of the Monroe County Heritage Museum [F 332 .M7 M66][Special Collections - Ground Floor]Louisiana History [F 366 .L6238]Louisiana History Newsletter [last six months only]MHQ: the Quarterly Journal of Military History [D 25 .M44]Magazine of History [D 16.3 .M335]Massachusetts Historical Review [F 61 .M382]Mexican Studies=Estudios Mexicanos [F 1225.5 .M49]Midwest Archives Conference [last six months only]Mississippi History Newsletter [last six months only]Montgomery Genealogical Society Quarterly [Special Collections - Ground Floor]NCGS News [North Carolina Genealogical Society] [F 253 .N8815] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]NCPH Public History News [last two years only]Naval History [V 27 .N35]Negro History Bulletin [E 185.5 .N383]New England Quarterly: an Historical Review of New England Life and Letters [F 1 .N62]New York History: Quarterly Journal of the New York State Historical Association [F 116 .N865]News-letter of the American Antiquarian Society [last six months only]Nipponia: Discovering Japan [DS 801 .N566]North Carolina Genealogical Society [F 253 .N882a] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]North Carolina Historical Review [F 251 .N892]OAH Newsletter: Organization of American Historians [last three years only]Oral History [D 16.14 .O7]Over the Front [D 600 .O85]Pacific Historical Review [F 851 .P18]Past & Present [D 1 .P3]Pea River Trails [F 332 .P37 P4][Special Collections - Ground Floor]Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography [F 146 .P65]Proceedings/United States Naval Institute [VA 49 .U5] [Fourth Floor]Prologue: the Journal of the National Archives [CD 4 .P7]Public Historian [D 1 .P8]Publications of the Navy Records Society [DA 70 .A1]Quebec Studies [F 1051 .Q33]Radical History Review [HX 1 .R33] Online only, 2007- Religion and American Culture [BL 65 .C8 R42]Renaissance and Reformation [CB 361 .R3]Renaissance Papers [CB 361 .R42]Renaissance Quarterly [CB 361 .R45]Reviews in American History [E 151 .R48]Revista de Historia Economica [HB 9 .R39]Revue d'Histoire Moderne et Contemporaine [D 1 .R282]Revue Historique [D 1 .R6]Riding Line [last two years only]Russian History [DK 1 .R74]Russian Review [DK 1 .R82] Online only, 2006- SAA Bulletin [last two years only]SGA Newsletter (Society of Georgia Archivists) [CD 3180 .S43]Scottish Historical Review [DA 750 .S21]Sea Power [VA 49 .N28] [Fourth Floor]Sixteenth Century Journal [D 220 .S57]Slavic Review [D 377 .A1 S64]Social History [HN 1 .S56] Online only, 2006- Social Science History [H 1 .S612]South Carolina Historical Magazine [F 266 .S55]Southeast Asian Affairs [DS 502 .S76]Southern Cultures/Sponsored by the Center for the Study of the American South [F 209 .S73]Southern Exposure [F 206 .S643]Southern Register: the Newsletter of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture [F 209 .S746]Southern Studies [F 366 .L935]Southwestern Historical Quarterly [F 381 .T45]Soviet and Post-Soviet Review [DK 266 .A2 S753]Stones and Bones Newsletter [folio F 321 .S82][Special Collections - Ground Floor]Technology and Culture [T 1 .T29] [Fourth Floor]Tennessee Historical Quarterly [F 431 .T285]Transactions of the Royal Historical Society [DA 20 .R9]Twentieth-Century China [DS 773.83 .T84]Virginia Magazine of History and Biography [F 221 .V91]Welsh History Review [DA 700 .W468]Western Historical Quarterly [F 591 .W464]Western Journal of Black Studies [E 184.7 .W4]William and Mary Quarterly [F 221 .W71]Wisconsin Magazine of History [F 576 .W7]
|}
[edit] UNDER CONSTRUCTION:
Electronic History Journal Subscriptions
The following is a list of History journals to which the Ralph Brown Draughon Library currently subscribes in electronic format. This list is derived from History-related journals currently being made available by the A.U. Libraries' subscriptions to electronic databases. This list does not provide information about back issues of journals that may be available in electronic (or print or microform) format. This list is subject to change due to the constantly changing state of publication agreements made between journal publishers and database vendors. If you do not see a particular journal title listed here, be sure to use the library online catalog, AUBIEcat, and search for a journal title to determine its availability and format.
