EndNote

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search

Contents


Sign up for an EndNote class taught at the RBD Library

[edit] To use EndNote for the first time

  1. Open EndNote and choose Create a new EndNote library.
  2. Name the new file and save.
  3. Important: If you might publish in journals that use journal title abbreviations, then create a journal term list now!

[edit] Journal Term Lists

Some journals require the use of journal abbreviations in references. If you might ever need to use a citation style that requires journal abbreviations, then before adding any references to a new EndNote file, import a journal term list.

  1. Go to the University of Queensland's website Journal Title Abbreviations & EndNote to download one of the journal term lists. You can also use the more direct links from Step 2.
  2. Click on the link for the journal term list for chemistry, biosciences, or medicine. It is recommended that you download only one of the lists -- whichever one best fits your research. Why? Because there is some incompatible overlap.
  3. Save the web page as a text file.
  4. In EndNote, under Tools select Define Term Lists.
  5. Go to the Lists tab, choose Journals, then Import List.
  6. Select the journal term list text file you saved in step 3 and click Open.

It is recommended that you disable automatic updating of journal terms when downloading references from databases.

  • Edit --> Preferences --> Highlight Term Lists in the left-hand frame --> Uncheck the options "Update lists when importing or pasting references" and "Update lists during data entry".
  • Why? Click here for a detailed explanation from the University of Queensland

[edit] Four ways to add references to EndNote

[edit] Manual entry

  1. Click References (screen top) and select New References.
  2. Select the Reference Type from the pull-down menu (Journal Article, Book, etc.).
  3. Fill in the fields such as author, year, title, etc. For multiple authors, press Enter after each author.
  4. Use the Tab key to move from one field to the next.
  5. When done entering entering data into fields, close the reference by clicking the x button (screen top right). Yes, you close to save.

[edit] Export references directly from databases

Many commercial databases export references directly into EndNote. If the import filter in your EndNote program does not work well (or is missing), look for the newest Import Filters. http://www.endnote.com/support/enfilters.asp

OVID Databases
Agricola, Biological Abstracts, CAB Abstracts, Current Contents, ERIC, Inspec, International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, Journals@OVID, and Medline
  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Go to the Results Manager (screen bottom).
  3. Choose Complete Reference under Fields (instead of Citation + Abstract).
  4. Select Direct Export under Result Format.
  5. If using IE, click Save. If using FireFox, click Save and then Open with EndNote.exe.
  6. Select the EndNote file where you want the references exported and click Open.
  7. References will be directly exported from the database into the EndNote library.
  8. To view all references, under References choose Show All References.
EBSCO Databases
Academic Search Premier, America: History & Life, Art Abstracts, Business Source Premier, CINAHL, Clinical Pharmacology, Communication & Mass Media Complete, Econlit, ERIC, Health Source, Historical Abstracts, Mental Measurements Yearbook, Military & Government Collection, Music Index, Newspaper Source, Philosopher's Index, Professional Development Collection, PsycARTICLES, PsycINFO, Regional Business News, SPORTSDiscus, Textile Technology Index, and Vocational and Career Collection.
  1. Select references with the Add to folder button (below each reference).
  2. Click Folder (screen top).
  3. Click Export. This is the "page" icon that has a green arrow.
  4. Select Direct Export to EndNote, ProCite, or Reference Manager.
  5. If using IE, click Save. If using Firefox, click Save and then Open with EndNote.exe.
  6. Select the EndNote file where you want the references exported and click Open.
  7. References will be directly exported from the database into the EndNote library.
  8. To view all references, under References choose Show All References.
ABI/Inform (ProQuest)
  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Go to the MyResearch tab (screen top, right)
  3. Click Export Citations into EndNote, ProCite, RefWorks or Reference Manage.
  4. Click Export Directly to ProCite, EndNote or Reference Manager.
  5. Select the EndNote file where you want references exported and click Open.
  6. To view all of your references, under References choose Show All References.
Engineering Village
  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Under Choose Format select Detailed Record (screen top or screen bottom).
  3. Click Download button (screen top or screen bottom).
  4. Select RIS, EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager. Click Download.
  5. Click Open and select the EndNote file where you want references exported. Open.
  6. To view all of your references, under References choose Show All References.
Google Scholar
  1. First, change your Scholar Preferences. Under Bibliography Manager select Show links to import citations into and choose EndNote. Save your preferences.
  2. Search Google Scholar. To transfer a reference to EndNote, click on Import into EndNote.
  3. Select the EndNote file where you want references exported and click Open.
  4. To view all of your references, under References choose Show All References.
IEEE Xplore
  1. Select the references you want.
  2. Click on View Selected Items.
  3. Choose Citation + Abstract. Under the pull down menu change ASCII text to EndNote, Procite, Reference Manager.
  4. Click the download arrow (right of pull down menu).
  5. Select the EndNote file where you want references exported and click Open.
  6. To view all of your references, under References choose Show All References.
JSTOR
  1. When you find a reference you want, click on Export this Citation.
  2. Click on EndNote.
  3. If asked, click Open.
  4. Select the EndNote file where you want references exported and click Open.
  5. To view all of your references, under References choose Show All References.
Literature Online
  1. Open the reference you want.
  2. Click Download Citation (page top).
  3. Select Export directly to ProCite, EndNote or Reference Manager.
  4. Click Save. EndNote may open without requiring this.
  5. Select the EndNote file where you want the references exported and click Open.
  6. References will be directly exported from the database into the EndNote library.
  7. To view all references, under References choose Show All References.
MLA International Bibliography
See Literature Online.
ScienceDirect
  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Click Export Citations link (screen top, middle).
  3. Choose Citation + Abstracts.
  4. Accept the default RIS format (for EndNote, ProCite, Reference Manager).
  5. Click Export.
  6. Select the EndNote file where you want references exported and click Open.
  7. To view all of your references, under References choose Show All References.
Web of Science
Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index
  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Choose Full Record for Step 2 (page bottom)
  3. Click Save to EndNote, RefMan, ProCite (page bottom). EndNote opens automatically.
  4. Select the Endnote file where you want references exported and click Open. The references will be directly exported in your EndNote file.
  5. To view all of your references, under References choose Show All References.
WorldCat
  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Click Export (screen bottom left or top left).
  3. Choose Marked records from this search.
  4. Choose Export to EndNote and then click on Export.
  5. Click Open and select the EndNote file where you want references exported. Click Open.
  6. Choose the Import Filter WorldCat (OCLC). References will be directly exported.
  7. To view all of your references, under References choose Show All References.

