History (United States)

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

[edit] Library Specialist

Tim Dodge:

dodgeti@auburn.edu


(334) 844-1729
Reference Department


[edit] Reference Tools

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

African-American Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Reference E 185 .A253 1993
African American Lives, 2nd Floor Reference E 185.96 .A446 2004
Airline Encyclopedia: 1909-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HE 9780 .S65 2002
American Indians, 2nd Floor Reference E 76.2 .A45 1995
American National Biography, 2nd Floor Reference CT 213 .A68 1999
American Revolution: An Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Stacks E 208 .A4333 1993
Biographical Dictionary of Women, 2nd Floor Reference CT 3202 .C48 1996
Black Women in America, 2nd Floor Reference E 185.86 .B542 2005 (Second Edition)
Black Women In America: An Historical Encyclopedia, 2nd. Floor Stacks E 185.86 .B542 1993
Brassey's D-Day Encyclopedia: The Normandy Invasion A-Z, 2nd Floor Stacks D 756.5 .N6 T55 2004
British Museum Encyclopedia of Native North America, 2nd Floor Reference E 76.2 .G74
Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Reference CT 103 .C26 1998
Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography, 2nd Floor Reference CT 213 .C36 1995
The Constitutional Convention of 1787: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of America's Founding, 3rd Floor Stacks KF 4510 .V56 2005
Dictionary of American Biography, 2nd Floor Reference E 176 .D563
Dictionary of American History, 2nd. Floor Reference E 174 .D52 2003 (Third Edition), 2nd Floor Stacks, E 174 .D52 1976 (Second Edition) and E 174 .D52 (First Edition)
Dictionary of Dates, 2nd Floor Reference D 11.5 .B37 1997
Dictionary of Historical Terms, 2nd Floor Reference D 9 .C67 1998
Dictionary of Political Biography, 2nd Floor Reference D 412 .D53 1998
Dictionary of the Second World War, 2nd Floor Stacks D 740 .W47 1989
Dictionary of the Vietnam War, 2nd Floor Reference DS 557.7 .W38 1999
Dictionary of Twentieth Century History 1914-1990, 2nd Floor Reference D 419 .T443
Dictionary of Twentieth Century World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 419 .P32 1997
Dictionary of Wars, 2nd Floor Reference D 25 .A2 K63 1999
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History, 2nd Floor Stacks E 185 .E54 1996
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas, 2nd Floor Reference E 185 .E54 2006
Encyclopedia of African-American Heritage, 2nd Floor Reference E 185 A455 2000
Encyclopedia of African American History: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass (1619-1895), 2nd Floor Stacks E 185 .E545 2006
Encyclopedia of African-American Military History, 4th Floor Stacks UB 418 .A47 W45 2004
Encyclopedia of African American Politics, 2nd Floor Stacks E 185 .S58155 2003
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History, 2nd Floor Reference E 169.1 .E624 2001
Encyclopedia of American Facts and Dates, 2nd Floor Reference E 174.5 C3 1997
Encylopedia of American History, 2nd Floor Reference E 174 .E53 2002
Encyclopedia of Chicago, 2nd Floor Stacks F 548.3 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Conflicts since World War II, 2nd Floor Stacks D 843 .E46 2007
Encyclopedia of Heads of States and Governments 1900-1945, 2nd Floor Reference D 412 .L45 1999
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing, 2nd Floor Reference D 14 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of Indians of the Americas, 2nd Floor Stacks E 54.5 E52
Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests from Ancient Times to the Present, 2nd Floor Stacks D 25 .A2 D38 2006
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America, 2nd Floor Reference HQ 76.3 .U5 E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism, 2nd Floor Stacks E 184 .A1 E58 1994
Encyclopedia of New Jersey, 2nd Floor Stacks F 132 .E52 2004
Encyclopedia of Presidential Campaigns, Slogans, Issues, and Platforms, 2nd Floor Stacks E 176.1 .R6 2004
Encyclopedia of Prisoners of War and Internment, 4th Floor Stacks UB 800 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2nd Floor Reference E 184 .A1 E584 2008
Encyclopedia of Southern History, 2nd Floor Reference F 207.7 .E52
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War, 2nd Floor Reference E468 .H47 2000
Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History,2nd Floor Stacks D 840 .E63 2008
Encyclopedia of the Confederacy, 2d Floor Stacks E 487 .E55 1993
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, 2nd Floor Stacks B 802 .E53 1996
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, 2nd Floor Stacks B 802 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War, 2nd Floor Reference UF 500 .G8 1995
Encyclopedia of the War of 1812, 2nd Floor Stacks E 354 .H46 1997
Encyclopedia of Western Lawmen and Outlaws, Second Floor Stacks F 591 .E48625 1994
Encyclopedia of Witchcraft: The Western Tradition, 2nd Floor Stacks BF 1566 .E56 2006
Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2nd Floor Reference CT 103 .E56 1998
Encyclopedia of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 21 .E577 2000
Facts on File Encyclopedia of the Twentieth Century, 2nd Floor Reference D 419 .F33 1991
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, 2d Floor Stacks E 184 .A1 G14 1995
Great Lives From History, American Series, 2nd Floor Reference CT 214 .G74 1987
Great Lives From History, Renaissance to 1900 Series, 2nd Floor Reference CT 120 .G69 1990
Great Lives from History: The 18th. Century, 1701-1800, 2nd Floor Reference D 285 .G74 2006
Great Lives From History, Twentieth Century Series, 2nd Floor Reference CT 120 .G69 1990
Heads of State and Government: A Worldwide Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Reference D 412 .L46 1994
Historic World Leaders, 2nd Floor Reference D 412 .H57 1994
Historical Dictionary of New England, 2nd Floor StacksF 2 .H65 2003
Historical Dictionary of Reconstruction, 2nd Floor Stacks E 668 .T66 1991
Historical Dictionary of Utopianism, 3rd Floor Stacks HX 806 .M626 2004
Louisiana Purchase: A Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Stacks E 333 .L69 2002
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes, 2nd Floor Reference E 76.2 .J63 1999
Merriam-Webster's Biographical Dictionary, 2nd Floor Reference CT 103 .M47 1995
National Cyclopaedia of American Biography, 2nd Floor Stacks E 176 .N28
New Standard Jewish Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 102.8 .S73 1992 (Third Edition), DS 102.8 .S73 1977 (Second Edition), and DS 102.8 .S73 1966 (First Edition)
Notable American Women 1607-1950, 2nd Floor Reference CT 3260 .N57
Notable Women in American History, 2nd Floor Reference CT 3260 .A27 1999
Oxford Companion to United States History, 2nd Floor Reference E 174 .O94 2001
Oxford Companion to World War II, 2nd Floor Reference D 740 .O93 1995
Oxford Dictionary of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 9 .D45 2000
Oxford Encyclopedia of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 21 .E53 1998
Prominent Women of the Twentieth Century, 2nd Floor Reference CT 3235 .P76 1996
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 2nd Floor Stacks E 169.1 .S764 2000
United States History, 2nd Floor E 174 .D522 1998
Universal Jewish Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor DS 102.8 .U5
Vocabulario Vaquero=Cowboy Talk: A Dictionary of Spanish Terms from the American West, 3rd Floor Stacks PE 3727 .C6 S64 2004
Webster's New World Dictionary of the Vietnam War, 2nd Floor Reference DS 557.7 .W38 1999
Who's Who, 2nd Floor Reference DA 28 .W6 (Most recent year)
Who's Who in America, 2nd Floor Reference E 663 .W56 (Most recent year)
Who's Who in the World, 2nd Floor Reference CT 120 .W5 v.18 (Most recent year)
Who's Who of American Women, 2nd Floor Reference CT 3260 .W5 (Most recent year)
Witch Hunts in Europe and America: An Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Stacks BF 1584 .E9 B87 2003
Women during the Civil War: An Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Stacks E 628 .H37 2004
World Almanac Dictionary of Dates, 2nd Floor Reference D 9 .W73 1982
World War II: The Encyclopedia of the War Years, 2nd Floor Reference D 7435 .P57 1996