Journals listed by journal title plus name of database(s) providing current electronic coverage.
Databases plus abbreviations: Academic Search Premier (ASP), Expanded Academic ASAP (EAA), Project Muse (PM).
- Acta Archaeologica (ASP)
- Africa: The Journal of the International African Institute (ASP), (PM)
- Africa Today (PM)
- African American Review (ASP)
- African and Asian Studies (ASP)
- African Studies (ASP)
- African Studies Review (PM)
- Afro-Americans in New York Life and History (EAA)
- Air Power History (ASP), (EAA)
- Al-Masaq: Islam and the Medieval Mediterranean (ASP)
- Alabama Review (ASP)
- Alberta History (EAA)
- Aleph: Historical Studies in Science and Judaism (PM)
- AMBIX (ASP)
- American Communist History (ASP)
- American Heritage (ASP)
- American Historical Review (ASP)
- American History (ASP)
- American History Illustrated (ASP)
- American Indian Quarterly (ASP), (PM)
- American Jewish History (PM)
- American Journal of Philology (PM)
- American Nineteenth Century History (ASP)
- American Quarterly (PM)
- American Review of Canadian Studies (ASP)
- American Schools of Oriental Research Newsletter (ASP)
- American Visions (ASP)
- The Americas (PM)
- America's Civil War (ASP)
- Ancient Civilizations from Scythia to Siberia (ASP)
- Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature (ASP)
- Antiquity (ASP)
- Arab Studies Quarterly (ASP)
- Arabian Archaeology and Epigraphy (ASP)
- Arabica (ASP)
- Archaeology (ASP)
- Archaeology in Oceania (ASP)
- Archaeometry (ASP)
- Architectural Heritage (ASP)
- Archive for History of Exact Sciences (ASP)
- Arctic Anthropology (ASP)
- Arizona: Journal of Hispanic Cultural Studies (PM)
- Arkansas Historical Quarterly (ASP)
- Arms and Armour (ASP)
- Art History (ASP)
- Asian Affairs (ASP)
- Asian Folklore Studies (ASP)
- Asian Perspectives ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Asian Studies Review (ASP)
- Atlantic Monthly (ASP)
- ATQ (ASP)
- Australian Historical Studies (ASP)
- Australian Journal of International Affairs (ASP)
- Australian Journal of Politics and History (ASP), (EAA)
- Austrian History Yearbook (ASP)
- Aviation History (ASP)
- Baptist History and Heritage (EAA)
- BC Studies (ASP)
- Beaver (ASP)
- Biography (ASP)
- Biography: An Interdisciplinary Quarterly (ASP)
- BLACFAX (ASP)
- Black History Bulletin (ASP)
- Black Music Research Journal (EAA)
- Black Scholar (ASP)
- Book History (ASP), (PM)
- Borneo Research Bulletin (ASP)
- British Heritage (ASP)
- British Journal for the History of Philosophy (ASP)
- British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies (ASP)
- Bulletin of Latin American Research (ASP)
- Bulletin of Anglo-Israel Archaeological Society (ASP)
- Bulletin of the History of Medicine (PM)
- California History (EAA)
- Canadian Ethnic Studies (ASP)
- Canadian Historical Review (ASP), (PM)
- Canadian Journal of History (ASP), (EAA)
- Canadian Review of American Studies (ASP), (PM)
- Catholic Biblical Quarterly (ASP)
- Catholic Historical Review (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Centaurus (ASP)
- Central Asian Survey (ASP)
- Central European History (Brill) (ASP)
- Centro Journal (ASP)
- China: An International Journal (PM)
- China Journal (ASP)
- China Review International (PM)
- Chinese America: History and Perspectives (ASP), (EAA)
- Chinese American Forum (ASP)
- Chinese Studies in History (ASP)
- Christian History (ASP)
- Christian History and Biography (ASP)
- Church History (ASP), (EAA)
- Civil War History (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Civil War Times (ASP)
- Civil War Times Illustrated (ASP)
- Civil Wars (ASP)
- Classical World (PM)
- Clio (EAA)
- Cold War History (ASP)
