Geology

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents



First and foremost: to find library resources (books and journals) you must search the title (or journal title) in the library catalog. The record in the catalog will include links for electronic access and a call number for print sources.



[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your Auburn user ID (i.e., the first part of your email address), and your password.

[edit] Geology

GEOREF
1785- (for North America), 1933- (for rest of the world)
The main database for international geology and geophysics. Indexes worldwide geoscience journal articles, books, conferences and reports.
Georef's own web site has a Preview database of recent references to be added to Georef and information about the database, search aids, a journals list.


[edit] Broad, Sweeping Coverage

Google Scholar Searching Google Scholar in the Advanced Search mode has become the preferred method of searching for articles and books in many disciplines. Sometimes our full-text journals can be linked directly from Google Scholar (such as the Science Direct journals) and other times you'll need to search the journal title, or book title, in our catalog to gain electronic (or paper) access.


[edit] Environmental Geology and Water Resources

ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality
and Water Resources Abstracts
(subfiles under Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management)

[edit] Palaeontology

Zoological Record 1978-present

Biological Abstracts 1969-present

[edit] Mineralogy, Petrology, Geochemistry

SciFinder Scholar / Chemical Abstracts
Covers a broad spectrum of the chemical, biochemical and chemical engineering literature since 1907, including journals, patents, conferences, books, and dissertations. See the SciFinder Scholar Info Page to download software needed to run this database. Off-campus use requires a VPN connection. Only available to Auburn University students, faculty and staff.

[edit] Mining, Energy and Petroleum, Engineering geology

Engineering Village 2 Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings. 1970 - Present

Environmental Engineering Abstracts (subfile under Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management)

[edit] Geophysics

INSPEC Abstracts for journals and conference proceedings in physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computer science, and information technology since 1968.

[edit] General Science

Web of Science (Including Science Citation Index) Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.


[edit] Dissertations

Dissertations and Theses Citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 through present. Full text Auburn University dissertations and theses going back to the 1990's through present.

AUETD (Auburn University Theses and Dissertations Full text of Auburn University dissertations and theses from 2006 through present.

[edit] Books

Books owned by Auburn University Libraries can be discovered by searching our catalog.

WorldCat OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Use this database to verify book citations, government and agency reports not owned by our library.


[edit] Subject Profile Book Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
GB 401 - GB 648 Geomorphology
GB 855 - GB 879 Natural Waters Chemistry
GB 1001 - GB 1975 Hydrology
QB 591 - QB 701 Moon and Planets - Physical Conditions
QC 801 - 809 Geophysics, Cosmic Physics
QC 811 - 849 Geomagnetism
QD 79 .S4 Sedimentation Analysis
QD 117 Sedimentation Analysis
QE Geology
QE 70 - 350 Regional Geology
QE 351 - 399 Mineralogy
QE 420 - 499 Petrology
QE 500 - 625 Dynamic and Structural Geology
QE 640 - 700 Stratigraphy
QE 701 - 760 Paleontology
QE 761 - 899 Paleozoology
QE 901 - 996 Paleobotany
SB 482 National Parks
TA 654.6 Earthquake Forces
TA 705 Engineering Geology
TD 403 Groundwater
TN 260 Economic or Applied Geology and Mineralogy
TN 263 - TN 271 Mineral Deposits. Metallic Ore Deposits. Prospecting


[edit] Geology Journals

[edit] List of Geology Journals at Auburn University Libraries

[edit] E-mailing scanned journal articles and book chapters to you

Electronic and Departmental Delivery Have articles and book chapters delivered to you electronically from materials located in the AU Libraries. This service is not for materials we have electronic access to. Articles & chapters must be under 50 pages and held in print format only for scanning. We will also deliver books to your office on campus.


[edit] Access to Journals not owned by our library

Ingenta A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows full-text PDF access and faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Subsidized document delivery up to $46.00 per article. Document Delivery Ariel address: 131.204.73.106. If our library doesn't subscribe to a journal, try searching the Ingenta database.


Journal Abbreviation Assistance

When your journal title is abbreviated, you will need to decipher the abbreviation in order to search the journal title in AUBIECat. These online sources will frequently translate the journal abbreviation into a full journal title.

WorldCat

JAKE



[edit] Web Sites

[edit] Publisher Search Engines

Major publishers offer search engines or databases which allow searches by keyword of the full text of their articles so may be useful for very specific topics. Such search engines are restricted to that publisher's journals. Always search as well standard databases such as Georef, which include a wider range of publishers' journals, different types of material and extra index terms.