Almanacs, Chronologies, and Yearbooks

African-American Almanac, 2nd Floor Reference E 185 .N385 8th 2000
American Chronicle, 2nd Floor Reference E 169.1 .G664 1999
Chronology of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 11 .M39 1999
Current Biography (1940-1954), 2nd Floor Stacks CT 100 .C8
Current Biography Yearbook (1955- ), 2nd Floor Stacks CT 100 .C8
Europa World Year Book, 2nd Floor Reference D 2 .E823 (Latest edition) Older editions in 2nd Floor Stacks. NOTE
Title was Europa Year Book 1959-88. Have most volumes in Closed Stacks and 2nd. Floor Stacks under same call number.
Facts on File Yearbook, 2nd Floor Reference (1985-) D 410 .F3, 2d Floor Stacks (1941-84) D 410 .F3Historic Documents of [Year], E 839.5 .H57 Keesing's Contemporary Archives, D 410 .K4Keesing's Record of World Events, D 410 .K4
New York Public Library Book of Chronologies, 2nd Floor Reference D 11 .W47 1990
Presidential Elections, 1789 - 2000, 2nd Floor Reference JK 524 .P8783 2002
World Almanac of the U.S.A., 2nd Floor Reference E 156 .C3644 1998

Statistical Sources

Datapedia of the United States: 1790-2000, 3rd Floor Stacks HA 214 .K87 1994
Datapedia of the United States: American History in Numbers (3rd. Ed.), 3rd Floor Stacks HA 202 .K87 2004
Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970, 1st Floor Government Documents C 3.134/2:H 62/789-970/
Historical Statistics of the United States: Earliest Times to the Present, 2nd Floor Reference HA 202 .H57 2006
International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HA 175 .M55 2003
Statistical Abstract of the United States, 2nd Floor Reference C 3.134: [year] and HA 202, 1st Floor Stacks (incomplete, 1892-) C 3.134: [year] and 3rd Floor Stacks (incomplete, 1892-) HA 202 Also available online (see Web Sites, below).
Statistical Handbook on Racial Groups in the United States, 2nd Floor Reference E 184 .A1 H417 2000
Value of a Dollar: Colonial Era to the Civil War, 1600-1865, 2nd Floor Reference HB 235 .U6 V349 2005
Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HB 235 .U6 V35 2004

Other Reference Sources

American Bibliography [also known as Early American Imprints, 1639-1820], 1st Floor Library of Congress Collection, Z 1215 .E923
American Decades 1900-1999 (10 volumes), 2nd Floor Reference E 169.12 .A419 1994
American Eras (Pre-1600 through 1899) (8 volumes), 2nd Floor Reference E 169.1 .A471979 1997
American Newspapers, 1821-1936, 1st Floor Library of Congress Collection Z 6945 .A53
Founders' Constitution, 2nd Floor Reference KF 4502 .F68 1987
Harvard Guide to American History, 2nd Floor Reference E 175.8 .H27 1974
Historical Atlas of the United States, 2nd. Floor Reference Atlas Stand G 1201 .S1 H5 2003
Historical Journals: A Handbook for Writers and Reviewers, 2nd Floor Reference D 10 .S84 1993
The Library of Congress World War II Companion, 2nd Floor Reference D 743 .W24 2007
Macon-Lee Counties, AL Polk City Directory, 2nd Floor Reference F 332 .M2 M34
The Official Museum Directory, 2nd. Floor Stacks (2001 ed. and 2007 ed.) AM 10 .A2 O4
Reference Sources in History: An Introductory Guide, 2nd. Floor Stacks D 20 .F75 2004 (2nd. Ed.)
State Names, Seals, Flags, and Symbols: a Historical Guide, 2nd Floor Reference E 155 .S44 2002 (Third Edition), 2nd Floor Stacks, E 155 .S44 1994 (Second Edition), and E 155 .S44 1987 (First Edition)

Library of Congress Call Numbers for History

C Auxilary Sciences of History
--CB History of Civilization
--CD Archives
--CT Biography
D General and Old World History
--DA-DR Europe
--DS Asia
--DT Africa
--DU Oceania
E General U.S. History
F Local U.S., Canadian, and Latin American History
----1-975 U.S. Local
----1001-1140 Canada
----1201-1392 Mexico
----1401-3799 Central-South America

[#top Top of page]


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your global i.d. and password just as you would do for logging in to any campus computer. This log in procedure is required so that the database companies can verify if you are a currently enrolled Auburn University student or currently employed faculty or staff member of the university.

Subject Databases

Access Newspaper/ARCHIVE
Allows users to browse, save and print newspaper pages from the United States and abroad. It covers the years 1759 to 1977. It excludes Alabama papers and is available only on campus.
Accessible Archives
Full text available from eighteenth and nineteenth-century American newspapers and periodicals.
African-American History and Culture
Produced by Facts on File, this database includes biographies, an online encyclopedia, historical documents, online illustrations, maps, and charts.
Alabama Newspapers on Microfilm at RBD Library
A listing of Alabama newspapers available on microfilm at the Ralph Brown Draughon Library, Auburn University. Arranged by county and then by title of newspaper.
America: History and Life
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2000 journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews. From 1964 onward.'''
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
Full-text access to letters, diaries, and memoirs of participants in and observers of the Civil War including politicians, generals, slaves, farmers, housewives, and others from both the North and the South as well as a few foreign observers. The database also supplies biographical information about the authors of these documents and can be searched by author, date, battle, personal event, geographical location, and other criteria.
American State Papers, 1789-1838
A major collection of U. S. federal government documents, the American State Papers consist of bound volumes of all reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives for the years 1789-1838. The American State Papers are the predecessor to the U.S. Congressional Serial Set which begins with the 15th. Congress in 1817 and continues through the present. The digitization of the Serial Set is being done in stages by the Readex company and is part of the Archive of Americana series of databases and currently is available for the 15th. - 58th. Congress (1817-1904). Eventually, this database will provide coverage through the 96th. Congress (1980). This database can be searched and browsed. PDF images of all documents are available for downloading and printing
'Annals of American History
An online chronology of American history from 1493 onward. This database provides full-text access to articles and to primary documents such as speeches, essays, editorials, and biographies. It is arranged in chronological order and can be searched by keyword. A product of Encyclopaedia Britannica.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Included in the larger Web of Science database, this index to journal articles provides citation references for each article as well as author affiliation.
Digital Sanborn Maps: Alabama 1867-1970
Includes most of the fire insurance maps of Alabama produced by the Sanborn Map Company from the mid 1880's to c. 1950. This digital collection is searchable by city and date.
Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans, 1639-1800
Covering American history and literature through the colonial period up to the eighteenth century, this database is a full-text digitization of the microform set Early American Imprints, Series I (1639-1800), which was itself based on the American bibliography of Charles Evans and enhanced by Roger Bristol's Supplement to Evans' American bibliography. Offers fully searchable text and a browse feature with topical indexes. Evans Digital Edition makes available the full text of nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published during this period.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides full text of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas encompassing the American Revolution, the Industrial Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Age of Reason.


'HAPI Online

Hispanic American Periodicals Index made available online. Provides citations to worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage is 1970 to the present and includes articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 social science and humanities journals. Many of the citations are linked to full text.
Harp Week: The Civil War Era (1857-1865)
A full-text index including images to issues of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era.
Historical Abstracts
Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Includes information abstracted from more than 2000 journals published worldwide. From 1955 onward.
Historical Newspapers Online
Online indexing of the Times (London) from 1790 - 1980 and the New York Times from 1851 - 1923. Also includes full text of the Times (London) from 1785 - 1870.
History Reference Center
Designed primarily for K - 12 students, this database provides full-text access over 400 reference books and encyclopedias; over 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies; and over 100,000 images and maps. The History Reference Center also provides full text access to all articles in 52 history periodicals plus selected articles from a total of 500 periodicals
Homeland Security Digital Archive
Electronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.

In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Personal Narratives

Provides detailed indexing to thousands of English-language oral history collections from around the world. Researchers can use keyword searching to locate personal narratives, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and more available in published volumes, on the World Wide Web, and in holdings of archival repositories worldwide. Provides detailed indexing to thousands of English-language oral history collections from around the world. Researchers can use keyword searching to locate personal narratives, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and more available in published volumes, on the World Wide Web, and in holdings of archival repositories worldwide.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Search and browsing access to abstracts and data sets in the world's largest archive of computerized social science data.
Bibliographies of journal articles and reviews from nearly 600 journals covering the time period between 400 and 1700
JSTOR
A full-text index to backfiles (up until the last five-six years) of selected journals in the social sciences, history included.
Military & Government Collection
Provides access to over 500 military-related publications.
Project Muse
A full-text index to selected humanities and social science journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press
Social Sciences Citation Index
Included in the larger Web of Science database, this index to journal articles provides citation references for each article as well as author affiliation. Includes book reviews
Social Sciences Fulltext
Indexes and abstracts periodical literature from a wide variety of Social Science journals from 1983 onward. Note: many citations retrieved by this source are NOT available in full-text.
U. S. Congressional Serial Set
A major collection of U. S. federal government documents, the U. S. Congressional Serial Set consists of bound volumes of all reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. The digitization of the Serial Set is being done in stages by the Readex company and is part of the Archive of Americana series of databases and currently is available for the 15th. - 58th. Congress (1817-1904). Eventually, this database will provide coverage through the 96th. Congress (1980). This database can be searched and browsed. PDF images of all documents are available for downloading and printing.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Access to a variety of document and primary resources pertaining to women and social movements from 1600 to 2000.


