GEOG 5350 Economic Geography

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents


Contact for Help

Amia Baker

Business Librarian

Auburn University Library

alb0004@auburn.edu[1]

334-844-8268

[edit] Industry Information

NAICS- North American Industrial Classification System U.S. Government Resource
Find the 4-6 digit numeric code used to describe the industry you are studying.


U.S. Economic Census U.S. Government Resource
Use the NAICS code in the Industry Sampler box to find out which states have the most companies in that industry.


Business & Company Resource Center Auburn Libraries Resource
The database provides information on companies and industries. Use the industry search feature. Search using the NAICS code you found. (More info)


[edit] Company Information

Hoover's Online Auburn Libraries Resource
Provides basic to in-depth company information. Use the Build a List feature to create a list of companies in the industry you've chosen. You can also limit to companies in a specific industry in a particular geographic location. (More info)


ReferenceUSA Auburn Libraries Resource
Search for businesses and get brief company information. Use the Custom Search feature. Includes Lat./Long. information for each company. Allows you to do a Radius Search for companies located within .5 miles to 150 miles. (More info)


[edit] Business Publications

Business Source Premier Auburn Libraries Resource
Search business articles from journals, magazines, trade publications and newspapers. (More info)


[edit] Economic Resources

American Factfinder U.S. Government Resource
Find demographic and industry information for any U.S. city/town, county or zip.


Social Explorer Auburn Libraries Resource
With Social Explorer you can make maps and reports, visually analyze, explore and understand the current and historical demography of the United States. Data goes back to 1940 and can be viewed in map or table form and can be downloaded.


National Atlas.gov U.S. Government Resource
Create and download your own maps with different layers of variables. Includes transportation information for the U.S.


Oxford Atlas of the United States
ATLAS STAND in REFERENCE 2nd Floor G1105 A8 2005
Lots of specialized maps, including manufacturing for the U.S.


Complete Economic and Demographic Data Source (CEDDS 2008)
REFERENCE BOOK HC 101 C616 V. 1-8
Historical data as well as projections to the year 2040 for every state, county and MSA in the U.S. Includes population, race, gender, employment in industries, personal income, number of households.


U.S. Department of Commerce. Economic Development Administration. U.S. Government Resource
Lots of links to State and Local Economic Development sites.


Economic Development Directory Free Internet Resource
Lists links to Economic Development Agencies in the U.S. and Worldwide.


U.S. Chamber of Commerce- Directory Free Internet Resource
Lists links to the Chamber of Commerce in U.S. Cities, towns and regions.


[edit] International Sources

CIA World Factbook U.S. Government Resource
Good place to start investigating other countries. Gives an overview of population, geography, economy, government, transportation, communications, military, and transnational issues.


Oxford Atlas of the World
ATLAS STAND in REFERENCE 2nd Floor G1021 .A7545 2003
Lots of specialized maps, including manufacturing for the World.


Export.gov U.S. Government Resource
Recommend the Market Research Library. Will need a username and password to use. Free to use. Be sure to look at the Country Commercial Guide for a country.


Country Reports (via Business Source Premier) Auburn Libraries Resource
Includes Country Commerce, Country Profiles and Country Reports from Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) and Business Monitor International (BMI). Reports include analysis of current trends and some forecasts. Includes statistics. (More info)