ScienceDirect, Elsevier
Synergy, Blackwell Science
Wiley interscience
SpringerLink
Geological Society of America

[edit] Associations and Societies

American Geological Institute

Amercian Geophysical Union

American Association of Petroleum Geologists

American Water Works Association

Earthquake Engineering Research Institute

Environmental Protection Agency

Geological Society of America

Geological Society of London

Geosynthetics Society

Gulf Coast Association of Geological Societies

International Assocation of Sedimentologists

Mineralogical Society of America

Paleontological Research Institution

Society for Sedimentary Geology

US Geological Survey


Other Stuff

National Geophysical Data Center The NGDC contains comprehensive databases in geology, glaciology, meteorology and geophysics Links to geology, geophysics, soil science, and GIS

UC-Berkeley's Museum of Paleontology Offers online exhibits and links to other resources


[edit] Reference Tools

[edit] Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

A to Z of earth scientists/ Alexander E. Gates Publication Information: New York : Facts on File, c2002.
Series: Notable scientists
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 21 .G38 2002

A dictionary of earth sciences / edited by Ailsa Allaby and Michael Allaby.
Publication Information: Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1999.
2nd ed.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 5 .D54 1999

Dictionary of geotechnics / S.H. Somerville, M.A. Paul.
Publication Information: London ; Boston : Butterworths, 1983.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 601 .S65 1983

Dictionary of rocks / Richard Scott Mitchell.
Publication Information: New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1985.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 423 .M58 1985

Elsevier’s dictionary of geosciences. Russian-English / compiled by K.P. Bhatnagar ; edited by S.K. Bhattacharya.
Publication Information: Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, c1991.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 5 .B46 1991

Encyclopedia of earthquakes and volcanoes/ David Ritchie and Alexander E. Gates.
Publication Information: New York : Facts on File, c2001.
Series: Facts on File science library
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 521 .R58 2001

Encyclopedia of earth science/ Timothy Kusky.
Publication Information: New York : Facts on File, c2005.
Series: Facts on File science library
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 5 .K85 2005

Encyclopedia of earth system science / edited by William A. Nierenberg.
Publication Information: San Diego : Academic Press, c1992.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 5 .E514 1992
Available: v.1-4

Encyclopedia of environmental information sources / edited by Sarojini Balachandran.
Publication Information: Detroit : Gale Research, 1993.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: TD 170 .E53 1993

The Encyclopedia of field and general geology/ edited by Charles W. Finkl.
Publication Information: New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1988.
Series: Encyclopedia of earth sciences ; v. 14
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 5 .E515 1988

Encyclopedia of geochemistry/ edited by C.P. Marshall and R.W. Fairbridge.
Publication Information: Dordrecht ; Boston : Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1998.
Series: Encyclopedia of earth sciences.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 515 .E48 1998

Encyclopedia of minerals / Willard Lincoln Roberts, George Robert Rapp, Jr., Thomas J. Campbell ; photo editor, Wendell E. Wilson.
Publication Information: New York : Van Nostrand Reinhold, c1990.
2nd ed.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 355 .R6 1990

The Encyclopedia of paleontology / edited by Rhodes W. Fairbridge, David Jablonski.
Publication Information: Stroudsburg, Pa. : Dowden, Hutchinson & Ross ; [New York] : distributed by Acamdemic Press, c1979.
Series: Encyclopedia of earth sciences ; v. 7
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 703 .E52

Encyclopedia of sediments & sedimentary rocks / edited by Gerard V. Middleton, with associate editors, Michael J. Church ... [et al.].
Publication Information: Dordrecht ; Boston : Kluwer Academic Publishers, c2003.
Series: Kluwer Academic encyclopedia of earth sciences series
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 471.2 .E53 2003

The Facts on File dictionary of earth science/ edited by John O.E. Clark and Stella Stiegeler.
Publication Information: New York : Facts on File, c2000.
Series: Facts on File science library
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 5 .F318 2000

Glossary of geology / Robert L. Bates and Julia A. Jackson, editors.
Publication Information: Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute, c1987.
3rd ed.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 5 .B38 1987

A guide to fossils/ Helmut Mayr ; translated by D. Dinaley, G. Windsor.
Publication Information: Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c1992.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 711.2 .M3913 1992

McGraw-Hill dictionary of geology and mineralogy/ Sybil P. Parker, editor in chief.
Publication Information: New York : McGraw-Hill, c1997.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 5 .M3654 1997

Sciences of the earth : an encyclopedia of events, people, and phenomena/ edited by Gregory A. Good.
Publication Information: New York : Garland Pub., 1998.
Series: Garland encyclopedias in the history of science ; vol. 3
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 11 .S38 1998
Available: v.1-2


[edit] Handbooks and General Reference Books

Geochemical reference material compositions : rocks, minerals, sediments, soils, carbonates, refractories & ores used in research & industry/ P.J. Potts, A.G. Tindle, and P.C. Webb.
Publication Information: Latheronwheel, Caithness, U.K. : Whittles Pub. ; Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c1992.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 438 .P67 1992

Handbook of physical properties of rocks / editor, Robert S. Carmichael.
Publication Information: Boca Raton, Fla. : CRC Press, c1982-
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (2nd Floor) - Reference Collection
Call Number: QE 431.6 .P5 H36 1982
Available: v.1-3

Treatise on geochemistry / executive editors, H.D. Holland and K.K. Turekian. Publication Information: Amsterdam ; Oxford, UK ; San Diego, CA, USA : Elsevier Pergamon, 2004 [i.e. 2003]
Description: 10 v.
Library: Auburn University Libraries
Location: Auburn RBD Library (4th Floor)
Call Number: QE 515 .T69 2003


[edit] Guidebooks

Geologic Guidebooks of North America - provided by the American Geological Institute and the Geoscience Information Society.


[edit] Department of Geology and Geography at Auburn University