General Databases

Academic OneFile
A comprehensive database of over 8000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Many articles are available fulltext.
Academic Search Premier
Described as "the world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database," it provides full-text for nearly 4700 publications including full text for more than 3600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage dates back to 1975.
Access Newspapers/ARCHIVE
Allows users to browse, save and print newspaper pages from the United States and a few foreign countries. It covers the years 1759 to 1977. It excludes Alabama papers and is available only on campus.
AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
An electronic archive of sounds and images from the AP's (Associated Press)50 million image print and negative library, as well as charts, graphs, tables, and maps from the AP's graphics portfolio.
ArchivesUSA
An index which integrates records from the National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS) as well directory information from the Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States (DAMRUS) into a single record for each collection.
AUETD (Auburn University Theses and Dissertations)
The Auburn University Graduate School now requires electronic copies of theses and dissertations. Consequently, the Graduate School has created a database making these works freely available on the World Wide Web and the A. U. Libraries have added a link to this AUETD (Auburn University Electronic Thesis and Dissertation) database under the Articles and Databases link located in the upper left hand side of the A. U. Libraries homepage . The database mainly covers the period from 2004 onward. It is possible to arrange titles by date, department, and author. It is possible to search titles by keyword, title, author, department, major professor, and year. Theses and dissertations are available online but researchers will need to load Adobe Acrobat software to view the documents.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
A biographical index to current reference sources and most important retrospective reference sources providing information on over 12,000,000 persons living and dead.
Biography Reference Bank
Provides biographical information on approximately 500,000 people, from antiquity to the present, along with images; the full text of the articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books, including all the articles from all volumes of Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and numerous biographical books on musicians and composers throughout history; magazine citations (many of which contain full-text) from Biography Index Database after 1984; and book review excerpts from Book Review Digest Plus.
Books in Print with Reviews
Over 1,900,000 titles retrievable by title, author, subject, publisher, publication date, ISBN (International Standard Book Number), and more. Includes thousands of full-text book reviews from magazines and journals.
Britannica Online
The encyclopedia online.
Dissertations and Theses
Formerly known as Digital Dissertations and before that as Dissertation Abstracts International. Citations to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present; those since 1980 include an abstract written by the author. Masters theses included 1988-.
Encyclopedia Americana Online
The encyclopedia online.
Ethnic News Watch
A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. A broad diversity of perspectives.
Europa World
Online version of the annual reference source covering over 250 countries and political entities. EUROPA WORLD YEARBOOK provides political and economic information about the government, legislature, finance, trade, industry, and more for each country or entity. Includes statistics and directories.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Indexes 1500 periodical titles in a variety of subject areas including History from 1980 onward. Over 500 titles available in full-text.
Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
The encyclopedia online.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of 18 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research published by Thomson Gale. These works fall under the subjects of Business, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, the Nation and the World, Science, and Social Science.
LexisNexis Academic (formerly Academic Universe)
Access to various databases and full-text resources including newspapers, reference sources, and legal materials.
LexisNexis Congressional (formerly Congressional Universe)
A major resource for federal legislative information. Makes available Congressional documents including The Congressional Record, United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and more.
LexisNexis Statistical (formerly Statistical Universe)
Abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 federal government documents from 1973 onward, state and private sources from 1980 onward, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983 onward. Full-text or web links provided for many citations.
Literature Online
Described as the "largest collection of literature and literary resources on the web." Full-text access to more than 210,000 documents including English and American poems, plays, and novels. Also includes reference works, bibliographies, and more.
NetLibrary
Over 14,000 electronic books in a variety of disciplines including History.
New York Times 1857-2003
Offers searchable full-page images and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1857 to 2003.
New York Times 1980-
Offers searchable full-page images and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1980 to the present.
NewsBank NewsFile
Full-text access to selected articles from over 500 American and Canadian newspapers and newswire sources. 1991 onward.
Newspaper Source
Full-text access to selected articles from 245 American newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, and 9 columns.
Oxford Reference Online
Full-text access to 155 reference titles and Oxford Companions series titles published by Oxford University Press in 19 disciplines including History and Military History.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
The online equivalent to Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, this database covers 1890-1982 and provides comprehensive indexing to most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
Worldcat (OCLC First Search)
OCLC (Online College Library Catalog) catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.''''

Delivery Services
Ingenta Uncover Plus
A general database with over 8 million articles from over 18,000 journals in many disciplines from 1988 onward. For Auburn University faculty, staff, and graduate students only.
KUDZU
Union catalog for 13 of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries. Also offers fast Interlibrary Loan of books.
See also the Delivery Services link on the Libraries' homepage for other options.
Other delivery options include Interlibrary Loan, ALLIES, AUBIExpress, Dissertation Express, Ei Village 2 (formerly CompendexWeb), Campus Delivery Service (Courier), Purchase Xpress, and a listing of Commercial Document Delivery Suppliers.'''''[#top Top of page]

[edit] Journals

History Journal Subscriptions

The following is a list of History journals to which the Ralph Brown Draughon Library currently subscribes in paper format. All current issues are located in the Current Issues shelves on the second floor unless otherwise noted. Older issues are located at the call number listed next to the title. (Please note: some of these call numbers are located on the Third and Fourth Floor; only the current issues will be located on the Second Floor unless otherwise indicated). Please note that an increasing number of journals are being subscribed to but in only electronic format, so you should consult the list of current electronic History journal titles listed below. If you do not see a particular journal title, be sure to check the A.U. Libraries' online catalog, AUBIEcat, to see if the libraries subscribe to that journal and to see the availability of back issues in any format (print, microform, or electronic).


Journal Title and Location/Call Number


Air Force Magazine [UG 633 .A65] [Fourth Floor]

Air Power History [UG 633 .A1 A515] [Fourth Floor]

Alabama Baptist Historian [BX 6248 .A2 A4] [ Special Collections - Ground Floor]

Alabama Confederate [E 482 .A42] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]

Alabama Folklife: News and Information about Alabama's Traditional Culture [GR 110 .A2 A42][Special Collections - Ground Floor]

Alabama Heritage [F 321 .A158] [Special Collections � Ground Floor]

Alabama Review [F 321 .A2535] [Special Collections � Ground Floor]

Alabama Unforgettable: the Official Vacation Guide for the State of Alabama [F324.3 .A433] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]

Albion [DA 20 .A42]

American Archivist [CD 3020 .A45]

American Heritage [E 171 .A43]

American Historical Review [E 171 .A57]

American Jewish Archives Journal [E 184 .J5 A37]

American Neptune [V 1 .A4] [Fourth Floor]

American Quarterly [E 151 .A54]

American Studies [E 169.1 .M6215]

Americas (Academy of American Franciscan History) [E 11 .A4]

Americas (Organization of American States) [F 1401 .A57]

Annales Historiques de la Revolution Francaise [DC 139 .A62]

Archival Issues: Journal of the Midwest Archives Conference [CD 3054 .M53]

Archivaria [CD 27 .C2 A7]

Archives and Museum Informatics [CD 973 .D3 A72]

Arkansas Historical Quarterly [F 406 .A6]

Birmingham [F 334 .B6 B3][Special Collections - Ground Floor]

Bulletin of Latin American Research [F 1401 .B84]

Butler County Historical and Genealogical Society Quarterly [F 332 .B9 A1][Special Collections - Ground Floor]

Canadian-American Slavic Studies [D 377 .A1 C34]

Canadian Historical Review [F 1001 .C27]

Caribbean Quarterly [F 1601 .C3]

Central European History [DD 1 .C4]

China Quarterly [DS 701 .C472]

Chinese Historical Review [D 1 .C417]

Citizen Airman: the Official Magazine of the Air National Guard and Air Force Reserve [D 301.8:] [ First Floor]

Civil War History [E 461 .C5]

Civil War Times Illustrated [E 461 .C562]

Comparative Studies in Society and History: an International Quarterly [H 31 .C73]

Contributions to Nepalese Studies [DS 493 .C68]

Current History [D 410 .C82] Online only, 2006-

Diplomatic History [E 183.7 .D48] Online only, 2006-

Early American Studies [E 186 .E11]

