History (Non-United States)
From SubjectGuides
Contents |
[edit] Library Specialist
Tim Dodge:
(334) 844-1729
Reference Department
[edit] Reference Tools
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Africana, 2nd Floor Reference DT 14 .A37435 1999
Airline Encyclopedia: 1909-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HE 9780 .S65 2002
Biographical Dictionary of Women, 2nd Floor Reference CT 3202 .C48 1996
Bosworth Field to Bloody Mary: An Encyclopedia of the Early Tudors, 2nd Floor Stacks DA 315 .W26 2003
Brassey's D-Day Encyclopedia: The Normandy Invasion A-Z, 2nd Floor Stacks D 756.5 .N6 T55 2004
Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Reference CT 103 .C26 1998
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan, 2nd Floor Reference DS 805 .C36 1993
Dictionary of Ancient Egypt, 2nd Floor Reference DT 58 .S55 1995
Dictionary of Ancient History, 2nd Floor Reference DE 5 .D53
Dictionary of British History, 2nd. Floor Stacks, DA 34 .D52 1988
Dictionary of Dates, 2nd Floor Reference D 11.5 .B37 1997
Dictionary of Historical Terms, 2nd Floor Reference D 9 .C67 1998
Dictionary of Labour Biography, 3rd Floor Stacks HD 8393 .A1 B44
Dictionary of National Biography (British), 2nd Floor Reference DA 28 .D47
Dictionary of New Zealand Biography, 2nd Floor Stacks DU 422 .D48 1990
Dictionary of Political Biography, 2nd Floor Reference D 412 .D53 1998
Dictionary of the Holocaust, 2nd Floor Reference D 804.25 .E67 1997
Dictionary of the Middle Ages, 2nd Floor Stacks D 114 .D5 1982
Dictionary of the Middle East, 2nd Floor Reference DS 43 .H57 1996
Dictionary of the Second World War, 2nd Floor Stacks D 740 .W47 1989
Dictionary of the Vietnam War, 2nd Floor Reference DS 557.7 .W38 1999
Dictionary of Twentieth Century History 1914-1990, 2nd Floor Reference D 419 .T443
Dictionary of Twentieth Century World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 419 .P32 1997
Dictionary of Wars, 2nd Floor Reference D 25 .A2 K63 1999
Enciclopedia de Mexico, 2nd Floor Stacks F1204 .E46 1987
Encyclopaedia of Islam Three, 2nd Floor Reference DS 37 .E523 2007 pt. 1 - pt. 3.
Encyclopaedic Historiography of the Muslim World 2nd Floor Reference DS 36.65 .E539 2003
Encyclopedia Asiatica, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 405 .B18 1976
Encyclopedia Judaica, 2nd Floor Stacks (Second Edition): DS 102.8 .E496 2007; (First Edition): DS 102.8 E496
Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara, 2nd Floor Stacks DT 351 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of African History and Culture, 2nd Floor Reference DT 3 .P27 2005
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: The Black Experience in the Americas, 2nd. Ed., 2nd. Floor Stacks E 185 .E54 2006
Encyclopedia of Ancient Asian Civilizations, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 12 .H5 2004
Encyclopedia of Asian History, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 31 .E53 1988
Encyclopedia of Conflicts since World War II, 2nd Floor Stacks D 843 .E46 2007
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000, 3rd Floor Stacks HN 373 .E63 2001
Encyclopedia of Heads of States and Governments 1900-1945, 2nd Floor Reference D 412 .L45 1999
Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing, 2nd Floor Reference D 14 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of India, 2nd Floor Stacks E 405 .E556 2005
Encyclopedia of Invasions and Conquests from Ancient times to the Present, 2nd Floor Stacks D 25 .A2 D38 2006
Encyclopedia of Islam, 2nd Floor Reference DS 37 .E523
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture, 2nd Floor Stacks F 1406 .E53 1996
Encyclopedia of Mexico, 2nd Floor Stacks F 1210 .E63 1997
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 4 .E53 2002
Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism, 2d Floor Stacks E 184 .A1 E58 1994
Encyclopedia of Prisoners of War and Internment, 4th Floor Stacks UB 800 .E53 2006
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, 2nd Floor Reference E 184 .A1 E584 2008
Encyclopedia of Russian History,2nd Floor Stacks DK 14 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, 2nd Floor Reference DF 16 .S23 1995
Encyclopedia of the Cold War: A Political, Social, and Military History, 2nd Floor Stacks D 840 .E63 2008
Encyclopedia of the Crusades, 2nd Floor Stacks D 155 .A6 2003
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, 2nd Floor Stacks B 802 .E53 1996
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment, 2nd Floor Stacks B 802 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 43 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of the Palestinians, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 113.6 .E53 2005
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance, 2nd Floor Stacks CB 361 .E52 1999
Encyclopedia of the Persian Gulf War, 2nd Floor Reference UF 500 .G8 1995
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire, 2nd Floor Reference DG 270 .B86 1994
Encyclopedia of the Third Reich, 2nd Floor Stacks DD 256.5 .S57
Encyclopedia of the Third Reich, 2nd Floor Stacks DD 256.5 .G76313
Encyclopedia of the War of 1812, 2nd Floor Stacks E 354 .H46 1997
Encyclopedia of the Wars of the Roses, 2nd Floor Stacks DA 250 .W34 2001
Encyclopedia of Witchcraft: The Western Tradition, 2nd Floor Stacks BF 1566 .E56 2006
Encyclopedia of Women in the Renaissance, 3rd Floor Stacks HQ 1148 .W67 2007
Encyclopedia of World Biography, 2nd Floor Reference CT 103 .E56 1998
Encyclopedia of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 21 .E577 2000
Europe 1789 to 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of Industry and Empire, 2nd Floor Stacks D 299 .E375 2006
Europe Since 1914: Encyclopedia of the Age of War and Reconstruction, 2nd Floor Stacks D 424 .E94 2006
Facts on File Encyclopedia of the Twentieth Century, 2nd Floor Reference D 419 .F33 1991
Great Lives From History, Ancient and Medieval Series, 2nd Floor Reference CT 113 .G74 1988
Great Lives From History, Renaissance to 1900 Series, 2nd Floor Reference CT 120 .G69 1990
Great Lives from History: The 19th. Century, 1701-1800, 2nd Floor Reference D 285 .G74 2006
Great Lives From History, Twentieth Century Series, 2nd Floor Reference CT 120 .G69 1990
Heads of State and Government: A Worldwide Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Reference D 412 .L46 1994
Historic World Leaders, 2nd Floor Reference D 412 .H57 1994
Historical Dictionary of Afghanistan, 2nd Floor stacks DS 356 .A27 2003
Historical Dictionary of Ancient Israel, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 102.8 .L38 2004
Historical Dictionary of Angola, 2nd Floor Stacks DT 1264 .J36 2004
Historical Dictionary of Bangladesh, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 394.5 .B39 1989
Historical Dictionary of Cuba, 2nd Floor Stacks F 1754 .S83 2001
Historical Dictionary of Estonia, 2nd Floor Stacks DK 503.37 .M55 2004
Historical Dictionary of Iraq, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 70.9 .G47 2004
Historical Dictionary of Syria, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 94.9 .C66 2004
Historical Dictionary of the Crusades, 2nd Floor Stacks D 155 .S53 2003
Historical Dictionary of the Hittites, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 66 .B87 2004
Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 909 .N34 1993
Historical Dictionary of the Kurds, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 59 .K86 G86 2004
Historical Dictionary of the Vikings, 2nd Floor Stacks DL65 .H62 2003
Historical Dictionary of Utopianism, 3rd Floor Stacks HX 806 .M626 2004
Holocaust Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Stacks D 804.25 .H65 2001
International Who's Who, 2nd Floor Reference CT 120 .I5 2001
Islamic Desk Reference, 2nd Floor Reference DS 35.53 .I83 1994
Japan: An Illustrated Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 805 .J263 1993
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 805 .K633 1983
Medieval Scandinavia: An Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Stacks DL 30 .M43 1993
Merriam-Webster's Biographical Dictionary, 2nd Floor Reference CT 103 .M47 1995
Milenios de Mexico, 2d Floor Stacks F 1204 .M955 1999
Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History, 2nd Floor Stacks DK 14 .M6
New Century Italian Renaissance Encylopedia, 2nd Floor Reference DG 537.8 .A1 N48 1972
New Standard Jewish Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Stacks DS 102.8 .S73 1992 (Third Edition), DS 102.8 .S73 1977 (Second Edition), and DS 102.8 .S73 1966 (First Edition)
Oxford Classical Dictionary, 2nd Floor Reference DE 5 .O9 1996
Oxford Companion to World War II, 2nd Floor Reference D 740 .O93 1995
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography,2nd Floor Reference DA 28 .O95 2004 (Also available electronically; see [#indexes Indexes and Databases] below).