[edit] Import references from a database file

This is a two-step method where you ...
Step 1 - Perform a database search and save references as a Text file.
Step 2 - Import the Text File into EndNote using an Import Filter.
Several commercial databases use the two-step method. If the Import Filter in your EndNote program does not work well (or is missing), look for the newest Import Filters at http://www.endnote.com under Support & Services.
Cambridge Scientific Abstracts (CSA) — Two-Step Method
Aerospace and High Technology Database, ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, Communication Abstracts, CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Managment, ERIC, GeoRef, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, LISA, Oceanic Abstracts, PILOTS Database, Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, TOXLINE, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Zoological Record.
Step 1 — Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Click the Save/Print/Email Records button (screen top).
  3. Choose Full format - no references from the pull-down menu (instead of short format).
  4. Click Save. Then click Save to disk. Save as a Text File (*.txt).
  5. The default file name will be csaresults.txt. Change the file name if you wish.
Step 2 — Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
  1. Open your EndNote file.
  2. Click File (screen top left).
  3. Select Import ... from the pull-down menu.
  4. Click Choose File. Select the file you saved in Step 1. Click Open.
  5. Under Import Options select a CSA import filter such as Environmental Sci (CSA).
  6. Click Import button.
  7. To view all of your references, under References choose Show All References.
EBSCO Databases — Two-Step Method
The direct export method is easier to use than the two-step Method. However, if you are using a computer which does not have EndNote, you can use the two-step Method by emailing the text file to yourself or saving it to a portable storage device.
  1. Select references with the Add to folder button (screen right).
  2. Click Folder has Items (screen top right).
  3. Click the Export button.
  4. Save citations to a file formatted for Generic bibliographic management software.
  5. Save. Then File Save As ... give the file a name, save it as a Text File (*.txt) with Encoding as Unicode (UTF-8).
  6. As per Step 2 — Cambridge Scientific Abstracts but in step 5 select an Ebsco import filter such as Acad Search Prem (EBSCO), PsycINFO (EBSCO), etc.
OVID — Two-Step Method
The direct export method is easier to use than the two-step Method. However, if you are using a computer which does not have EndNote, you can use the two-step Method by emailing the text file to yourself or saving it to a portable storage device.
  1. Mark the references you want (check box left of reference).
  2. Go to the Results Manager (screen bottom).
  3. Choose Complete Reference under Fields (instead of Citation + Abstract).
  4. Select Reprint/Medlars under Result Format. Select Save, then Continue.
  5. Save the file as a Text File (*.txt).
  6. As per Step 2 — Cambridge Scientific Abstracts but in step 5 select an OVID import filter such as Agricola (OVID), Biological Abs (OVID), Medline (OVID), etc.
PubMed — Two-Step Method
  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Under Send to choose Clipboard from the pull-down menu.
  3. Click on the Clipboard tab.
  4. Under Display select MEDLINE from the pull-down menu.
  5. Under Send to choose Text from the pull-down menu (may need to do this twice).
  6. Save the file as a Text File (*.txt).
  7. As per Step 2 — Cambridge Scientific Abstracts but in step 5 select PubMed (NLM) as the import filter.
SciFinder Scholar — Two-Step Method
  1. Mark the references you want.
  2. Click the Save As button (screen top).
  3. Name the file and select Save As Type: Tagged Format (.txt). Click Save.
  4. As per Step 2 — Cambridge Scientific Abstracts but in step 5 select SciFinder (CAS) as the Import Filter.