Eighteenth Century [CB 411 .E33]

Eighteenth-Century Life [HN 1 .E42] Online only, 2007-

English Historical Review [DA 20 .E58] Online only, 2006-

Ethnohistory [E 51 .E8] Online only, 2007-

European History Quarterly [D 1 .E76] Online only, 2006-

Everton's Genealogical Helper [CS 1 .G38][Special Collections - Ground Floor]

Florida Historical Quarterly [F 306 .F65]

Forces [H 3 .F6]

French Historical Studies [DC 1 .F69] Online only, 2007-

French History [DC 1 .F692]

Gender and History [HQ 1101 .G46] Online only, 2006-

Georgia Historical Quarterly [F 281 .G2975]

Himalayan Research Bulletin [DS 485 .H6 H565]

Hispanic American Historical Review [F 1401 .H66]

Historia Mexicana [F 1201 .H5]

Historian [D 1 .H22] Online only, 2006-

Historical Journal [D 1 .H33]

Historical Methods [H 1 .H525]

History [D 1 .H815] Online only, 2006-

History and Theory [D 16.8 .H8173] Online only, 2006-

History News [E 172 .A533]

History Notes (Virginia Historical Society) [F 221 .V7442]

History Today [D 1 .H818]

Humanities in the South [CB 3 .S62]

Illinois Heritage [F 536 .I148]

International History Review [D 1 .I57]

International Review of Social History [HN 1 .I53]

Irish Historical Studies [DA 900 .I63]

Isis [Q 1 .I7] [Fourth Floor]

Japan Echo [DS 801 .J256]

Journal of African History [DT 1 .J65]

Journal of American and Canadian Studies [E 169.1 .J69]

Journal of American History [F 351 .M69]

Journal of American Studies [E 151 .J6]

Journal of Asian and African Studies [DT 1 .J66]

Journal of Asian Studies [DS 501 .F274]

Journal of British Studies [DA 20 .J6]

Journal of Confederate History Series [E 487 .J77]

Journal of Contemporary History [D 410 .J66] Online only, 2006-

Journal of European Economic History [HC 240 .A1 J68]

Journal Of Illinois History [F 536 .J68]

Journal of Interdisciplinary History [D 1 .J59] Online only, 2006-

Journal of Japanese Studies [DS 801 .J7]

Journal of Medieval History [D 1 .J598]

Journal of Military History [E 181 .M55]

Journal of Mississippi History [F 336 .J68]

Journal of Modern History [D 1 .J6]

Journal of Negro History [E 185.5 .J86]

Journal of Policy History [H 97 .J68]

Journal of Psychohistory [HQ 768 .H56]

Journal of Social History [HN 1 .J6]

Journal of Southern History [F 206 .J68]

Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era [E 175 .J68]

Journal of the Society for Army Historical Research [DA 49 .S6]

Journal of the Southwest [F 806 .A69]

Journal of the Early Republic [E 164 .J68]

Journal of the Georgia Association of Historians [D 1 .G63a]

Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society [F 536 .I18]

Journal of the West [F 591 .J65]

Journal of World History: Official Journal of the World History Association [D 1 .J62]

Korea Now [DS 901 .K715]

Kritika: Explorations in Russian and Eurasian History [DK 1 .K75]

Labor History [HD 4802 .L435] Online only, 2007-

Legacy: the Magazine of the Monroe County Heritage Museum [F 332 .M7 M66][Special Collections - Ground Floor]

Louisiana History [F 366 .L6238]

Louisiana History Newsletter [last six months only]

MHQ: the Quarterly Journal of Military History [D 25 .M44]

Magazine of History [D 16.3 .M335]

Massachusetts Historical Review [F 61 .M382]

Mexican Studies=Estudios Mexicanos [F 1225.5 .M49]

Midwest Archives Conference [last six months only]

Mississippi History Newsletter [last six months only]

Montgomery Genealogical Society Quarterly [Special Collections - Ground Floor]

NCGS News [North Carolina Genealogical Society] [F 253 .N8815] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]

NCPH Public History News [last two years only]

Naval History [V 27 .N35]

Negro History Bulletin [E 185.5 .N383]

New England Quarterly: an Historical Review of New England Life and Letters [F 1 .N62]

New York History: Quarterly Journal of the New York State Historical Association [F 116 .N865]

News-letter of the American Antiquarian Society [last six months only]

Nipponia: Discovering Japan [DS 801 .N566]

North Carolina Genealogical Society [F 253 .N882a] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]

North Carolina Historical Review [F 251 .N892]

OAH Newsletter: Organization of American Historians [last three years only]

Oral History [D 16.14 .O7]

Over the Front [D 600 .O85]

Pacific Historical Review [F 851 .P18]

Past & Present [D 1 .P3]

Pea River Trails [F 332 .P37 P4][Special Collections - Ground Floor]

Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography [F 146 .P65]

Proceedings/United States Naval Institute [VA 49 .U5] [Fourth Floor]

Prologue: the Journal of the National Archives [CD 4 .P7]

Public Historian [D 1 .P8]

Publications of the Navy Records Society [DA 70 .A1]

Quebec Studies [F 1051 .Q33]

Radical History Review [HX 1 .R33] Online only, 2007-

Religion and American Culture [BL 65 .C8 R42]

Renaissance and Reformation [CB 361 .R3]

Renaissance Papers [CB 361 .R42]

Renaissance Quarterly [CB 361 .R45]

Reviews in American History [E 151 .R48]

Revista de Historia Economica [HB 9 .R39]

Revue d'Histoire Moderne et Contemporaine [D 1 .R282]

Revue Historique [D 1 .R6]

Riding Line [last two years only]

Russian History [DK 1 .R74]

Russian Review [DK 1 .R82] Online only, 2006-

SAA Bulletin [last two years only]

SGA Newsletter (Society of Georgia Archivists) [CD 3180 .S43]

Scottish Historical Review [DA 750 .S21]

Sea Power [VA 49 .N28] [Fourth Floor]

Sixteenth Century Journal [D 220 .S57]

Slavic Review [D 377 .A1 S64]

Social History [HN 1 .S56] Online only, 2006-

Social Science History [H 1 .S612]

South Carolina Historical Magazine [F 266 .S55]

Southeast Asian Affairs [DS 502 .S76]

Southern Cultures/Sponsored by the Center for the Study of the American South [F 209 .S73]

Southern Exposure [F 206 .S643]

Southern Register: the Newsletter of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture [F 209 .S746]

Southern Studies [F 366 .L935]

Southwestern Historical Quarterly [F 381 .T45]

Soviet and Post-Soviet Review [DK 266 .A2 S753]

Stones and Bones Newsletter [folio F 321 .S82][Special Collections - Ground Floor]

Technology and Culture [T 1 .T29] [Fourth Floor]

Tennessee Historical Quarterly [F 431 .T285]

Transactions of the Royal Historical Society [DA 20 .R9]

Twentieth-Century China [DS 773.83 .T84]

Virginia Magazine of History and Biography [F 221 .V91]

Welsh History Review [DA 700 .W468]

Western Historical Quarterly [F 591 .W464]

Western Journal of Black Studies [E 184.7 .W4]

William and Mary Quarterly [F 221 .W71]

Wisconsin Magazine of History [F 576 .W7]


The Alabama Review'''''Common-Place
"The Interactive Journal of Early American Life." Sponsored by the American Antiquarian Society and the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History.
Historia Actual Online
Published by the Contemporary History Association/Asociacion de Historia Actual. Articles mainly in Spanish or English. Focus is international.
The History Cooperative
Recent issues of The American Historical Review and The Journal of American History available online. (Subscription required for access).

Top of page



[edit] Electronic History Journal Subscriptions

Electronic History Journal Subscriptions


The following is a list of History journals to which the Ralph Brown Draughon Library currently subscribes in electronic format. This list is derived from History-related journals currently being made available by the A.U. Libraries' subscriptions to electronic databases. This list does not provide information about back issues of journals that may be available in electronic (or print or microform) format. This list is subject to change due to the constantly changing state of publication agreements made between journal publishers and database vendors. If you do not see a particular journal title listed here, be sure to use the library online catalog, AUBIEcat, and search for a journal title to determine its availability and format.

Journals listed by journal title plus name of database(s) providing current electronic coverage.

Databases plus abbreviations: Academic Search Premier (ASP), Expanded Academic ASAP (EAA), Project Muse (PM).