Oxford Dictionary of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 9 .D45 2000
Oxford Encyclopedia of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 21 .E53 1998
Political Encyclopedia of the Middle East, 2nd Floor Reference DS 62.8 .P64 1999
Prominent Women of the Twentieth Century, 2nd Floor Reference CT 3235 .P76 1996
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture, 2nd Floor Stacks E 169.1 .S764 2000
Twentieth-Century Britain: An Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Stacks DA 566 .T835 2002
Universal Jewish Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor DS 102.8 .U5
Webster's New World Dictionary of the Vietnam War, 2nd Floor Reference DS 557.7 .W38 1999
Who's Who, 2nd Floor Reference DA 28 .W6 (Most recent year)
Who's Who in the World, 2nd Floor Reference CT 120 .W5 v.18 (Most recent year)
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia, 3rd Floor Stacks HQ 1147 .E85 W66 2006
Witch Hunts in Europe and America: An Encyclopedia, 2nd Floor Stacks BF 1584 .E9 B87 2003
World Almanac Dictionary of Dates, 2nd Floor Reference D 9 .W73 1982
World War II: The Encyclopedia of the War Years, 2nd Floor Reference D 7435 .P57 1996
Almanacs, Chronologies, and Yearbooks
Chronology of World History, 2nd Floor Reference D 11 .M39 1999
Current Biography (1940-1954), 2nd Floor Stacks CT 100 .C8
Current Biography Yearbook (1955- ), 2nd Floor Stacks CT 100 .C8
Europa World Year Book, 2nd Floor Reference D 2 .E823 (Latest edition) Older editions in 2nd Floor Stacks. NOTE: Title was Europa Year Book 1959-88. Have most volumes in Closed Stacks and 2nd. Floor Stacks under same call number.
Facts on File Yearbook, 2nd Floor Reference (1985-) D 410 .F3, 2d Floor Stacks (1941-84) D 410 .F3Historic Documents of [Year], E 839.5 .H57
Keesing's Contemporary Archives, (1931-1986) 2nd Floor Stacks D 410 .K4Keesing's Record of World Events, D 410 .K4
New York Public Library Book of Chronologies, 2nd Floor Reference D 11 .W47 1990
[edit] Statistical Sources
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HA 4675 .M552 2003
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HA 1107 .M5 2003
International Historical Statistics: the Americas, 1750-2000, 2nd Floor Reference HA 175 .M55 2003
Other Reference Sources
Atlas of the Greek World, 2nd Floor Reference DF 77 .L43
Encyclopaedic Historiography of the Muslim World, 2nd Floor Reference DS 35.65 .E539 2003
The Former Soviet Union's Diverse Peoples: A Reference Sourcebook, 2nd Floor Stacks DK 33 .M54 2004
Glossary of Political Terms of the Peoples' Republic of China, 2nd Floor Reference DS 777.75 .L553513 1995
Handbook of Middle American Indians, 2nd Floor Stacks F 1434 .H3
Historical Atlas of Central America, 2nd Floor Stacks G 1551 .S1 H2 2003
Historical Journals: A Handbook for Writers and Reviewers, 2nd Floor Reference D 10 .S84 1993
Latin America, 2nd Floor Reference F 1401 .L3752 1999-2000
Middle East and South Asia, 2nd Floor Reference DS 44 .M52 (Most recent year)
- Reference Sources in history: An Introductory Guide, 2nd Floor Stacks D 20 .F75 2004 (2nd. Ed.)
Library of Congress Call Numbers for History
| C | Auxilary Sciences of History |
| --CB | History of Civilization |
| --CD | Archives |
| --CT | Biography |
| D | General and Old World History |
| --DA-DR | Europe |
| --DS | Asia |
| --DT | Africa |
| --DU | Oceania |
| E | General U.S. History |
| F | Local U.S., Canadian, and Latin American History |
| ----1-975 U.S. Local | |
| ----1001-1140 Canada | |
| ----1201-1392 Mexico | |
| ----1401-3799 Central-South America |
[#top Top of page]
[edit] Indexes and Databases
All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your global i.d. and password just as you would do for logging in to any campus computer. This log in procedure is required so that the database companies can verify if you are a currently enrolled Auburn University student or currently employed faculty or staff member of the university.
Subject Databases
- Allows users to browse, save and print newspaper pages from the United States and abroad. It covers the years 1759 to 1977. Available only on campus.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
- Included in the larger Web of Science database, this index to journal articles provides citation references for each article as well as author affiliation.
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online provides full text of significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas encompassing the American Revolution, the Industrial Revolution, the French Revolution, and the Age of Reason.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies
- Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Alternates annually between social sciences and humanities from 1935 onward.
- HAPI Online
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index made available online. Provides citations to worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Coverage is 1970 to the present and includes articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 social science and humanities journals. Many of the citations are linked to full text.
- A full-text index including images to issues of Harper's Weekly during the Civil War era.
- Historical Abstracts
- Historical coverage of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Includes information abstracted from more than 2000 journals published worldwide. From 1955 onward.
- Historical Newspapers Online
- Online indexing of the Times (London) from 1790 - 1980 and the New York Times from 1851 - 1923. Also includes full text of the Times (London) from 1785 - 1870.
- History Reference Center
- Designed primarily for K - 12 students, this database provides full-text access over 400 reference books and encyclopedias; over 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies; and over 100,000 images and maps. The History Reference Center also provides full text access to all articles in 52 history periodicals plus selected articles from a total of 500 periodicals
- Homeland Security Digital Archive
- Electronic documents made available by the Dudley Knox Library at the Naval Postgraduate School, searchable by keyword or by topic, including general U.S. policy documents, national strategy documents, theses and research papers from the Center for Homeland Defense and Security and the Naval Postgraduate School, and homeland security executive orders. Also includes notices of events and conferences pertaining to homeland security, and news items drawn from various news sources.
- In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories, and Personal Narratives
- Provides detailed indexing to thousands of English-language oral history collections from around the world. Researchers can use keyword searching to locate personal narratives, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and more available in published volumes, on the World Wide Web, and in holdings of archival repositories worldwide. Provides detailed indexing to thousands of English-language oral history collections from around the world. Researchers can use keyword searching to locate personal narratives, letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and more available in published volumes, on the World Wide Web, and in holdings of archival repositories worldwide.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
- Search and browsing access to abstracts and data sets in the world's largest archive of computerized social science data.
- ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
- Bibliographies of journal articles and reviews from nearly 600 journals covering the time period between 400 and 1700
- JSTOR
- A full-text index to backfiles (up until the last five-six years) of selected journals in the social sciences, history included.
- Military & Government Collection
- Provides access to over 500 military-related publications.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.
- An illustrated collection of 50,000 biographies of people who have shaped all aspects of British history from 400 B.C. to 2000. (Also available in print; see [#reference Reference Tools] above).
- Project Muse
- A full-text index to selected humanities and social science journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press
- Social Sciences Citation Index
- Included in the larger Web of Science database, this index to journal articles provides citation references for each article as well as author affiliation. Includes book reviews
- Social Sciences Fulltext
- Indexes and abstracts periodical literature from a wide variety of Social Science journals from 1983 onward. Note: many citations retrieved by this source are NOT available in full-text.
- Women Writers Online
- A project of Brown University making early modern women's writings available in full-text online.
General Databases
- A comprehensive database of over 8000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Many articles are available fulltext.
- Described as "the world's largest academic multi-disciplinary database," it provides full-text for nearly 4700 publications including full text for more than 3600 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage dates back to 1975.
- Allows users to browse, save and print newspaper pages from the United States and a few foreign countries. It covers the years 1759 to 1977. It excludes Alabama papers and is available only on campus. Articles appear in PDF.
- AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archives
- An electronic archive of sounds and images from the AP's (Associated Press)50 million image print and negative library, as well as charts, graphs, tables, and maps from the AP's graphics portfolio.