- Colonial Latin American Review (ASP)
- Common Knowledge (PM)
- Comparative Strategy (ASP)
- Comparative Studies of South Asia, Africa and the Middle East (PM)
- Congress and the Presidency (ASP)
- Contemporary British History (ASP)
- Contemporary Buddhism (ASP)
- Contemporary Pacific (PM)
- Contemporary Southeast Asia: A Journal of International and Strategic Affairs (ASP), (PM)
- CR: The New Centennial Review (PM)
- Critical Asian Studies (ASP)
- Critique: Critical Middle Eastern Studies (ASP)
- Crosscurrents - Journal of Ancient Music, Pre-history, Archaeology & Origins (& Other Social History & Science Matters) (ASP)
- Cuban Studies (PM)
- Cultural Critique (PM)
- Curtis's Botanical Magazine (ASP)
- Dead Sea Discoveries (ASP)
- Demokratizatsiya (ASP)
- Diaspora: A Journal of Transnational Studies (ASP)
- Diplomacy and Statecraft (ASP)
- Diplomatic History (ASP)
- Dollfuss/Schuschnigg Era in Austria: A Reassessment - Contemporary Austrian Studies (ASP)
- Dutch Review of Church History (ASP)
- Early American Literature (ASP), (EAA)
- Early American Studies (EAA), (PM)
- Early Medieval Europe (ASP)
- Early Modern Literary Studies (EAA)
- Early Science and Medicine (ASP)
- East Asia: An International Quarterly (ASP)
- East European Quarterly (ASP)
- East Texas Historical Journal (ASP)
- Eastern Africa Social Science Research Review (PM)
- Eighteenth Century: Theory and Interpretation (EAA)
- Eighteenth-Century Life (ASP), (PM)
- Eighteenth-Century Studies (PM)
- Eire - Ireland (PM)
- Essays in Medieval Studies (ASP), (PM)
- Ethnohistory (ASP)
- Europe - Asia Studies (ASP)
- European Journal of American Culture (ASP
- European Journal of the History of Economic Thought (ASP)
- European Legacy (ASP)
- European Review of History (ASP)
- Exchange (ASP)
- Family and Community History (ASP)
- Feminist Studies (ASP)
- Food and Foodways: History and Culture of Human Nourishment (ASP)
- Foreign Affairs (ASP)
- Foreign Policy (ASP)
- French Colonial History (PM)
- French Historical Studies (ASP)
- French Politics, Culture, and Society (ASP)
- Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies (ASP), (PM)
- Gender and History (ASP)
- Georgia Historical Quarterly (ASP)
- German History (ASP)
- German Life and Letters (ASP)
- Globalisation, Societies, and Education (ASP)
- Hawaiian Journal of History (ASP)
- Hispanic American Historical Review (ASP)
- Hispanic Review (EAA), (PM)
- Historian (ASP), (EAA)
- Historical Materialism (ASP)
- Historical Methods (ASP), (EAA)
- Historical Research (ASP)
- Historical Studies (EAA)
- History (ASP)
- History and Anthropology (ASP)
- History and Memory (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- History and Philosophy of Logic (ASP)
- History and Technology (ASP)
- History and Theory (ASP)
- History Australia (EAA)
- History in Africa (PM)
- History of Education (ASP)
- History of Science (ASP)
- History Review (ASP), (EAA)
- History: Reviews of New Books (ASP)
- History Teacher (ASP)
- History Today (ASP), (EAA)
- History Workshop Journal (PM)
- Holocaust and Genocide Studies (PM)
- Holy Land Studies: A Multidisciplinary Journal (Edinburgh University Press) (ASP)
- Hypatia (PM)
- Imago Mundi (ASP)
- Indiana Magazine of History (ASP)
- Indonesia and the Malay World (ASP)
- Innes Review (ASP)
- International Affairs (ASP)
- International Journal of African Historical Studies (ASP)
- International Journal of Cultural Policy (ASP)
- International Journal of Francophone Studies (ASP)
- International Journal of Iberian Studies (ASP)
- Interventions: The International Journal of Postcolonial Studies (ASP)
- Iran and the Caucusus (ASP)
- Iranian Studies (ASP)
- Irish Studies Review (ASP)
- Islam and Christian-Muslim Relations (ASP)