  1. Acta Archaeologica (ASP)
  2. Africa: The Journal of the International African Institute (ASP), (PM)
  3. Africa Today (PM)
  4. African American Review (ASP)
  5. African and Asian Studies (ASP)
  6. African Studies (ASP)
  7. African Studies Review (PM)
  8. Afro-Americans in New York Life and History (EAA)
  9. Air Power History (ASP), (EAA)
  10. Al-Masaq: Islam and the Medieval Mediterranean (ASP)
  11. Alabama Review (ASP)
  12. Alberta History (EAA)
  13. Aleph: Historical Studies in Science and Judaism (PM)
  14. AMBIX (ASP)
  15. American Communist History (ASP)
  16. American Heritage (ASP)
  17. American Historical Review (ASP)
  18. American History (ASP)
  19. American History Illustrated (ASP)
  20. American Indian Quarterly (ASP), (PM)
  21. American Jewish History (PM)
  22. American Journal of Philology (PM)
  23. American Nineteenth Century History (ASP)
  24. American Quarterly (PM)
  25. American Review of Canadian Studies (ASP)
  26. American Schools of Oriental Research Newsletter (ASP)
  27. American Visions (ASP)
  28. The Americas (PM)
  29. America's Civil War (ASP)
  30. Ancient Civilizations from Scythia to Siberia (ASP)
  31. Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature (ASP)
  32. Antiquity (ASP)
  33. Arab Studies Quarterly (ASP)
  34. Arabian Archaeology and Epigraphy (ASP)
  35. Arabica (ASP)
  36. Archaeology (ASP)
  37. Archaeology in Oceania (ASP)
  38. Archaeometry (ASP)
  39. Architectural Heritage (ASP)
  40. Archive for History of Exact Sciences (ASP)
  41. Arctic Anthropology (ASP)
  42. Arizona: Journal of Hispanic Cultural Studies (PM)
  43. Arkansas Historical Quarterly (ASP)
  44. Arms and Armour (ASP)
  45. Art History (ASP)
  46. Asian Affairs (ASP)
  47. Asian Folklore Studies (ASP)
  48. Asian Perspectives ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  49. Asian Studies Review (ASP)
  50. Atlantic Monthly (ASP)
  51. ATQ (ASP)
  52. Australian Historical Studies (ASP)
  53. Australian Journal of International Affairs (ASP)
  54. Australian Journal of Politics and History (ASP), (EAA)
  55. Austrian History Yearbook (ASP)
  56. Aviation History (ASP)
  57. Baptist History and Heritage (EAA)
  58. BC Studies (ASP)
  59. Beaver (ASP)
  60. Biography (ASP)
  61. Biography: An Interdisciplinary Quarterly (ASP)
  62. BLACFAX (ASP)
  63. Black History Bulletin (ASP)
  64. Black Music Research Journal (EAA)
  65. Black Scholar (ASP)
  66. Book History (ASP), (PM)
  67. Borneo Research Bulletin (ASP)
  68. British Heritage (ASP)
  69. British Journal for the History of Philosophy (ASP)
  70. British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies (ASP)
  71. Bulletin of Latin American Research (ASP)
  72. Bulletin of Anglo-Israel Archaeological Society (ASP)
  73. Bulletin of the History of Medicine (PM)
  74. California History (EAA)
  75. Canadian Ethnic Studies (ASP)
  76. Canadian Historical Review (ASP), (PM)
  77. Canadian Journal of History (ASP), (EAA)
  78. Canadian Review of American Studies (ASP), (PM)
  79. Catholic Biblical Quarterly (ASP)
  80. Catholic Historical Review (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  81. Centaurus (ASP)
  82. Central Asian Survey (ASP)
  83. Central European History (Brill) (ASP)
  84. Centro Journal (ASP)
  85. China: An International Journal (PM)
  86. China Journal (ASP)
  87. China Review International (PM)
  88. Chinese America: History and Perspectives (ASP), (EAA)
  89. Chinese American Forum (ASP)
  90. Chinese Studies in History (ASP)
  91. Christian History (ASP)
  92. Christian History and Biography (ASP)
  93. Church History (ASP), (EAA)
  94. Civil War History (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  95. Civil War Times (ASP)
  96. Civil War Times Illustrated (ASP)
  97. Civil Wars (ASP)
  98. Classical World (PM)
  99. Clio (EAA)
  100. Cold War History (ASP)
  101. Colonial Latin American Review (ASP)
  102. Common Knowledge (PM)
  103. Comparative Strategy (ASP)
  104. Comparative Studies of South Asia, Africa and the Middle East (PM)
  105. Congress and the Presidency (ASP)
  106. Contemporary British History (ASP)
  107. Contemporary Buddhism (ASP)
  108. Contemporary Pacific (PM)
  109. Contemporary Southeast Asia: A Journal of International and Strategic Affairs (ASP), (PM)
  110. CR: The New Centennial Review (PM)
  111. Critical Asian Studies (ASP)
  112. Critique: Critical Middle Eastern Studies (ASP)
  113. Crosscurrents - Journal of Ancient Music, Pre-history, Archaeology & Origins (& Other Social History & Science Matters) (ASP)
  114. Cuban Studies (PM)
  115. Cultural Critique (PM)
  116. Curtis's Botanical Magazine (ASP)
  117. Dead Sea Discoveries (ASP)
  118. Demokratizatsiya (ASP)
  119. Diaspora: A Journal of Transnational Studies (ASP)
  120. Diplomacy and Statecraft (ASP)
  121. Diplomatic History (ASP)
  122. Dollfuss/Schuschnigg Era in Austria: A Reassessment - Contemporary Austrian Studies (ASP)
  123. Dutch Review of Church History (ASP)
  124. Early American Literature (ASP), (EAA)
  125. Early American Studies (EAA), (PM)
  126. Early Medieval Europe (ASP)
  127. Early Modern Literary Studies (EAA)
  128. Early Science and Medicine (ASP)
  129. East Asia: An International Quarterly (ASP)
  130. East European Quarterly (ASP)
  131. East Texas Historical Journal (ASP)
  132. Eastern Africa Social Science Research Review (PM)
  133. Eighteenth Century: Theory and Interpretation (EAA)
  134. Eighteenth-Century Life (ASP), (PM)
  135. Eighteenth-Century Studies (PM)
  136. Eire - Ireland (PM)
  137. Essays in Medieval Studies (ASP), (PM)
  138. Ethnohistory (ASP)
  139. Europe - Asia Studies (ASP)
  140. European Journal of American Culture (ASP
  141. European Journal of the History of Economic Thought (ASP)
  142. European Legacy (ASP)
  143. European Review of History (ASP)
  144. Exchange (ASP)
  145. Family and Community History (ASP)
  146. Feminist Studies (ASP)
  147. Food and Foodways: History and Culture of Human Nourishment (ASP)
  148. Foreign Affairs (ASP)
  149. Foreign Policy (ASP)
  150. French Colonial History (PM)
  151. French Historical Studies (ASP)
  152. French Politics, Culture, and Society (ASP)
  153. Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies (ASP), (PM)
  154. Gender and History (ASP)
  155. Georgia Historical Quarterly (ASP)
  156. German History (ASP)
  157. German Life and Letters (ASP)
  158. Globalisation, Societies, and Education (ASP)
  159. Hawaiian Journal of History (ASP)
  160. Hispanic American Historical Review (ASP)
  161. Hispanic Review (EAA), (PM)
  162. Historian (ASP), (EAA)
  163. Historical Materialism (ASP)
  164. Historical Methods (ASP), (EAA)
  165. Historical Research (ASP)
  166. Historical Studies (EAA)
  167. History (ASP)
  168. History and Anthropology (ASP)
  169. History and Memory (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  170. History and Philosophy of Logic (ASP)
  171. History and Technology (ASP)
  172. History and Theory (ASP)
  173. History Australia (EAA)
  174. History in Africa (PM)
  175. History of Education (ASP)
  176. History of Science (ASP)
  177. History Review (ASP), (EAA)
  178. History: Reviews of New Books (ASP)
  179. History Teacher (ASP)
  180. History Today (ASP), (EAA)
  181. History Workshop Journal (PM)
  182. Holocaust and Genocide Studies (PM)
  183. Holy Land Studies: A Multidisciplinary Journal (Edinburgh University Press) (ASP)
  184. Hypatia (PM)
  185. Imago Mundi (ASP)
  186. Indiana Magazine of History (ASP)
  187. Indonesia and the Malay World (ASP)
  188. Innes Review (ASP)
  189. International Affairs (ASP)
  190. International Journal of African Historical Studies (ASP)
  191. International Journal of Cultural Policy (ASP)
  192. International Journal of Francophone Studies (ASP)
  193. International Journal of Iberian Studies (ASP)
  194. Interventions: The International Journal of Postcolonial Studies (ASP)
  195. Iran and the Caucusus (ASP)
  196. Iranian Studies (ASP)
  197. Irish Studies Review (ASP)
  198. Islam and Christian-Muslim Relations (ASP)
  199. Israel Affairs (ASP)
  200. Israel Studies (ASP), (PM)
  201. Italianist (ASP)
  202. Japan Forum (ASP)
  203. Japanese Studies (ASP)
  204. Jewish History (ASP)
  205. Jewish Quarterly Review (PM)
  206. Jewish Social Studies (ASP). (PM)
  207. Journal for Early Modern Cultural Studies (EAA), (PM)
  208. Journal for the Study of Judaism: In the Persian, Hellenistic, and Roman Period (ASP)
  209. Journal of African American History (ASP), (EAA)
  210. Journal of African History (EAA)
  211. Journal of Agrarian Change (ASP)
  212. Journal of American Culture (ASP)
  213. Journal of American Ethnic History (ASP)
  214. Journal of American History (ASP)
  215. Journal of Ancient Near Eastern Religions (ASP)
  216. Journal of Asian American Studies (PM)
  217. Journal of Canadian Studies (PM), (ASP)
  218. Journal of Chinese Overseas (PM)
  219. Journal of Cold War Studies (PM), (ASP)
  220. Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History (PM)
  221. Journal of Contemporary African Studies (ASP)
  222. Journal of Contemporary Asia (ASP)
  223. Journal of Contemporary China (ASP)
  224. Journal of Cultural Geography (ASP)
  225. Journal of Cyprus Studies (EAA)
  226. Journal of Ecclesiastical History (EAA)
  227. Journal of European Integration (ASP)