[edit] Access PubMed or the library catalog from EndNote

Connection files allow you to search a database from within the EndNote program and to save selected references to an EndNote bibliography. This option is used primarily for library catalogs, but can also be used for PubMed.
  1. Under the Tools menu, choose Online Search (or Connect in older versions of EndNote).
  2. Select PubMed or Auburn U. If you do not see PubMed or Auburn listed, then select New search and choose PubMed or Auburn from the alphabetical list. You can download the latest connection file versions of PubMed or Auburn U from http://www.endnote.com/support/enconnections.asp.
  3. Run your search.
  4. EndNote shows a temporary list of references. You may need to Close the search box to see the search results.
  5. Select any, or all, of the references you wish to keep (use the CTRL button to highlight multiple references).
  6. Click on the Copy All References To button and select your EndNote file.
  7. When you close the retrieved references window for PubMed Auburn U, EndNote alerts you that the references in the window will be discarded. Because you have already saved what you need, click OK. You can also not close the search window and continue to search PubMed.

[edit] Useful stuff to know about EndNote

Manage your electronic articles

Use EndNote to find, organize, and store electronic articles. After you open an EndNote record for a citation, a right click gives you three options to link to or save an electronic article:
  • Insert Object ... => To save a copy of a PDF inside the EndNote folder.
  • Link to URL ... => To link to an URL for an article.
  • Link to PDF ... => To link to a PDF of an article.


Search an EndNote file

From the References menu, select Search ... to open a search box (or click on the binocular icon). Keyword search specific field(s) or all fields, of your EndNote file. This feature makes your EndNote file like your own personal searchable database.


Customize Display Fields

  1. From the Edit menu, select Preferences. There are several options listed.
  2. To customize the display fields, click on Display Fields.
  3. Change the sort order of the EndNote bibliography by clicking on the column heading to sort by the field in ascending order. Clicking the same column heading a second time will reverse the sort order.


Find Duplicates

From the References menu, select Find Duplicates. This allows you to find and remove duplicate records.


Import Filters

If the import filter in your version of EndNote does not work well (or is missing!), look for the most recent import filters at http://www.endnote.com under Support & Services. New or updated Import Filters are added all the time.
  1. Go to http://www.endnote.com and choose Support & Services (screen top).
  2. Under Downloads, look for Import Filters and click on the More... link.
  3. Find the Import Filter for the database & vendor you need. Use the Sort by Name or Information Provider and click Re-Sort Files. Alternatively, the tab for Filtering Options allows you to select all databases by a single vendor.
  4. Click the FTP link for the database Import Filter you need.
  5. Click Save and select C:\ --> Program Files --> EndNote --> Filters, then Save.
  6. To use your new Import Filter, you must close and re-open EndNote.


Connection Files

To get the newest Connection File for PubMed or Auburn University:
  1. Go to http://www.endnote.com and choose Support & Services (screen top).
  2. Under Downloads, look for Connection Files and click on the More... link.
  3. Under Sort by, choose Information Provider and click Re-sort Files.
  4. Scroll down to PubMed or Auburn U and click on the FTP link.
  5. Save the file PubMed.enz or Auburn U.enz to the Connection File folder in your EndNote program. C:\ --> Program Files --> EndNote --> Connections, then Save.
  6. To use your new Connection File, you must close and re-open EndNote.


[edit] Writing papers with EndNote and Microsoft Word

There are a couple of ways to insert references from Endnote into a Microsoft Word document. Two of these are described below for Word 2007 and Word 2003. The commands are similar, but there are a few differences.