- ArchivesUSA
- An index which integrates records from the National Union Catalogue of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC) and the National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States (NIDS) as well directory information from the Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States (DAMRUS) into a single record for each collection.
- AUETD ((Auburn University Theses and Dissertations)
- The Auburn University Graduate School now requires electronic copies of theses and dissertations. Consequently, the Graduate School has created a database making these works freely available on the World Wide Web and the A. U. Libraries have added a link to this AUETD (Auburn University Electronic Thesis and Dissertation) database under the Articles and Databases link located in the upper left hand side of the A. U. Libraries homepage . The database mainly covers the period from 2004 onward. It is possible to arrange titles by date, department, and author. It is possible to search titles by keyword, title, author, department, major professor, and year. Theses and dissertations are available online but researchers will need to load Adobe Acrobat software to view the documents.
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
- A biographical index to current reference sources and most important retrospective reference sources providing information on over 12,000,000 persons living and dead.
- Biography Reference Bank
- Provides biographical information on approximately 500,000 people, from antiquity to the present, along with images; the full text of the articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books, including all the articles from all volumes of Current Biography, the World Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American Reformers, and numerous biographical books on musicians and composers throughout history; magazine citations (many of which contain full-text) from Biography Index Database after 1984; and book review excerpts from Book Review Digest Plus.
- Books in Print with Reviews
- Over 1,900,000 titles retrievable by title, author, subject, publisher, publication date, ISBN (International Standard Book Number), and more. Includes thousands of full-text book reviews from magazines and journals.
- Britannica Online
- The encyclopedia online.
- Dissertations and Theses
- Formerly known as Digital Dissertations and before that as Dissertation Abstracts International. Citations to U.S. dissertations from 1861 to the present; those since 1980 include an abstract written by the author. Masters theses included 1988-.
- Encyclopedia Americana Online
- The encyclopedia online.
- Ethnic News Watch
- A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press. A broad diversity of perspectives.
- Europa World
- Online version of the annual reference source covering over 250 countries and political entities. EUROPA WORLD provides political and economic information about the government, legislature, finance, trade, industry, and more for each country or entity. Includes statistics and directories.
- Expanded Academic ASAP
- Indexes 1500 periodical titles in a variety of subject areas including History from 1980 onward. Over 500 titles available in full-text.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
- Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of 18 encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research published by Thomson Gale. These works fall under the subjects of Business, the Environment, History, Literature, Medicine, the Nation and the World, Science, and Social Science.
- Funk & Wagnall's New World Encyclopedia
- The encyclopedia online.
- LexisNexis Academic (formerly Academic Universe)
- Access to various databases and full-text resources including newspapers, reference sources, and legal materials.
- LexisNexis Congressional (formerly Congressional Universe)
- A major resource for federal legislative information. Makes available Congressional documents including The Congressional Record, United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and more.
- LexisNexis Statistical (formerly Statistical Universe)
- Abstracts and indexes of statistical information from over 100,000 federal government documents from 1973 onward, state and private sources from 1980 onward, and approximately 2000 documents from international organizations from 1983 onward. Full-text or web links provided for many citations.
- Literature Online
- Described as the "largest collection of literature and literary resources on the web." Full-text access to more than 210,000 documents including English and American poems, plays, and novels. Also includes reference works, bibliographies, and more.
- NetLibrary
- Over 14,000 electronic books in a variety of disciplines including History.
- New York Times 1857-2003
- Offers searchable full-page images and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1857 to 2003.
- New York Times 1980-
- Offers searchable full-page images and article images from the New York Times from its first issue in 1980 to the present.
- NewsBank NewsFile
- Full-text access to selected articles from over 500 American and Canadian newspapers and newswire sources. 1991 onward.
- Newspaper Source
- Full-text access to selected articles from 245 American newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, and 9 columns.
- Oxford Reference Online
- Full-text access to 155 reference titles and Oxford Companions series titles published by Oxford University Press in 19 disciplines, including History and Military History.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective
- The online equivalent to Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, this database covers 1890-1982 and provides comprehensive indexing to most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States.
- Worldcat (OCLC First Search)
- OCLC (Online College Library Catalog) catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.''''
-
Delivery Services
- Ingenta Uncover Plus
- A general database with over 8 million articles from over 18,000 journals in many disciplines from 1988 onward. For Auburn University faculty, staff, and graduate students only.
- KUDZU
- Union catalog for 13 of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries. Also offers fast Interlibrary Loan of books.
- See also the Delivery Services link on the Libraries' homepage for other options.
- Other delivery options include Interlibrary Loan, ALLIES, AUBIExpress, Dissertation Express, Ei Village 2 (formerly CompendexWeb), Campus Delivery Service (Courier), Purchase Xpress, and a listing of Commercial Document Delivery Suppliers.'''''[#top Top of page]
[edit] Journals
[edit] History Journal Subscriptions
History Journal Subscriptions in Paper
The following is a list of History journals to which the Ralph Brown Draughon Library currently subscribes in paper format. All current issues are located in the Current Issues shelves on the second floor unless otherwise noted. Older issues are located at the call number listed next to the title. (Please note: some of these call numbers are located on the Third and Fourth Floor; only the current issues will be located on the Second Floor unless otherwise indicated). Please note that an increasing number of journals are being subscribed to but in only electronic format, so you should consult the list of current electronic History journal titles listed below. If you do not see a particular journal title, be sure to check the A.U. Libraries' online catalog, AUBIEcat, to see if the libraries subscribe to that journal and to see the availability of back issues in any format (print, microform, or electronic).
Journal Title and Location/Call Number
Air Force Magazine [UG 633 .A65] [Fourth Floor]
Air Power History [UG 633 .A1 A515] [Fourth Floor]
Alabama Baptist Historian [BX 6248 .A2 A4] [ Special Collections - Ground Floor]
Alabama Confederate [E 482 .A42] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]
Alabama Folklife: News and Information about Alabama's Traditional Culture [GR 110 .A2 A42][Special Collections - Ground Floor]
Alabama Heritage [F 321 .A158] [Special Collections � Ground Floor]
Alabama Review [F 321 .A2535] [Special Collections � Ground Floor]
Alabama Unforgettable: the Official Vacation Guide for the State of Alabama [F324.3 .A433] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]
Albion [DA 20 .A42]
American Archivist [CD 3020 .A45]
American Heritage [E 171 .A43]
American Historical Review [E 171 .A57]
American Jewish Archives Journal [E 184 .J5 A37]
American Neptune [V 1 .A4] [Fourth Floor]
American Quarterly [E 151 .A54]
American Studies [E 169.1 .M6215]
Americas (Academy of American Franciscan History) [E 11 .A4]
Americas (Organization of American States) [F 1401 .A57]
Annales Historiques de la Revolution Francaise [DC 139 .A62]