  228. Journal of Genocide Research (ASP)
  229. Journal of Iberian and Latin American Studies (ASP)
  230. Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History (ASP)
  231. Journal of Interamerican Studies and World Affairs (ASP)
  232. Journal of Interdisciplinary History (ASP), (PM)
  233. Journal of Japanese Studies (PM)
  234. Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies (ASP)
  235. Journal of Legal History (ASP)
  236. Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (ASP)
  237. Journal of Mediterranean Archaeology (ASP)
  238. Journal of Middle East Women's Studies (PM)
  239. Journal of Military History (ASP), (PM)
  240. Journal of Modern Greek Studies (PM)
  241. Journal of Modern Italian Studies (ASP)
  242. Journal of Modern Jewish Studies (ASP)
  243. Journal of Muslim Minority Affairs (ASP)
  244. Journal of Pacific History (ASP)
  245. Journal of Policy History (ASP), (PM)
  246. Journal of Popular Culture (ASP)
  247. Journal of Religious History (ASP)
  248. Journal of Religious Thought (ASP)
  249. Journal of Scottish Historical Studies (ASP)
  250. Journal of Scottish Philosophy (ASP)
  251. Journal of Social History (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  252. Journal of Southeast European and Black Sea Studies (ASP)
  253. Journal of Southern African Studies (ASP)
  254. Journal of Southern Europe and the Balkans (ASP)
  255. Journal of Southern History (ASP), (EAA)
  256. Journal of Supreme Court History (ASP)
  257. Journal of the American Oriental Society (ASP)
  258. Journal of the Australian War Memorial (EAA)
  259. Journal of the Early Republic (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  260. Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient (ASP)
  261. Journal of the Historical Society (ASP)
  262. Journal of the History of Ideas (EAA), (PM)
  263. Journal of the History of International Law (ASP)
  264. Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences (EAA)
  265. Journal of the History of Sexuality (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  266. Journal of the History of the Behavioral Sciences (ASP)
  267. Journal of the History of the Neurosciences (ASP)
  268. Journal of the Royal Australian Historical Society (EAA)
  269. Journal of the Society of Archivists (ASP)
  270. Journal of Third World Studies (ASP)
  271. Journal of Transatlantic Studies (ASP)
  272. Journal of Transport History (ASP)
  273. Journal of Urban Technology (ASP)
  274. Journal of Victorian Culture (ASP), (PM)
  275. Journal of Women's History (PM)
  276. Journal of World History (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  277. Journal of World Prehistory (ASP)
  278. Ka Ho' oilina/The Legacy (EAA)
  279. Kansas History ( ASP)
  280. Korean Studies (ASP), (PM)
  281. Kritika: Explorations in Russian and Eurasian History (PM)
  282. Labour/Le Travail (EAA)
  283. Labour History Review (ASP)
  284. Late Imperial China (PM)
  285. Latin American Antiquity (ASP)
  286. Latin American Politics and Society (ASP), (PM)
  287. Latin American Research Review (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  288. Law and Social Inquiry (ASP)
  289. Legacies (ASP)
  290. Legacy: A Journal of American Women Writers (EAA), (PM)
  291. Legal History Review (ASP)
  292. Libraries and Culture (ASP)
  293. Library History (ASP)
  294. Literature and History (ASP)
  295. Luso-Brazilian Review (ASP), (PM)
  296. Manitoba History (ASP), (EAP)
  297. Mankind Quarterly (ASP)
  298. Manoa (PM)
  299. Mark Twain Circular (ASP)
  300. Massachusetts Review (ASP)
  301. Mediaeval Studies (ASP)
  302. Medieval and Renaissance Drama in England (ASP), (EAP)
  303. Medieval Archaeology (ASP)
  304. Medieval Encounters (ASP)
  305. Medieval Sermon Studies (ASP)
  306. Mediterranean Historical Review (ASP)
  307. Mediterranean Quarterly (ASP)
  308. Medium Aevum (ASP), (EAP)
  309. Melbourne Historical Journal (EAP)
  310. MELUS (ASP)
  311. Meridians: Feminism, Race, Transnationalism (EAP)
  312. Middle Eastern Studies (ASP)
  313. Midwest Quarterly (ASP)
  314. Military History (ASP)
  315. Mission Studies: Journal of the International Association of Mission Studies (ASP)
  316. Modern Age (ASP)
  317. Modern and Contemporary France (ASP)
  318. Modern Italy (ASP)
  319. Modern Judaism (PM)
  320. Monumenta Nipponica (PM)
  321. Muslim World (ASP)
  322. Mystics Quarterly (ASP)
  323. NAN NU: Men, Women, and Gender in Early and Imperial China (ASP)
  324. Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies and Gender Issues (EAP)
  325. National Identities (ASP)
  326. National Interest (ASP)
  327. Nationalities Papers (ASP)
  328. Native Studies Review (ASP)
  329. Naval History (ASP)
  330. Naval War College Review (ASP)
  331. Near Eastern Archaeology (ASP)
  332. New Hibernia Review (PM)
  333. New York State Conservationist (ASP)
  334. News from Native California (ASP)
  335. Nine: A Journal of Baseball History and Culture (EAA), (PM)
  336. Nineteenth-Century Contexts (ASP)
  337. Nineteenth-Century French Studies (EAA)
  338. North Carolina Historical Review (ASP)
  339. Northeast African Studies (PM)
  340. Northern History (ASP)
  341. Notes (ASP)
  342. Norwegian Archaeological Review (ASP)
  343. Numen: International Review for the History of Religions (ASP)
  344. NWSA Journal (EAA)
  345. OAH Magazine of History (ASP)
  346. OAH Newsletter (ASP)
  347. Ontario History (EAA)
  348. Oral History Review (EAA)
  349. Orbis Litterarum (ASP)
  350. Oregon Historical Quarterly (EAA)
  351. Oxford Journal of Archaeology (ASP)
  352. Pacific Review (ASP)
  353. Paedagogica Historica (ASP)
  354. Palestine Exploration Quarterly (ASP)
  355. Parliamentary History (ASP), (PM)
  356. Past and Present (PM)
  357. Perspectives on Political Science (ASP)
  358. Perspectives on Science (ASP)
  359. Planning Perspectives (ASP)
  360. Popular Music History (ASP)
  361. Portuguese Journal of Social Science (ASP)
  362. Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique (PM)
  363. Post-Medieval Archaeology (ASP)
  364. Postcolonial Studies (ASP)
  365. Postmodern Culture (PM)
  366. Presidential Studies Quarterly (EAA)
  367. Progress in Human Geography (ASP)
  368. Prooftexts: A Journal of Jewish Literary History (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  369. Quaerendo (ASP)
  370. Quaker Studies (ASP)
  371. Radical History Review (ASP)
  372. Reformation and Renaissance Review: Journal of the Society for Reformation Studies (ASP)
  373. Reinardus (ASP)
  374. Renaissance Quarterly (ASP)
  375. Reviews in American History (PM)
  376. Romance Quarterly (ASP)
  377. Romani Studies (ASP)
  378. Romanic Review (ASP)
  379. Russian Life (ASP)
  380. Russian Social Science Review (ASP)
  381. Russian Studies in History (ASP)
  382. Sabretache (EAA)
  383. Scandinavian Journal of History (ASP)
  384. Scandinavian Political Studies (ASP)
  385. Scandinavian Studies (ASP)
  386. Scando-Slavica (ASP)
  387. Science and Society (ASP)
  388. Science Studies (ASP)
  389. Scottish Archaeological Jounral (ASP)
  390. Scottish Economic and Social History (ASP)
  391. Scottish Historical Review (ASP), (PM)
  392. Scottish Studies Review (ASP)
  393. Seventeenth Century (ASP)
  394. Shakespeare Bulletin (EAA)
  395. Shakespeare Studies (EAA)
  396. Shofar: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Jewish Studies (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  397. SJOT: Scandinavian Journal of the Old Testament (ASP)
  398. Slavery and Abolition (ASP)
  399. Slavonica (ASP)
  400. Slovo (ASP)
  401. Smithsonian (ASP)
  402. Social Forces (ASP)
  403. Social History (ASP)
  404. Social Research (ASP)
  405. Social Politics: International Studies in Gender, State nad Society (PM)
  406. Social Science History (ASP), (PM)
  407. Social Studies (ASP)
  408. Sojourn: Journal of Social Issues in Southeast Asia (ASP), (PM)
  409. South Atlantic Quarterly (ASP)
  410. Southeastern Archaeology (ASP)
  411. Southern Cultures (PM)
  412. Southwestern Historical Quarterly (PM)
  413. Studies in East European Thought (ASP)
  414. Studies in Philology (PM)
  415. Studies in Romanticism (EAA)
  416. Teaching History: A Journal of Methods (ASP), (EAA)
  417. Technology and Culture (PM)
  418. Theatre History Studies (ASP), (EAA)
  419. Third World Quarterly (ASP)
  420. Tibet Journal (ASP)
  421. T'oung Pao: International Journal of Chinese Studies (ASP)
  422. Transactions of the American Philological Association (ASP), (PM)
  423. Transformation: Critical Perspectives on Southern Africa (PM)
  424. Turkish Studies (ASP)
  425. University of Toronto Quarterly (ASP), (PM)
  426. Urban Forum (ASP)
  427. Utilitas (ASP)
  428. Vetus Testamentum (ASP)
  429. Victorian Studies (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
  430. Virginia Magazine of History and Biography (ASP)
  431. Visual Anthropology (ASP)
  432. Vivarium (ASP)
  433. War in History (ASP)
  434. War, Literature, and the Arts: An International Journal of the Humanities (ASP)
  435. Welt des Islams (ASP)
  436. Westminster Theological Journal (ASP)
  437. White House Studies (EAA)
  438. Wicazo Sa Review (PM)
  439. Wilson Quarterly (ASP)
  440. Women's Studies (ASP)
  441. World Archaeology (ASP)
  442. World Policy Journal (ASP)
  443. World War II (ASP)