Word 2007

Insert citations in a Word 2007 document
  1. Open your Word 2007 document and your EndNote file.
  2. In your EndNote file, highlight the citation(s) you wish to insert (use CNTL for multiple citations).
  3. Go to your Word 2007 document.
  4. Place the cursor where you want to insert citations.
  5. Click the EndNote tab.
  6. Under the icon called Insert Citation (on the far left, page top) click on the little arrow and choose Insert Selected Citation(s).
  7. It may take little while for EndNote and Word 2007 to "talk", but once they do, your citations will appear in Word. Once the two programs are "talking", inserting citations will occur much faster.
  8. The citation(s) should now be inserted in your document where you last positioned the cursor, and you should automatically be returned to Word. Don't worry if the citation style used by your Word document is not what you want to use because that can be easily changed (see below).
Another way to insert citations in a Word 2007 document
  1. Open your Word 2007 document and your EndNote file.
  2. In your Word 2007 document, place the cursor where you want to insert citations.
  3. Click the EndNote tab.
  4. Under the icon called Insert Citation (on the far left, page top) click on the little arrow and choose Find Citation ....
  5. Enter keywords to search your EndNote file.
  6. Highlight the citation that you want to insert. Click Insert.
Format (or re-format) citations in a Word 2007 document
With EndNote you can format your paper in over 3,000 citation styles. Simply choose the style format or specific journal (e.g., MLA, APA, Int. J. Cancer, etc.) that you want to use. You can quickly format, or re-format, the same Word document with many citation styles.
  1. Open the EndNote file that you used to write your Word document.
  2. Open your Word 2007 document that contains EndNote references.
  3. Click the EndNote tab.
  4. Click on the downward arrow next to Bibliography.
  5. In the With Output Style box, select the Output Style you want to use. If that style is not listed, then click on Browse ... to see other Output Styles. If the style you need is not there, go to Support & Services at http://www.endnote.com to download the latest Output Styles.
  6. Click OK to format your document with the selected Output Style.


Word 2003

Insert citations in a Word 2003 document
  1. Open your Word 2003 document and your EndNote file.
  2. In your EndNote file, click on the citation(s) you wish to insert (use CNTL for multiple citations).
  3. In Word 2003, place the cursor where you want to insert citations.
  4. Using the EndNote toolbar, click on the icon for Insert Selected Citation(s)(it is the 4th button from the left). Alternatively, from the pull-down menu for Tools, select EndNote, and then Insert Selected Citation(s).
  5. It may take little while for EndNote and Word 2003 to "talk", but once they do, the citations will appear in your document. Once the two programs are "talking", inserting citations will occur much faster.
  6. The citation(s) should now be inserted in your document where you last positioned the cursor, and you should automatically be returned to Word. Don't worry if the citation style used by your Word document is not what you want to use because that can be easily changed (see below).
Another way to insert citations in a Word 2003 document
  1. Open your Word 2003 document and your EndNote file.
  2. In your Word 2003 document, place the cursor where you want to insert citations.
  3. Using the EndNote toolbar, click on the Find Citation(s) (it is the far left button).
  4. Enter keywords to search your EndNote file. Highlight the desired reference(s) and click Insert
  5. It may take little while for EndNote and Word 2003 to "talk", but once they do, the citations will appear in your document. Once the two programs are "talking", inserting citations will occur much faster.
  6. The citation(s) should now be inserted in your document where you last positioned the cursor, and you should automatically be returned to Word. Don't worry if the citation style used by your Word document is not what you want to use because that can be easily changed (see below).
Format (or re-format) citations in a Word 2003 document
With EndNote you can format your paper in over 3,000 citation styles. Simply choose the style format or specific journal (e.g., MLA, APA, Int. J. Cancer, etc.) that you want to use. You can quickly format, or re-format, the same Word document with many citation styles.
  1. Open your Word document that contains EndNote references.
  2. Open the EndNote library that you used to write the Word 2003 document.
  3. On the EndNote toolbar, click on the Format Bibliography icon (3rd from the left). Alternatively, from the pull-down menu for Tools, select EndNote, and then Format Bibiography.
  4. In the With Output Style box, select the Output Style you want to use. If that style is not listed, then click on Browse ... to see and choose other Output Styles. If the style you need is not there, go to Support & Services at http://www.endnote.com to download the latest Output Styles.
  5. Click OK to format (or re-format) your Word 2003 document with the selected Output Style.


The Output Style for my journal is not right!!! What's wrong?