Archival Issues: Journal of the Midwest Archives Conference [CD 3054 .M53]
Archivaria [CD 27 .C2 A7]
Archives and Museum Informatics [CD 973 .D3 A72]
Arkansas Historical Quarterly [F 406 .A6]
Birmingham [F 334 .B6 B3][Special Collections - Ground Floor]
Bulletin of Latin American Research [F 1401 .B84]
Butler County Historical and Genealogical Society Quarterly [F 332 .B9 A1][Special Collections - Ground Floor]
Canadian-American Slavic Studies [D 377 .A1 C34]
Canadian Historical Review [F 1001 .C27]
Caribbean Quarterly [F 1601 .C3]
Central European History [DD 1 .C4]
China Quarterly [DS 701 .C472]
Chinese Historical Review [D 1 .C417]
Citizen Airman: the Official Magazine of the Air National Guard and Air Force Reserve [D 301.8:] [ First Floor]
Civil War History [E 461 .C5]
Civil War Times Illustrated [E 461 .C562]
Comparative Studies in Society and History: an International Quarterly [H 31 .C73]
Contributions to Nepalese Studies [DS 493 .C68]
Current History [D 410 .C82] Online only, 2006-
Diplomatic History [E 183.7 .D48] Online only, 2006-
Early American Studies [E 186 .E11]
Eighteenth Century [CB 411 .E33]
Eighteenth-Century Life [HN 1 .E42] Online only, 2007-
English Historical Review [DA 20 .E58] Online only, 2006-
Ethnohistory [E 51 .E8] Online only, 2007-
European History Quarterly [D 1 .E76] Online only, 2006-
Everton's Genealogical Helper [CS 1 .G38][Special Collections - Ground Floor]
Florida Historical Quarterly [F 306 .F65]
Forces [H 3 .F6]
French Historical Studies [DC 1 .F69] Online only, 2007-
French History [DC 1 .F692]
Gender and History [HQ 1101 .G46] Online only, 2006-
Georgia Historical Quarterly [F 281 .G2975]
Himalayan Research Bulletin [DS 485 .H6 H565]
Hispanic American Historical Review [F 1401 .H66]
Historia Mexicana [F 1201 .H5]
Historian [D 1 .H22] Online only, 2006-
Historical Journal [D 1 .H33]
Historical Methods [H 1 .H525]
History [D 1 .H815] Online only, 2006-
History and Theory [D 16.8 .H8173] Online only, 2006-
History News [E 172 .A533]
History Notes (Virginia Historical Society) [F 221 .V7442]
History Today [D 1 .H818]
Humanities in the South [CB 3 .S62]
Illinois Heritage [F 536 .I148]
International History Review [D 1 .I57]
International Review of Social History [HN 1 .I53]
Irish Historical Studies [DA 900 .I63]
Isis [Q 1 .I7] [Fourth Floor]
Japan Echo [DS 801 .J256]
Journal of African History [DT 1 .J65]
Journal of American and Canadian Studies [E 169.1 .J69]
Journal of American History [F 351 .M69]
Journal of American Studies [E 151 .J6]
Journal of Asian and African Studies [DT 1 .J66]
Journal of Asian Studies [DS 501 .F274]
Journal of British Studies [DA 20 .J6]
Journal of Confederate History Series [E 487 .J77]
Journal of Contemporary History [D 410 .J66] Online only, 2006-
Journal of European Economic History [HC 240 .A1 J68]
Journal Of Illinois History [F 536 .J68]
Journal of Interdisciplinary History [D 1 .J59] Online only, 2006-
Journal of Japanese Studies [DS 801 .J7]
Journal of Medieval History [D 1 .J598]
Journal of Military History [E 181 .M55]
Journal of Mississippi History [F 336 .J68]
Journal of Modern History [D 1 .J6]
Journal of Negro History [E 185.5 .J86]
Journal of Policy History [H 97 .J68]
Journal of Psychohistory [HQ 768 .H56]
Journal of Social History [HN 1 .J6]
Journal of Southern History [F 206 .J68]
Journal of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era [E 175 .J68]
Journal of the Society for Army Historical Research [DA 49 .S6]
Journal of the Southwest [F 806 .A69]
Journal of the Early Republic [E 164 .J68]
Journal of the Georgia Association of Historians [D 1 .G63a]
Journal of the Illinois State Historical Society [F 536 .I18]
Journal of the West [F 591 .J65]
Journal of World History: Official Journal of the World History Association [D 1 .J62]
Korea Now [DS 901 .K715]
Kritika: Explorations in Russian and Eurasian History [DK 1 .K75]
Labor History [HD 4802 .L435] Online only, 2007-
Legacy: the Magazine of the Monroe County Heritage Museum [F 332 .M7 M66][Special Collections - Ground Floor]
Louisiana History [F 366 .L6238]
Louisiana History Newsletter [last six months only]
MHQ: the Quarterly Journal of Military History [D 25 .M44]
Magazine of History [D 16.3 .M335]
Massachusetts Historical Review [F 61 .M382]
Mexican Studies=Estudios Mexicanos [F 1225.5 .M49]
Midwest Archives Conference [last six months only]
Mississippi History Newsletter [last six months only]
Montgomery Genealogical Society Quarterly [Special Collections - Ground Floor]
NCGS News [North Carolina Genealogical Society] [F 253 .N8815] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]
NCPH Public History News [last two years only]
Naval History [V 27 .N35]
Negro History Bulletin [E 185.5 .N383]
New England Quarterly: an Historical Review of New England Life and Letters [F 1 .N62]
New York History: Quarterly Journal of the New York State Historical Association [F 116 .N865]
News-letter of the American Antiquarian Society [last six months only]
Nipponia: Discovering Japan [DS 801 .N566]
North Carolina Genealogical Society [F 253 .N882a] [Special Collections - Ground Floor]
North Carolina Historical Review [F 251 .N892]
OAH Newsletter: Organization of American Historians [last three years only]
Oral History [D 16.14 .O7]
Over the Front [D 600 .O85]
Pacific Historical Review [F 851 .P18]
Past & Present [D 1 .P3]
Pea River Trails [F 332 .P37 P4][Special Collections - Ground Floor]
Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography [F 146 .P65]
Proceedings/United States Naval Institute [VA 49 .U5] [Fourth Floor]
Prologue: the Journal of the National Archives [CD 4 .P7]
Public Historian [D 1 .P8]
Publications of the Navy Records Society [DA 70 .A1]
Quebec Studies [F 1051 .Q33]
Radical History Review [HX 1 .R33] Online only, 2007-
Religion and American Culture [BL 65 .C8 R42]
Renaissance and Reformation [CB 361 .R3]
Renaissance Papers [CB 361 .R42]
Renaissance Quarterly [CB 361 .R45]
Reviews in American History [E 151 .R48]
Revista de Historia Economica [HB 9 .R39]
Revue d'Histoire Moderne et Contemporaine [D 1 .R282]
Revue Historique [D 1 .R6]
Riding Line [last two years only]
Russian History [DK 1 .R74]
Russian Review [DK 1 .R82] Online only, 2006-
SAA Bulletin [last two years only]
SGA Newsletter (Society of Georgia Archivists) [CD 3180 .S43]
Scottish Historical Review [DA 750 .S21]
Sea Power [VA 49 .N28] [Fourth Floor]
Sixteenth Century Journal [D 220 .S57]
Slavic Review [D 377 .A1 S64]
Social History [HN 1 .S56] Online only, 2006-
Social Science History [H 1 .S612]
South Carolina Historical Magazine [F 266 .S55]
Southeast Asian Affairs [DS 502 .S76]
Southern Cultures/Sponsored by the Center for the Study of the American South [F 209 .S73]
Southern Exposure [F 206 .S643]
Southern Register: the Newsletter of the Center for the Study of Southern Culture [F 209 .S746]
Southern Studies [F 366 .L935]
Southwestern Historical Quarterly [F 381 .T45]
Soviet and Post-Soviet Review [DK 266 .A2 S753]
Stones and Bones Newsletter [folio F 321 .S82][Special Collections - Ground Floor]
Technology and Culture [T 1 .T29] [Fourth Floor]
Tennessee Historical Quarterly [F 431 .T285]
Transactions of the Royal Historical Society [DA 20 .R9]
Twentieth-Century China [DS 773.83 .T84]
Virginia Magazine of History and Biography [F 221 .V91]
Welsh History Review [DA 700 .W468]
Western Historical Quarterly [F 591 .W464]
Western Journal of Black Studies [E 184.7 .W4]
William and Mary Quarterly [F 221 .W71]
Wisconsin Magazine of History [F 576 .W7]
- Historia Actual Online Published by the Contemporary History Association/Asociacion de Historia Actual. Articles mainly in Spanish or English. Focus is international.
- Quidditas : JRRMA : Journal of the Rocky Mountain Medieval and Renaissance Association 1999-
- Journal of the Rocky Mountain Medieval and Renaissance Association 1980-1997
- ;; ''''
[edit] Electronic History Journal Subscriptions
UNDER CONSTRUCTION:
Electronic History Journal Subscriptions
The following is a list of History journals to which the Ralph Brown Draughon Library currently subscribes in electronic format. This list is derived from History-related journals currently being made available by the A.U. Libraries' subscriptions to electronic databases. This list does not provide information about back issues of journals that may be available in electronic (or print or microform) format. This list is subject to change due to the constantly changing state of publication agreements made between journal publishers and database vendors. If you do not see a particular journal title listed here, be sure to use the library online catalog, AUBIEcat, and search for a journal title to determine its availability and format.
Journals listed by journal title plus name of database(s) providing current electronic coverage.
Databases plus abbreviations: Academic Search Premier (ASP), Expanded Academic ASAP (EAA), Project Muse (PM).
