Foreign Languages and Literature
From SubjectGuides
|
Contact me for questions about research:
|
[edit] Reference Tools
Gran Enciclopedia Rialp : GER
AE61 .G7 1981 (2nd floor)
General Spanish language encyclopedia
Grand Dictionnaire Encyclopedique Larousse
AE 25 .G63 1982 (2nd floor)
General French language encyclopedia
Enciclopedia italiana di scienze, lettere ed arti ...
AE 35 .E5 (2nd floor)
General Italian language encyclopedia
Meyers grosses Taschenlexikon
AE 27 .M64 1983 (2nd floor)
General German language encyclopedia
MLA Directory of Periodicals
http://www.lib.auburn.edu/MLAP
contains all information available on the journals and series on the bibliography's Master List of Periodicals. Over 7,100 titles are included; of these, over 4,400 are currently indexed. The directory also provides statistics on how many articles and book reviews the periodicals publish each year, as well as how many are submitted.
Dictionnaire de Biographie Francaise
CT 143 .D5 (2nd floor)
Multi-volume biographical dictionary of important French personnages
[edit] Library of Congress Call Letters
PC 1-5498 Romance Languages (3rd floor)
PC 1001-1977 Italian Language
PC 2001-3761 French Language
PC 4001-4977 Spanish Language
PC 5001-5498 Portuguese Language
PF 3001-5999 German Language (3rd floor)
PG 2001-3987 Russian Language and Literature(3rd floor)
PJ 4501-5192 Hebrew Language and Literature(3rd floor)
PJ 6001-8517 Arabic Language and Literature(3rd floor)
PL 1-3207 East Asian Languages and Literature(3rd floor)
PL 501-889 Japanese Language and Literature
PL 1001-3207 Chinese Language and Literature
PQ 1-9999 Romance Literatures(3rd floor)
PQ 1-3999 French Literature
PQ 4001-5999 Italian Literature
PQ 6001-8929 Spanish Literature
PQ 9000-9999 Portuguese Literature
PT 1-4897 German Literature(3rd floor)
[edit] Indexes and Databases
[edit] Subject
MLA Bibliography
http://www.lib.auburn.edu/MLAB
A bibliography listing books as well as articles in journals and books in the modern languages and literatures.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
A bibliography listing books and articles relating to Latin America in the social sciences and humanities.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
An index to journal articles that offers citation references for each article as well as author affiliation. Includes book reviews.
Ethnic News Watch
http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ETHNICW
A full-text index to newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Available in either English or Spanish.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with in-depth coverage spanning more than twenty-five years, from 1970 to the present. Now containing more than 210,000 citations, HAPI Online grows at the rate of about 8,000 records a year. Covers all subject areas. Includes book reviews.
The ARTFL Project
http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ARTFL/
Nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions.
Klapp. Bibliographie der franzosischen literaturwissenschaft
PQ 3 .B53 (3rd floor)
A comprehensive bibliography for French literary scholarship.
Eppelsheimer. Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
Z 2232 .B5 (4th floor)
A comprehensive bibliography for German literary scholarship.
[edit] General
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Academic Search Premier, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,176 journals in the collection.
Academic OneFile (INFOTRAC)
http://www.lib.auburn.edu/searchbank
Balanced coverage is available through 3,500 indexed and 1,900 full-text titles in a wide variety of disciplines including: social science journals, humanities journals, science and technology journals, national news periodicals, general interest magazines, newswires, The New York Times and many others. More than 1,400 journals are peer reviewed, and more than 20 years of backfile coverage are included. 1980 – Present
WorldCat
http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/WebZ/
An index to books and other works catalogued by OCLC member libraries. Useful for identifying sources not held by AU Libraries.
[edit] Periodicals and Newspapers
French Periodicals (available in the library)
http://www.lib.auburn.edu/hum/humweb/frenchp.htm
German Periodicals (available in the library)
http://www.lib.auburn.edu/hum/humweb/germanp.htm
Spanish Periodicals (available in the library)
http://www.lib.auburn.edu/hum/humweb/spanishp.htm
Selected Newspapers on the Web accessed by country of publication
http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/
[edit] Web Sites
Western European Specialists Section: A comprehensive, general directory of web resources for Western European languages and literatures.
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/wess/index.html
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center: A directory with links to many areas of Latin American studies.
REESWEB: Russian and East European Studies Internet Resources.
http://www.ucis.pitt.edu/crees/
UVa E-Text Center.: Short lists of world masterpieces in the original languages, some in English translations.
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/
Perseus Digital Library: Perseus is an evolving digital library, engineering interactions through time, space, and language. Contains original Greek and Latin classics and much more. A digital gift from Tufts University.
[edit] Research Guides
Spanish Guides
Finding Articles on Literary Criticism
http://www.lib.auburn.edu/hum/humweb/spanisharticles.pdf
Finding Books on Literary Criticism
http://www.lib.auburn.edu/hum/humweb/spanishcritbooks.pdf
[edit] Associations and Societies
Modern Language Association
The major professional association for foreign languages and literatures
If you have any comments about this information page,
please contact: Jim Gravois
Last updated on December 4, 2007. Copyright ©2000
Return to AU Library Home https://www.lib.auburn.edu/ .
Auburn University Libraries • 231 Mell Street • Auburn University, AL 36849
Phone: (334) 844-4500 or 800-446-0387