  1. Open your EndNote file.
  2. Under Edit select Output Styles.
  3. Choose the second option from the top which is Edit "The name of your Output Style". If the Output Style you want is not there, then you need to select that Output Style, close the Output Style box and repeat step 3.
  4. In the left hand column there are many ways to edit your Output Style. Some of the most commonly needed changes can be made in the following places (listed in order of appearance):
  • Page number => i.e., 123 or 123-5 or 123-25 or 123-125
  • Journal name => Full title or journal abbreviations w/ & w/o periods
  • Citation -- Template => How the citation appears in the text of your Word document.
  • Citation -- Author name => Form of author in the text of your Word document.
  • Bibliography -- Template => Controls how citations appear in bibliography. Very important.
  • Bibliography -- Author name => Form of author in the citations.


Can't find the output style for your journal?

  • Check Output Styles at http://www.endnote.com Support & Services to see if one has been added. At the Style Finder tab, you can search for the name of the journal or the style.
  • Check with the publishers of the journal. They may have listed on their website.
  • Try this Google search: EndNote "output style" "name of your journal"
  • Make you own Output Style. Instead of starting from scratch, it is recommended that you find the closest Output Style and make modifications (see the section above). To find the closest Output Style, use the Style Finder tab at Output Styles at http://www.endnote.com Support & Services. At the top of the Style Finder tab you can search by citation style, bibliographic sort order, subject discipline, or the order of the first three fields. Make your selection and click on Find Styles. After identifying the closest Output Style, begin modifying it as described in the section above.


Edit citations

  • Although Word allows one to make changes in the citations within the "grayed text" of the cited references section, DO NOT DO THIS! If you ever reformat the "changed" Word document, any changes made within "grayed text" will be "undone" when Word looks back at the EndNote library for details about the citation. Instead, make the changes to the citation in the citation record in the EndNote file.
  • If you are using an Output Style that uses parenthetical author and/or year in the text of the Word document (Smith, 2000), you can edit an specific citation. Place your cursor on the reference in the text. Click on Edit Citation on the toolbar and edit the citation as your need to. Remember this only edits how a single citation appears in the text of a Word document.


Traveling Library

You can create an EndNote library that will contain every citation in the Word document that has been formatted with EndNote. That process is called "creating the Traveling Library".
Tools --> EndNote --> Export Traveling Library --> A New EndNote Library --> Give it a name --> Save
Why might you want to "create a Traveling Library"? Because you cannot reformat a shared Word document until you have either created a Traveling Library or have added a citation from one of your own EndNote files. It can also make reformatting the citations easier, especially if you used more than one EndNote file when writing your Word document.


Create an independent bibliography

  1. In EndNote click Edit and select Output Styles.
  2. Select the Output Style you want to use by putting a check mark next to it. If the Output Style that you want is not listed, then click on Browse ... to see other Output Styles.
  3. Under the Edit menu, select Select All to highlight all the references in your library. If you only want certain references, highlight them by holding the CTRL key and clicking on the references desired.
  4. Under the Edit menu, select Copy Formatted.
  5. Paste into a Word document.
Note: If you just want a quick printout from EndNote, follow steps 1-4 above, then click File in EndNote and select Print.


Insert a note into a document From your Word document:

Tools --> EndNote --> Insert Note --> type in desired text.
If you are using an Output Style that uses footnotes in the style sheet, you can insert a note in the usual way as in Word.
Insert --> Reference --> Footnote and Endnote and make the appropriate selection.


Work with colleagues

To determine whether you and your colleague have compatible versions of EndNote and Word, it is strongly recommended that a practice Word document be sent between you and your colleague to test version compatibility. After you receive the practice document add a couple of references to the Word document. Then reformat the paper in another output style, save, and send it back to your colleague. Do this a couple of times to make sure that you are confident that the software versions are compatible.
  1. Collaborator sends you a Word document that contains EndNote formating.
  2. Open the Word document.
  3. Open one of your EndNote files and insert one of its citations into the Word document.
  4. Reformat the Word document.
  5. The Word document can now be sent back to your collaborator for further changes.


Remove formatting

Before submitting your paper for publication, you will almost certainly have to remove EndNote formatting from your Word document. It's a really good idea to save a formatted version of your document before doing this.
  • Word 2003 => Tools --> EndNote --> Remove Field Codes. You can also use the EndNote toolbar.
  • Word 2007 => From the EndNote tab, under Bibliography choose Convert Citations and Bibliography and then select Convert to plain text.


More questions about EndNote?

For more information about EndNote and to download the lastest import filters, output styles, and connection files, go to EndNote's Support and Services pages. The FAQ section is excellent and can answer most questions. The EndNote Customer Support phone number is 408-987-5609 (sorry, but it is not a toll-free number).


Comments or questions?

Bob Buchanan
buchara@auburn.edu
Updated August 20, 2008