- Israel Affairs (ASP)
- Israel Studies (ASP), (PM)
- Italianist (ASP)
- Japan Forum (ASP)
- Japanese Studies (ASP)
- Jewish History (ASP)
- Jewish Quarterly Review (PM)
- Jewish Social Studies (ASP). (PM)
- Journal for Early Modern Cultural Studies (EAA), (PM)
- Journal for the Study of Judaism: In the Persian, Hellenistic, and Roman Period (ASP)
- Journal of African American History (ASP), (EAA)
- Journal of African History (EAA)
- Journal of Agrarian Change (ASP)
- Journal of American Culture (ASP)
- Journal of American Ethnic History (ASP)
- Journal of American History (ASP)
- Journal of Ancient Near Eastern Religions (ASP)
- Journal of Asian American Studies (PM)
- Journal of Canadian Studies (PM), (ASP)
- Journal of Chinese Overseas (PM)
- Journal of Cold War Studies (PM), (ASP)
- Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History (PM)
- Journal of Contemporary African Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Contemporary Asia (ASP)
- Journal of Contemporary China (ASP)
- Journal of Cultural Geography (ASP)
- Journal of Cyprus Studies (EAA)
- Journal of Ecclesiastical History (EAA)
- Journal of European Integration (ASP)
- Journal of Genocide Research (ASP)
- Journal of Iberian and Latin American Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History (ASP)
- Journal of Interamerican Studies and World Affairs (ASP)
- Journal of Interdisciplinary History (ASP), (PM)
- Journal of Japanese Studies (PM)
- Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Legal History (ASP)
- Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Mediterranean Archaeology (ASP)
- Journal of Middle East Women's Studies (PM)
- Journal of Military History (ASP), (PM)
- Journal of Modern Greek Studies (PM)
- Journal of Modern Italian Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Modern Jewish Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Muslim Minority Affairs (ASP)
- Journal of Pacific History (ASP)
- Journal of Policy History (ASP), (PM)
- Journal of Popular Culture (ASP)
- Journal of Religious History (ASP)
- Journal of Religious Thought (ASP)
- Journal of Scottish Historical Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Scottish Philosophy (ASP)
- Journal of Social History (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Journal of Southeast European and Black Sea Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Southern African Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Southern Europe and the Balkans (ASP)
- Journal of Southern History (ASP), (EAA)
- Journal of Supreme Court History (ASP)
- Journal of the American Oriental Society (ASP)
- Journal of the Australian War Memorial (EAA)
- Journal of the Early Republic (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient (ASP)
- Journal of the Historical Society (ASP)
- Journal of the History of Ideas (EAA), (PM)
- Journal of the History of International Law (ASP)
- Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences (EAA)
- Journal of the History of Sexuality (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Journal of the History of the Behavioral Sciences (ASP)
- Journal of the History of the Neurosciences (ASP)
- Journal of the Royal Australian Historical Society (EAA)
- Journal of the Society of Archivists (ASP)
- Journal of Third World Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Transatlantic Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Transport History (ASP)
- Journal of Urban Technology (ASP)
- Journal of Victorian Culture (ASP), (PM)
- Journal of Women's History (PM)
- Journal of World History (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Journal of World Prehistory (ASP)
- Ka Ho' oilina/The Legacy (EAA)