- Acta Archaeologica (ASP)
- Africa: The Journal of the International African Institute (ASP), (PM)
- Africa Today (PM)
- African American Review (ASP)
- African and Asian Studies (ASP)
- African Studies (ASP)
- African Studies Review (PM)
- Afro-Americans in New York Life and History (EAA)
- Air Power History (ASP), (EAA)
- Al-Masaq: Islam and the Medieval Mediterranean (ASP)
- Alabama Review (ASP)
- Alberta History (EAA)
- Aleph: Historical Studies in Science and Judaism (PM)
- AMBIX (ASP)
- American Communist History (ASP)
- American Heritage (ASP)
- American Historical Review (ASP)
- American History (ASP)
- American History Illustrated (ASP)
- American Indian Quarterly (ASP), (PM)
- American Jewish History (PM)
- American Journal of Philology (PM)
- American Nineteenth Century History (ASP)
- American Quarterly (PM)
- American Review of Canadian Studies (ASP)
- American Schools of Oriental Research Newsletter (ASP)
- American Visions (ASP)
- The Americas (PM)
- America's Civil War (ASP)
- Ancient Civilizations from Scythia to Siberia (ASP)
- Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature (ASP)
- Antiquity (ASP)
- Arab Studies Quarterly (ASP)
- Arabian Archaeology and Epigraphy (ASP)
- Arabica (ASP)
- Archaeology (ASP)
- Archaeology in Oceania (ASP)
- Archaeometry (ASP)
- Architectural Heritage (ASP)
- Archive for History of Exact Sciences (ASP)
- Arctic Anthropology (ASP)
- Arizona: Journal of Hispanic Cultural Studies (PM)
- Arkansas Historical Quarterly (ASP)
- Arms and Armour (ASP)
- Art History (ASP)
- Asian Affairs (ASP)
- Asian Folklore Studies (ASP)
- Asian Perspectives ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Asian Studies Review (ASP)
- Atlantic Monthly (ASP)
- ATQ (ASP)
- Australian Historical Studies (ASP)
- Australian Journal of International Affairs (ASP)
- Australian Journal of Politics and History (ASP), (EAA)
- Austrian History Yearbook (ASP)
- Aviation History (ASP)
- Baptist History and Heritage (EAA)
- BC Studies (ASP)
- Beaver (ASP)
- Biography (ASP)
- Biography: An Interdisciplinary Quarterly (ASP)
- BLACFAX (ASP)
- Black History Bulletin (ASP)
- Black Music Research Journal (EAA)
- Black Scholar (ASP)
- Book History (ASP), (PM)
- Borneo Research Bulletin (ASP)
- British Heritage (ASP)
- British Journal for the History of Philosophy (ASP)
- British Journal of Middle Eastern Studies (ASP)
- Bulletin of Latin American Research (ASP)
- Bulletin of Anglo-Israel Archaeological Society (ASP)
- Bulletin of the History of Medicine (PM)
- California History (EAA)
- Canadian Ethnic Studies (ASP)
- Canadian Historical Review (ASP), (PM)
- Canadian Journal of History (ASP), (EAA)
- Canadian Review of American Studies (ASP), (PM)
- Catholic Biblical Quarterly (ASP)
- Catholic Historical Review (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Centaurus (ASP)
- Central Asian Survey (ASP)
- Central European History (Brill) (ASP)
- Centro Journal (ASP)
- China: An International Journal (PM)
- China Journal (ASP)
- China Review International (PM)
- Chinese America: History and Perspectives (ASP), (EAA)
- Chinese American Forum (ASP)
- Chinese Studies in History (ASP)
- Christian History (ASP)
- Christian History and Biography (ASP)
- Church History (ASP), (EAA)
- Civil War History (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Civil War Times (ASP)
- Civil War Times Illustrated (ASP)
- Civil Wars (ASP)
- Classical World (PM)
- Clio (EAA)
- Cold War History (ASP)
- Colonial Latin American Review (ASP)
- Common Knowledge (PM)
- Comparative Strategy (ASP)
- Comparative Studies of South Asia, Africa and the Middle East (PM)
- Congress and the Presidency (ASP)
- Contemporary British History (ASP)
- Contemporary Buddhism (ASP)
- Contemporary Pacific (PM)
- Contemporary Southeast Asia: A Journal of International and Strategic Affairs (ASP), (PM)
- CR: The New Centennial Review (PM)
- Critical Asian Studies (ASP)
- Critique: Critical Middle Eastern Studies (ASP)
- Crosscurrents - Journal of Ancient Music, Pre-history, Archaeology & Origins (& Other Social History & Science Matters) (ASP)
- Cuban Studies (PM)
- Cultural Critique (PM)
- Curtis's Botanical Magazine (ASP)
- Dead Sea Discoveries (ASP)
- Demokratizatsiya (ASP)
- Diaspora: A Journal of Transnational Studies (ASP)
- Diplomacy and Statecraft (ASP)
- Diplomatic History (ASP)
- Dollfuss/Schuschnigg Era in Austria: A Reassessment - Contemporary Austrian Studies (ASP)
- Dutch Review of Church History (ASP)
- Early American Literature (ASP), (EAA)
- Early American Studies (EAA), (PM)
- Early Medieval Europe (ASP)
- Early Modern Literary Studies (EAA)
- Early Science and Medicine (ASP)
- East Asia: An International Quarterly (ASP)
- East European Quarterly (ASP)
- East Texas Historical Journal (ASP)
- Eastern Africa Social Science Research Review (PM)
- Eighteenth Century: Theory and Interpretation (EAA)
- Eighteenth-Century Life (ASP), (PM)
- Eighteenth-Century Studies (PM)
- Eire - Ireland (PM)
- Essays in Medieval Studies (ASP), (PM)
- Ethnohistory (ASP)
- Europe - Asia Studies (ASP)
- European Journal of American Culture (ASP
- European Journal of the History of Economic Thought (ASP)
- European Legacy (ASP)
- European Review of History (ASP)
- Exchange (ASP)
- Family and Community History (ASP)
- Feminist Studies (ASP)
- Food and Foodways: History and Culture of Human Nourishment (ASP)
- Foreign Affairs (ASP)
- Foreign Policy (ASP)
- French Colonial History (PM)
- French Historical Studies (ASP)
- French Politics, Culture, and Society (ASP)
- Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies (ASP), (PM)
- Gender and History (ASP)
- Georgia Historical Quarterly (ASP)
- German History (ASP)
- German Life and Letters (ASP)
- Globalisation, Societies, and Education (ASP)
- Hawaiian Journal of History (ASP)
- Hispanic American Historical Review (ASP)
- Hispanic Review (EAA), (PM)
- Historian (ASP), (EAA)
- Historical Materialism (ASP)
- Historical Methods (ASP), (EAA)
- Historical Research (ASP)
- Historical Studies (EAA)
- History (ASP)
- History and Anthropology (ASP)
- History and Memory (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- History and Philosophy of Logic (ASP)
- History and Technology (ASP)
- History and Theory (ASP)
- History Australia (EAA)
- History in Africa (PM)
- History of Education (ASP)
- History of Science (ASP)
- History Review (ASP), (EAA)
- History: Reviews of New Books (ASP)
- History Teacher (ASP)
- History Today (ASP), (EAA)
- History Workshop Journal (PM)
- Holocaust and Genocide Studies (PM)
- Holy Land Studies: A Multidisciplinary Journal (Edinburgh University Press) (ASP)
- Hypatia (PM)
- Imago Mundi (ASP)
- Indiana Magazine of History (ASP)
- Indonesia and the Malay World (ASP)
- Innes Review (ASP)
- International Affairs (ASP)
- International Journal of African Historical Studies (ASP)
- International Journal of Cultural Policy (ASP)
- International Journal of Francophone Studies (ASP)
- International Journal of Iberian Studies (ASP)
- Interventions: The International Journal of Postcolonial Studies (ASP)
- Iran and the Caucusus (ASP)
- Iranian Studies (ASP)
- Irish Studies Review (ASP)
- Islam and Christian-Muslim Relations (ASP)
- Israel Affairs (ASP)
- Israel Studies (ASP), (PM)
- Italianist (ASP)
- Japan Forum (ASP)
- Japanese Studies (ASP)
- Jewish History (ASP)
- Jewish Quarterly Review (PM)
- Jewish Social Studies (ASP). (PM)
- Journal for Early Modern Cultural Studies (EAA), (PM)
- Journal for the Study of Judaism: In the Persian, Hellenistic, and Roman Period (ASP)
- Journal of African American History (ASP), (EAA)
- Journal of African History (EAA)
- Journal of Agrarian Change (ASP)
- Journal of American Culture (ASP)
- Journal of American Ethnic History (ASP)
- Journal of American History (ASP)
- Journal of Ancient Near Eastern Religions (ASP)
- Journal of Asian American Studies (PM)
- Journal of Canadian Studies (PM), (ASP)
- Journal of Chinese Overseas (PM)
- Journal of Cold War Studies (PM), (ASP)
- Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History (PM)
- Journal of Contemporary African Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Contemporary Asia (ASP)
- Journal of Contemporary China (ASP)
- Journal of Cultural Geography (ASP)
- Journal of Cyprus Studies (EAA)
- Journal of Ecclesiastical History (EAA)
- Journal of European Integration (ASP)
- Journal of Genocide Research (ASP)