[edit] Web Sites


United States and Canada

Across the Generations: Exploring U.S. History through Family Papers Online exhibit of papers of four prominent northeastern families from the late 18th. through early 20th. century.

Ad*Access Reproduces over 7,000 printed advertisements from 1911-1955

African-American Mosaic A Library of Congress resource guide for the study of black history and culture.

African American Odyssey Digitized primary resources from the Library of Congress.

African American Perspectives: Pamphlets from the Daniel A. P. Murray Pamphlet Collection, 1818-1907

Africans in America Primary documents c. 1450-1865.

Afro-Louisiana History and Genealogy, 1719-1820 Demographic information on 100,000 slaves in colonial Louisiana.

Alabama Department of Archives and History Web site of the state archives for the state of Alabama.

Alabama Mosaic A cooperative project to create a dynamic collection of images and sounds relating to Alabama history. Developed under auspices of The Cornerstone Project, a collaborative statewide initiative.

Alaska's Digital Archives Primary sources on Alaskan cultural and political history.

Alaskool Central Online materials about Alaska Native history, education, languages, and cultures.

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History A bibliography of primary documents available online.

America in the 1930s

America at Work, America at Leisure: Motion Pictures from 1894-1915 150 films. Part of the Library of Congress American Memory collection. NOTE: must download special software to view films.

The American Civil War Homepage

The American Folklife Center: the Library of Congress

The American Geographical Society Collection

American Indian Materials in the Federal Depository Libraries of Oklahoma Bibliography listing federal and non-federal documents located in 19 federal depository libraries concerning American Indians.

American Indians of the Pacific Northwest

American Journeys Full-text access to eyewitness accounts of early American exploration and settlement, c. 1000-1844.

American Life Histories Manuscripts from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1940

American Memory Primary source and archival materials relating to United States history and culture from Library of Congress special collections.

American Notes: Travels in America, 1750-1920 253 published narratives by Americans and foreign travelers provide observations about people, culture, and places.

The American Presidency Project Includes the Public Papers of Presidents Hoover through George W. Bush and much more.

American Slave Narratives Text of interviews with former slaves conducted by the Works Progress Administration, 1936-38.

American Variety Stage: Vaudeville and Popular Entertainment, 1870-1920

American Women: A Gateway to Library of Congress Resources for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States

American Women's History: A Research Guide

AmericanPresident.org Detailed overviews of the presidents arranged by periods: 1789-1850, 1850-1897, 1897-1969, 1969-present.

Annotated Bibliography of Government Documents Related to the Threat of Terrorism and the Attacks of September 11, 2001 Produced by the Oklahoma Department of Libraries, this bibliography provides over 700 pages of listings of federal government documents from c. 1980 onward.

Antietam on the Web About the Civil War battle of September 17, 1862 described as "the single bloodiest day in American history."

Appalachian Studies Bibliography Covers publications from 1994-2004.

Appalachian Treasures Gateway A directory of Internet sites on Appalachian culture, images, social customs, history, and more.

Archives.gov Web site of the National Archives and Records Administration.

The Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II: A Collection of Primary Sources From the National Security Archive at Gelman Library, George Washington University.

Auburn University Digital Collections Features a variety of digitized documents and images relating to Auburn University, the state of Alabama, and more.

A Biography of America Described as "a self-contained college-level history course."

Birmingham Public Library Digital Collections Digitized documents including photographs mainly relating to the history of Birmingham, Alabama.

Black Members of the United States Congress, 1870-2005 A report by the Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress.

Black Studies Over 50 broad categories with links to fulltext documents and images.

BlackPast.org: Remembered & Reclaimed Combines secondary research and primary sources relating to African American history. Described as "the Google" of African American history.

The Booker T. Washington Papers Digitization of the 14-volume work published by the University of Illinois Press. Also includes links to supplemental materials.

Built in America: Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record, 1933 - Present Over 350,000 drawings, photographs, and short histories about more than 35,000 historic sites.

"California as I Saw It": First-Person Narratives of California's Early years, 1849-1900

Canadian Studies: A Guide to the Sources Government and academic sources covering Canada's culture, history, and literature.

Canadiana: The Canadian Resource Page

Catherwood Digital Collections A product of the Martin P. Catherwood Library, School of Industrial and Labor Relations at Cornell University. Over 350,000 digitized photographs plus other materials pertaining to economic history.

CensusScope A product of the Social Science Data Analysis Network, University of Michigan. Demographic media for the use of students, researchers, policy makers, and the public. Mostly from the 1990 and 2000 Census of Population and Housing.

Center for Jewish History

Center of Military History (CMH) U.S. Army's Center of Military History.

Center of the American West Mainly articles relating to the modern history of the American West.

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation U.S. Congressional documents and debates 1774-1875.

The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 Over 8000 digitized documents and archival materials.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers A project of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP), it is jointly sponsored by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. When complete, this free online database will allow users to search a directory of 23,000 American newspaper titles published from 1690 to the present. Still under development.

CIA FOIA: Electronic Reading Room Information provided by the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) on how to request information from the Central Intelligence Agency (CIA). Site provides access to previously declassified documents, some dating back to 1940.

Civil Rights Digital Library Includes digitized news film on major Civil Rights events; a digital portal to resources from 75 academic libraries and other institutions; and an instructional component.

Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive Focuses on the Freedom Summer Project of 1964.