- Journal of Iberian and Latin American Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Imperial and Commonwealth History (ASP)
- Journal of Interamerican Studies and World Affairs (ASP)
- Journal of Interdisciplinary History (ASP), (PM)
- Journal of Japanese Studies (PM)
- Journal of Latin American Cultural Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Legal History (ASP)
- Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Mediterranean Archaeology (ASP)
- Journal of Middle East Women's Studies (PM)
- Journal of Military History (ASP), (PM)
- Journal of Modern Greek Studies (PM)
- Journal of Modern Italian Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Modern Jewish Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Muslim Minority Affairs (ASP)
- Journal of Pacific History (ASP)
- Journal of Policy History (ASP), (PM)
- Journal of Popular Culture (ASP)
- Journal of Religious History (ASP)
- Journal of Religious Thought (ASP)
- Journal of Scottish Historical Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Scottish Philosophy (ASP)
- Journal of Social History (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Journal of Southeast European and Black Sea Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Southern African Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Southern Europe and the Balkans (ASP)
- Journal of Southern History (ASP), (EAA)
- Journal of Supreme Court History (ASP)
- Journal of the American Oriental Society (ASP)
- Journal of the Australian War Memorial (EAA)
- Journal of the Early Republic (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Journal of the Economic and Social History of the Orient (ASP)
- Journal of the Historical Society (ASP)
- Journal of the History of Ideas (EAA), (PM)
- Journal of the History of International Law (ASP)
- Journal of the History of Medicine and Allied Sciences (EAA)
- Journal of the History of Sexuality (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Journal of the History of the Behavioral Sciences (ASP)
- Journal of the History of the Neurosciences (ASP)
- Journal of the Royal Australian Historical Society (EAA)
- Journal of the Society of Archivists (ASP)
- Journal of Third World Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Transatlantic Studies (ASP)
- Journal of Transport History (ASP)
- Journal of Urban Technology (ASP)
- Journal of Victorian Culture (ASP), (PM)
- Journal of Women's History (PM)
- Journal of World History (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Journal of World Prehistory (ASP)
- Ka Ho' oilina/The Legacy (EAA)
- Kansas History ( ASP)
- Korean Studies (ASP), (PM)
- Kritika: Explorations in Russian and Eurasian History (PM)
- Labour/Le Travail (EAA)
- Labour History Review (ASP)
- Late Imperial China (PM)
- Latin American Antiquity (ASP)
- Latin American Politics and Society (ASP), (PM)
- Latin American Research Review (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Law and Social Inquiry (ASP)
- Legacies (ASP)
- Legacy: A Journal of American Women Writers (EAA), (PM)
- Legal History Review (ASP)
- Libraries and Culture (ASP)
- Library History (ASP)
- Literature and History (ASP)
- Luso-Brazilian Review (ASP), (PM)
- Manitoba History (ASP), (EAP)
- Mankind Quarterly (ASP)
- Manoa (PM)
- Mark Twain Circular (ASP)
- Massachusetts Review (ASP)
- Mediaeval Studies (ASP)
- Medieval and Renaissance Drama in England (ASP), (EAP)
- Medieval Archaeology (ASP)
- Medieval Encounters (ASP)
- Medieval Sermon Studies (ASP)
- Mediterranean Historical Review (ASP)
- Mediterranean Quarterly (ASP)
- Medium Aevum (ASP), (EAP)
- Melbourne Historical Journal (EAP)
- MELUS (ASP)
- Meridians: Feminism, Race, Transnationalism (EAP)
- Middle Eastern Studies (ASP)
- Midwest Quarterly (ASP)
- Military History (ASP)
- Mission Studies: Journal of the International Association of Mission Studies (ASP)
- Modern Age (ASP)
- Modern and Contemporary France (ASP)
- Modern Italy (ASP)
- Modern Judaism (PM)
- Monumenta Nipponica (PM)
- Muslim World (ASP)
- Mystics Quarterly (ASP)
- NAN NU: Men, Women, and Gender in Early and Imperial China (ASP)
- Nashim: A Journal of Jewish Women's Studies and Gender Issues (EAP)
- National Identities (ASP)
- National Interest (ASP)
- Nationalities Papers (ASP)
- Native Studies Review (ASP)
- Naval History (ASP)
- Naval War College Review (ASP)
- Near Eastern Archaeology (ASP)
- New Hibernia Review (PM)
- New York State Conservationist (ASP)
- News from Native California (ASP)
- Nine: A Journal of Baseball History and Culture (EAA), (PM)
- Nineteenth-Century Contexts (ASP)
- Nineteenth-Century French Studies (EAA)
- North Carolina Historical Review (ASP)
- Northeast African Studies (PM)
- Northern History (ASP)
- Notes (ASP)
- Norwegian Archaeological Review (ASP)
- Numen: International Review for the History of Religions (ASP)
- NWSA Journal (EAA)
- OAH Magazine of History (ASP)
- OAH Newsletter (ASP)
- Ontario History (EAA)
- Oral History Review (EAA)
- Orbis Litterarum (ASP)
- Oregon Historical Quarterly (EAA)
- Oxford Journal of Archaeology (ASP)
- Pacific Review (ASP)
- Paedagogica Historica (ASP)
- Palestine Exploration Quarterly (ASP)
- Parliamentary History (ASP), (PM)
- Past and Present (PM)
- Perspectives on Political Science (ASP)
- Perspectives on Science (ASP)
- Planning Perspectives (ASP)
- Popular Music History (ASP)
- Portuguese Journal of Social Science (ASP)
- Positions: East Asia Cultures Critique (PM)
- Post-Medieval Archaeology (ASP)
- Postcolonial Studies (ASP)
- Postmodern Culture (PM)
- Presidential Studies Quarterly (EAA)
- Progress in Human Geography (ASP)
- Prooftexts: A Journal of Jewish Literary History (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Quaerendo (ASP)
- Quaker Studies (ASP)
- Radical History Review (ASP)
- Reformation and Renaissance Review: Journal of the Society for Reformation Studies (ASP)
- Reinardus (ASP)
- Renaissance Quarterly (ASP)
- Reviews in American History (PM)
- Romance Quarterly (ASP)
- Romani Studies (ASP)
- Romanic Review (ASP)
- Russian Life (ASP)
- Russian Social Science Review (ASP)
- Russian Studies in History (ASP)
- Sabretache (EAA)
- Scandinavian Journal of History (ASP)
- Scandinavian Political Studies (ASP)
- Scandinavian Studies (ASP)
- Scando-Slavica (ASP)
- Science and Society (ASP)
- Science Studies (ASP)
- Scottish Archaeological Jounral (ASP)
- Scottish Economic and Social History (ASP)
- Scottish Historical Review (ASP), (PM)
- Scottish Studies Review (ASP)
- Seventeenth Century (ASP)
- Shakespeare Bulletin (EAA)
- Shakespeare Studies (EAA)
- Shofar: An Interdisciplinary Journal of Jewish Studies (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- SJOT: Scandinavian Journal of the Old Testament (ASP)
- Slavery and Abolition (ASP)
- Slavonica (ASP)
- Slovo (ASP)
- Smithsonian (ASP)
- Social Forces (ASP)
- Social History (ASP)
- Social Research (ASP)
- Social Politics: International Studies in Gender, State nad Society (PM)
- Social Science History (ASP), (PM)
- Social Studies (ASP)
- Sojourn: Journal of Social Issues in Southeast Asia (ASP), (PM)
- South Atlantic Quarterly (ASP)
- Southeastern Archaeology (ASP)
- Southern Cultures (PM)
- Southwestern Historical Quarterly (PM)
- Studies in East European Thought (ASP)
- Studies in Philology (PM)
- Studies in Romanticism (EAA)
- Teaching History: A Journal of Methods (ASP), (EAA)
- Technology and Culture (PM)
- Theatre History Studies (ASP), (EAA)
- Third World Quarterly (ASP)
- Tibet Journal (ASP)
- T'oung Pao: International Journal of Chinese Studies (ASP)
- Transactions of the American Philological Association (ASP), (PM)
- Transformation: Critical Perspectives on Southern Africa (PM)
- Turkish Studies (ASP)
- University of Toronto Quarterly (ASP), (PM)
- Urban Forum (ASP)
- Utilitas (ASP)
- Vetus Testamentum (ASP)
- Victorian Studies (ASP), (EAA), (PM)
- Virginia Magazine of History and Biography (ASP)
- Visual Anthropology (ASP)
- Vivarium (ASP)
- War in History (ASP)
- War, Literature, and the Arts: An International Journal of the Humanities (ASP)
- Welt des Islams (ASP)
- Westminster Theological Journal (ASP)
- White House Studies (EAA)
- Wicazo Sa Review (PM)
- Wilson Quarterly (ASP)
- Women's Studies (ASP)
- World Archaeology (ASP)
- World Policy Journal (ASP)
- World War II (ASP)
[edit] Web Sites
[edit] By Geographic Region
'Latin America
Internet Resources for Latin America A variety of sources relating to numerous aspects of Latin American studies.
Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection Digitized images of more than 5,000 pamphlets owned by Harvard University. Mostly 19th century. The pamphlets cover a variety of topics related to cultural life, boundary disputes, religion, and politics from numerous countries.
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) A comprehensive website on Latin America including numerous History links.
Library of Congress Hispanic Reading Room Digital information on Iberia and Latin America including history.
Library of Congress HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies Online version of the standard reference source published from 1935 onwards. Multidisciplinary. Provides thousands of citations per year to literature relating to Latin American studies.
Online Resources for Cuban and Cuban-American Studies from the Cuban Heritage Collection Several separate collections at the University of Miami of personal papers, music, photographs, and postcards from the 1850's to the present.
Pew Hispanic Center The Pew Hispanic Center at the University of Southern California is a think tank concerned with primarily current/recent policy issues affecting U.S. Latinos.
Slave Trade Archives A joint project of UNESCO and the Slave Trade Archives Project to preserve primary documents concerning the transatlantic slave trade that are housed in the libraries and archives in Benin, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Senegal, Argentina, Barbados, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, and Haiti.
The South Texas Border, 1900-1920: Photographs from the Robert Runyon Collection Includes photographs of participants in the Mexican Revolution (1910-1920).
The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures68 motion pictures produced 1898-1901 of the Spanish-American War and Philippine Revolution. Viewing the films requires downloading video software available on the site.
United States and Brazil: Expanding Frontiers, Comparing Cultures A cooperative project of the Library of Congress and the National Library of Brazil. Covers 18th. century to present. Available in both English and Portuguese.
'Europe
The 1916 Rising: Personalities and Perspectives Digitized primary source documents from the National Library of Ireland relating to the Easter Rising of 1916.
Academic Guide to Jewish History: Major Print & Internet Scholarly Resources
An Gorta Mor: The Great Hunger Archive Digitized minute books of the Killarney Workhouse in County Kerry for 1845-48 and other works relating to the Irish potato famine.
Ancient World Mapping Center Mainly European and Middle Eastern.
Archaeological Resource Guide for Europe: WWW Virtual Library for European Archaeology
Archive of European Integration - AEI A growing collection of working, policy, and conference papers, small monographs, and pre-prints.
BOPCRIS (British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information) British official publications (government documents, etc.) covering 1688-1995. NOTE: many documents not yet available in full-text.
British History Online Most useful for county/local, London, and parliamentary history.
Byzantium: Byzantine Studies on the Internet
The Churchill Papers: A Catalogue Online catalogue to approximately 1,000,000 records associated with Winston Churchill held at the Churchill Archives Centre in Cambridge, England.
Classical Myth: The Ancient Sources Greek.
De Re Militari: The Society for Medieval Military History Includes lists of books, articles, primary sources, book reviews, and links to web sites. Covers Europe and the Middle East.
Early Modern Women Database A portal to more than 200 Web resources on women in early modern Europe and the Americas c. 14th. - 19th. centuries.
Encyclopedia of British History, 1500-1980
Encyclopedia of 1848 Revolutions Brief scholarly essays on topics relating to the European revolutions of 1848.
English Short Title Catalogue Covers monograph and serial letterpress items printed 1473-1800 in mostly Britain and North America, mostly in the English language This is a bibliography, not a full-text database.
EuroDocs Primary historical documents from Western Europe.
EuroInternet: the World Wide Web Virtual Library for European Integration Comprehensive collection of Internet resources for all aspects of European integration.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
First World War.com Summaries, time lines, essays, and primary documents.
France in America=La France en Amerique Bilingual collection of digitized documents relating to the French presence in North America from the 16th. through 19th. centuries. A cooperative project of the Library of Congress and La Bibliotheque Nationale de France.
French Studies Web: Reference Shelf
Gallica Digital library project of the French national library (Bibliotheque Nationale de France). Over 90,000 documents from the Middle Ages through the 19th. Century.
Gathering the Jewels = Casglu'r Tlysau: The Website for Welsh Cultural History Over 20,000 digitized images covering Welsh history from prehistoric times to the present.
[http://www.ihrinfo.ac.uk/cmh/gaz/gazweb2.html Gazetteer of Markets and Fairs in England and Wales to 1516.
Historical Directories Digitized local and trade directories published in England and Wales c. 1750-1919.
Historical Research in Europe Information about European libraries and archives.
History Guide A guide to scholarly Internet and CD-ROM resources in Anglo-American history and Central and Western European history.
History of the United Kingdom: Primary Documents
Imperial War Museum Collections On-Line A digital repository of the Imperial War Museum's (Great Britain) physical collection. Main focus is Great Britain and war in the 20th. century.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
Liberty, Equality, Fraternity Provides overview of major players and proceedings of the French Revolution. Provides over 600 digitized primary sources.
Medieval & Early Modern Studies Subject Guide Produced by University of Florida.
Medieval Studies Guide Produced by Yale University. Many resources including an annotated bibliography.
Meeting of Frontiers Covers exploration and settlement of the West by the United States and the Russian experience in Siberia, the Far East, and Alaska.
The National Archives of England, Wales and the United Kingdom The National Archives were created in 2003 by combining the Public Records Office and the Historical Manuscripts Commission. This web site is a catalog of more than 9 million records housed in the National Archives.
naval-history.net Naval history, mainly British, focusing on World War I, World II, and the Falklands War.
Nazi and East German Propaganda Guide Page
NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
New France, New HorizonsImages and documents covering the 400-year history of the French presence in North America. (The viewer can select either English or French language options).
The Nizkor Project Documentation of the Holocaust.
Official DocumentsLink to the Stationery Office, the publisher of most British government documents. Citations to documents published 1994 onward. NOTE: some major government documents such as Acts of Parliament not included here.
The ORB - Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
The Perseus Digital Library An evolving digital library on ancient Greece.
The Prehistoric Archaeology of the Aegean
The Proceedings of the Old Bailey, London, 1674-1834 Digitized proceedings of over 100,000 trials in London's main criminal court.
REESWeb: Russian and East European Studies
Royal Historical Society Bibliography An authoritative guide to what has been written about British and Irish history from the Roman period to the present day. The Bibliography is hosted by the Institute of Historical Research, which is part of the University of London. Over 440,000 entries. Updated three times a year.
Russian and East European Network Information Center (REENIC)
The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures68 motion pictures produced 1898-1901 of the Spanish-American War and Philippine Revolution. Viewing the films requires downloading video software available on the site.
Tennessee Bob's Famous French Links Despite the name, a site useful to scholars of French and Francophone studies. Includes links to sites concerning the history of France and the French-speaking world.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Uniting the Kingdoms? An exhibit sponsored by the United Kingdom National Archives concerning the British Isles and France, c. 1066-1603.
Victorian Studies on the Web Covers all aspects of British Victorian studies.
Victorian Web Information about 19th-century Britain.
WESSWEB: Western European Specialists Section Created by the Association of College and Research Libraries. Regional and historical information about Western Europe.
The World War I Document Archive Digitized primary material including diplomatic correspondence and treaties, military records, and more.
WWW Virtual Library: West European Studies
Yad Vashem: The Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Authority
Africa
16th.-20th. Century Maps of Africa Digitized maps of Africa collected by the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies at Northwestern University.
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent Multimedia materials concerning African history and culture. Sound files are mainly from West Africa.
Research Central Online guide to primary resources and repositories.
AfricaBib.org Bibliographical databases: Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database and African Women's Database. Also Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).
African Studies Center Web site produced by the African Studies Department at the University of Pennsylvania. Links to news sources, a multimedia library, and Web links.
The African Studies Companion: A Guide to Information Sources Covers print and electronic resources, databases, and repositories in the field of African Studies.
African Studies Internet Resources
Africaresource.com Includes data resources on Africa and the Diaspora and scholarly essays.
Afrique Francophone Interdisciplinary site in French.
Digital Egypt for Universities Basic information on and images of Ancient Egypt.
Slave Trade Archives A joint project of UNESCO and the Slave Trade Archives Project to preserve primary documents concerning the transatlantic slave trade that are housed in the libraries and archives in Benin, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Senegal, Argentina, Barbados, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, and Haiti.
Middle East'
Academic Guide to Jewish History: Major Print & Internet Scholarly Resources
Ancient World Mapping Center Mainly European and Middle Eastern.
Arab Culture and Civilization A project of the Natiional Institute for Technology and Liberal Education. This site is also known as the NITLE Arab World Project.
Arab-Islamic HistoryLinks to full-text articles and book chapters covering 12 centuries of Arabic and Islamic history.
ArabNet: the Online Resource for the Arab World in the Middle East & North America Mostly news, business, and cultural information rather than history.
ArmenianHouse.orgFull-text collection of documents and books related to Armenian history and literature.
CDLI: Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative Open-access digital archive of all known cuneiform tablets from ancient Mesopotamia dating between 3350 B.C. and 100 A.D. More than 200,000 tablets have been cataloged so far.
De Re Militari: The Society for Medieval Military History Includes lists of books, articles, primary sources, book reviews, and links to web sites. Covers Europe and the Middle East.
Digital Egypt for Universities Basic information on and images of Ancient Egypt.
Distinguished People in Arab HistoryLinks to biographical articles.
Eternal Egypt From the predynastic era to the present. Produced by the Egyptian Center for Documentation of Cultural and Natural Heritage.
The Gertrude Bell Project Digitized collection of correspondence, diaries, and photographs of Gertrude Bell (1868-1926), an English world traveler who focussed much of her attention on the Middle East.
Government Views of Iraq Mostly U.S. federal government documents available online concerning Iraq including history.
History in the News: Middle East History, Society, and Culture Resources
Internet Islamic History Sourcebook
Introduction to the Arab WorldComprehensive introduction to general Arab history. Site a product of Middle East News and World Report.
Iraq: The Cradle of Civilization at Risk: Cultural Heritage and Historical Monuments
MENIC: The Middle East Network Information Center Online directory of Middle East Internet sites arranged by 10 broad categories. (History is located under "Arts and Humanities").
The Middle East, 1916-2001: A Documentary Record Information about the Middle East through government documents, transcripts of government leaders' speeches, and UN resolutions. Part of the Avalon Project at the Yale Law School.
Middle East and Jewish Studies Electronic bibliographic and research resources concerning Middle East and Jewish studies.
The Middle East North Africa Internet Resource Guide Electronic resources covering the "Middle East" defined as 30 states and regions from Mauritania to Pakistan.
MuslimHeritage.com Articles and article summaries about Muslim culture and history.
POxy: Oxyrhynchus OnlineOnline guide to this ancient Egyptian city and the papyri found there.
Theban Mapping ProjectDocumentation of Valley of the Kings and Theban necropolis of Ancient Egypt.
Asia, Australia, and the Pacific
Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
The Atomic Bomb and the End of World War II: A Collection of Primary Sources From the National Security Archive at Gelman Library, George Washington University.
Australian History: Selected Websites A product of the National Library of Australia. A comprehensive list of assessed subject web sites.
Bibliography of East Timor Online bibliography of scholarly books and articles on East Timor society and history.
Cambodia Genocide Program Links to newspaper, journal articles, photos, and databases covering the events of 1975-79.
Central Eurasian Studies Worldwide Sponsored by the Harvard Program on Central Asia and the Caucasus.
Dictionary of New Zealand Biography
Digital South Asia Library Access to journal articles, statistics, maps and photographs, dictionaries, 19th.-century reference books, and more.
East & Southeast Asia: an Annotated Directory of Internet Resources
Korea: The Unfinished War Source materials relating to the Korean War.
Korean American Digital Archive A virtual library concerning the Korean American community c. 1903-1965.
Meeting of Frontiers Covers exploration and settlement of the West by the United States and Russia's experience in Siberia, the Far East, and Alaska.
The Mongols in World History Online curriculum materials including some primary sources.
National Library of Australia Indonesia Site Bibliographies, library resources, and Internet sites on Indonesian studies.
National University of Singapore Digital Library Original documents and bibliographies.
NativeWeb Resources for indigenous peoples worldwide, some relating to history.
Pacific Studies WWW Virtual Library A directory of links to Web sites, bibliographies, and discussion lists mostly about the Pacific Islands.
PAIR: Portal to Asian Internet Resources Provides access to more than 6000 resources in a variety of disciplines including History.
Research Site on Indonesia, Southeast Asia, the Islamic World, and American Society
The Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures68 motion pictures produced 1898-1901 of the Spanish-American War and Philippine Revolution. Viewing the films requires downloading video software available on the site.
Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand
Te Puna Web Directory: A Directory to New Zealand & Pacific Island Web Sites
Tibetan & Himalayan Digital Library Wide variety of resources and wide variety of subjects including history.
The Vietnam Project, Texas Tech University Scholarship of the American experience in Vietnam plus materials on the Vietnamese revolution and war.
Vietnam War Bibliography Annotated. Covers books, articles, microforms, and government documents 1946-75.
Virtual Vietnam Archive Digitization of all non-copyrighted material at Texas Tech University's Vietnam Archive.
A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization Provides a history of Chinese civilization via images rather than text. Appropriate for K-12 plus undergraduate students.
The Wars for Viet Nam: 1945 to 1975 Brief narrative history of the Viet Nam War plus links to primary documents and to related websites.
International
Academic Guide to Jewish History: Major Print & Internet Scholarly Resources
American Geographical Society Library Digital Map Collection
The Avalon Project at the Yale Law School Reproduces important documents in law, history, and diplomacy from the Code of Hammurabi through the present.
Best of History Web Sites Online directory to over 700 History web sites covering everything from Prehistory to the Twentieth Century.
The Biographical Dictionary Entries for over 28,000 "notable men and women who have shaped our world from ancient times to the present day."
Biography.com A product of Arts and Entertainment television network. Includes The Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia (1994).
Center for History and New Media Gateway to academic directories, journal articles, databases, and more with information on the use of electronic media within the discipline of history.
Chief George Manuel Memorial Library and the Fourth World Documentation Archive Full-text access to social, political, economic, and political rights documents pertaining to the Fourth World ("nations forcefully incorporated into states which maintain a distinct political culture but are internationally unrecognized").
The Cold War International History Project Online access to government documents and archival materials from the former Communist bloc countries as well as from the West.
Computerhistory.org Web site of the Computer History Museum (located in Mountain View, Calif.)
Constitution Finder Provides a listing of and the text of constitutions, charters, amendments, and related documents for 211 governmental entities worldwide (as of 2007).
Country Studies Online version of the standard federal government-produced series providing detailed information about the politics, anthropology, history, religion, economics, and more about countries throughout the world.
David Rumsey Map Collection Digitized images of mainly nineteenth-century American atlases and school geographies.
Digital History: A Guide to Gathering, Preserving, and Presenting the Past on the Web
Diotima: Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World
E.H.Net Encyclopedia of Economic and Business HistoryA product of the Economic History Association. Mostly, but not entirely, focusses on the United States.
Exploring Ancient World Cultures: An Introduction to Ancient World Cultures on the World Wide Web