Civil Rights Movement Veterans Memories and reflections by civil rights movement veterans of the 1960s.

Colonial Williamsburg

Combat Studies Institute (CSI) Nearly all publications of the CSI from 1979 onward available online. The CSI is part of the U.S. Army Command and General Staff College.

Computerhistory.org Web site of the Computer History Museum (located in Mountain View, Calif.)

Contrails Formerly known as Wright Air Development Center (WADC) Digital Collection. Federal Government-produced technical reports relating to the space race of the 1950's and 1960's.

The Core Historical Literature of Agriculture Digitized selections from the Mann Library at Cornell University. Note limitations: lacking coverage c. 1850-1900 and lacking coverage of South.

Council of State Archivists (CoSA) A directory and clearinghouse of information.

The Crisis of the Union: An Electronic Archive about the Causes, Conduct, and Consequences of the US Civil War

CultureCanada.gc.ca Canadian cultural information, including History. Site is available in English or French language versions.

David Rumsey Map Collection Digitized images of mainly nineteenth-century American atlases and school geographies.

"The Decisive Day Is Come": The Battle of Bunker Hill Digitized primary accounts of the Revolutionary War battle from the collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society.

Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project Concerns the internment of Japanese Americans during World War II.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online Includes persons who died or were active c. 1000-1920.

Dictionary of Wisconsin History

Digital History: A Guide to Gathering, Preserving, and Presenting the Past on the Web

Digital Schomburg Images of African Americans from the Nineteenth Century

Disability History Museum Focuses on the history of disability as a social rather than a medical phenomenon.

Documenting the American South A collection of primary documents from the colonial period through 1940.

Documents from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention 1764-1789 From the Library of Congress.

The Dolley Madison Project Digitized images of Dolley Madison (wife of President James Madison), archive of her letters, and other online resources.

The Duluth Lynchings Online Resource: Historical Documents Relating to the Tragic Events of June 15, 1920 A product of the Minnesota Historical Society.

The E Pluribus Unum Project Electronic archive of sources pertaining to the 1770s, 1850s, and 1920s focusing on questions of American identity.

E.H.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business History A product of the Economic History Association.

Early Modern Women Database A portal to over 200 Web resources on women in early modern Europe and the Americas c. 14th. - early 19th. centuries.

Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920 Over 9000 digitized images plus essays.

Encyclopedia of Alabama

The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture

Encyclopedia of Chicago

English Short Title Catalogue Covers monograph and serial letterpress items printed before 1801 in the British Isles, Colonial America, and the United States of America (1776-1800), Canada, or territories governed by Britain, in all languages. This is a bibliography, not a full-text database.

Eugenics Archive: Image Archive on the American Eugenics Movement

Feeding America: The Historic America Cookbook Project Digitized significant works in American culinary history c. 1798-1922.

The First American West: the Ohio River Valley, 1750-1820 Part of the Library of Congress's American Memory project. Features digitized materials on the history, economy, and social life of the trans-Appalachian West.

First Person Narratives of the American South, 1860-1920 Includes diaries, autobiographies, memoirs, travel accounts, and ex-slave narratives.

First World War.com Summaries, time lines, essays, and primary documents.

The Flint Sit-Down Strike Audio Gallery Interviews conducted 1978-1984 of participants in Flint, Michigan General Motors strike of 1936-1937.

Florida Memory Project Significant Florida documents and photographs online. A project of the Florida Bureau of Archives & Records Management.

Foreign Relations of the United States Online version of the important series published by the U.S. Department of State. Covers 1861-1976 so far. Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity.

Foreign Relations of the United States Digitized version by the University of Wisconsin - Madison Libraries of the important series published by the U.S. Department of State. 1860's - 1950's, incomplete.

The Founders' Constitution Web version of five-volume reference anthology of primary documents antecedent to the U.S. Constitution

France in America=La France en Amerique Bilingual collection of digitized documents relating to the French presence in North America from the 16th. through 19th. centuries. A cooperative project of the Library of Congress and La Bibliotheque Nationale de France.

The Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum Digital Archive Concentrates mostly on diplomatic and wartime records.

The Frederick Douglass Papers at the Library of Congress

Free Speech Movement Digital Archive Digitized records concerning the Free Speech Movement at the University of California at Berkeley. A major development in campus radicalism of the 1960's.

Gateway for the Organization of American Historians A directory of general and specific history sites.

A Geographic Guide to Uncovering Women's History in Archival Collections Arranged by state and a few international sites.

The Gilder Lehrman Center for the study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition Includes over 200 digitized primary documents concerning the Atlantic slave trade and its aftermath.

Government Views of the Rosenberg Spy Case Declassified federal government documents from the F.B.I., C.I.A., and other agencies concerning this important Cold War era case.

The Great Chicago Fire and the Web of Memory''''' About the fire of 1871. Covers causes, course, and consequences of the fire and its cultural representation.

Harlem History''' Online information concerning this predominently African American New York City neighborhood focussing on culture and politics.

Historic Government Publications from World War II: A Digital Library Digitized U.S. government documents from the collections of Southern Methodist University.

Historical Census Data Browser U.S. census data, 1790-1960.

Historical Maps Online Digitized maps focussing on Illinois and the Northwest Territory c. 1650-1976.

Historical Publications of the United States Commission on Civil Rights

Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 Click on "Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970" Part 1 and Part 2). Online version of the print reference source.

History Guide A guide to scholarly internet and CD-ROM resources in Anglo-American history and Central and Western European history.

History Matters: the U.S. Survey Course on the Web Designed for teachers of U.S. survey courses at high school and college levels.

The History of Jim Crow Information on the systematic segregation of African Americans c. 1870's - 1950's.

History of the American West, 1860-1920''''' 30,000 digitized photographs of daily life in Colorado c. 1860-1920.

The History of the Supreme Court Authored by professors and sponsored by the New York Life Insurance Company in conjunction with their sponsorship of the PBS series The Supreme Court, this site includes teacher resources, time lines, factual articles, and a separate encyclopedia.

HistoryLink.org: The Onlinline Encyclopedia of Washington State History

Homicide in Chicago, 1870-1930 Online primary and secondary sources concerning 11,000 homicides committed in Chicago during the period 1870-1930.

Illinois during the Gilded Age Digitized primary sources c. 1866 - 1896.

In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience Covers 13 migrations from the 16th. century to the present. Developed by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties Full text of all treaties between the United States and Native American tribes.

Indian Land Cessions Maps of Indian land sessions up to 1894 reproduced from 18th. Annual Report of the Bureau of American Ethnology (1896-97).

Indian Peoples of the Northern Great Plains

Invincible Cities Combination of essays and photographs documenting urban change in Camden, N. J., Richmond, Calif., and Harlem in New York City. A "multilayered archaeology of the modern city."

IPUMS - CPS Integrated Public Use Microdata Series - Current Population Survey. Provides integrated data and documentation from the March Supplement of the Current Population Survey (CPS) from the period 1962 to 2005. The harmonized CPS data are designed to be compatible with decennial census data in IPUMS-USA. Registration required: users are automatically registered when they agree to all conditions for use.

IPUMS - International International (Integrated Public Use Microdata Series, International) is the world's largest collection of publicly available individual-level census data. The data are samples from population censuses from around the world taken since 1960. Names and other identifying information have been removed. The variables have been given consistent codes and have been documented to enable cross-national and cross-temporal comparisons. Registration required: users must submit abstract of research project when registering for IPUM-I approval.

IPUMS - USA The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) consists of thirty-eight high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2004. The IPUMS assigns uniform codes across all the samples and brings relevant documentation into a coherent form to facilitate analysis of social and economic change. Registration required: users are automatically registered when they agree to all conditions for use.

The James Fenimore Cooper Society Digitized primary and secondary sources concerning the novelist and historian (lived 1789-1851).

The James Madison Papers Over 12,000 digitized documents c. 1723-1836 relating to the president and his family from the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress.

Jamestown Rediscovery Information about archaeological research conducted in Jamestown Island, Virginia.

Jewish Women's Archive Variety of online resources pertaining to North American Jewish women.

Jews in America Audiovisual and text materials available online covering 1654 onward presented by the Center for Jewish History.

Kansas State Historical Society

Kentuckiana Digital Library Digitized materials from Kentucky libraries, archives, historical societies, and museums

Korea: The Unfinished War Source materials relating to the Korean War.

Korean American Digital Archive A virtual library concerning the Korean American community c. 1903-1965.

Lewis and Clark: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery

Library and Archives Canada National Library of Canada web site with a focus on the history of Canada from 1867 onward.

Librar