Education

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Suzy Westenkirchner
Education Information Agent
suzywest@auburn.edu
334-844-2817
Library Homepage ~ http://www.lib.auburn.edu
Ask A Librarian ~ Chat Email Phone
Fall 2008 Reference Desk Hours
Monday: 11 - 1 PM
Wednesday: 3 - 5 PM
Thursday: 5 - 9 PM
2nd Floor ~ RBD Library ~ 334-844-1737
Or please call for an appointment


Additional Research/Subject Guides
Children's Literature [1]
Caldecott Winners
Newbery Winners
Counselor Education
Counseling Psychology
Curriculum and Teaching
Distance Education
Educational Leadership
Kinesiology
Multicultural Education
Rehabilitation and Special Education
School Psychology
Services for:
Services for COE Education Faculty
Services for COE Graduate Students


[edit] Indexes & Databases

Academic One File

A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.


Academic Search Premier

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.


Children's Core Collection

Children's Core Collection is a selective annotated list of fiction and nonfiction books and magazines for children from preschool through sixth grade, along with review sources and other professional aids for children's librarians and school media specialists. Nonfiction works are classified by subject according to the Dewey Decimal Classification. Works of fiction, story collections, and picture books are designated Fic, S C, and E. It includes Children's Catalog and its archive and are the electronic versions of Wilson's standard reference work of the same name.


Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

A comprehensive database devoted to children's literature. Searche by grade, age, review, author and genre.


College Source

Contains college catalogs in complete cover-to-cover original page format. Also contains other additional resources.


Dissertations & Theses

Includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts.


EdITLib Digital Library

The EdITLib Digital Library focuses on publishing the latest research in educational technology and computers and learning.


EdResearch Online

Australian Council for Educational Research's database; includes more than 12,000 research documents and articles Covers much of what is indexed in the Australian Education Index (AEI) 9,000 freely available in full text, mostly post-1996. Remainder available for a fee ($22 Australian)


Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. This massive file offers the world's largest and most complete collection of full text education journals. It is a bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,820 journals, as well as full text for more than 900 journals. This database also includes full text for 71 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.


ERIC (via EBSCO)

ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for over 1.2 million articles and documents from 1966 onward. ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is a digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to records of journal and non-journal literature. Currently, more than 650 journals are indexed in ERIC. In addition, ERIC displays more than 100,000 full-text materials (Eric Documents) in PDF format. These materials are generally part of the recent "grey literature" such as conference papers and reports, rather than journal articles and books. Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. Updated Monthly.


ERIC~ Education Resources Information Center.

Updated Weekly.


JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Health & General Science Collection.


OregonPDF in Health & Performance

OregonPDF in Health & Performance, formally Kinesiology Publications, collects and indexes graduate research studies (master’s and doctoral dissertations) on physical activity, dance, play, sport, athletics and movement of individuals with disabilities. It includes research from biomechanics, motor control and development, sports medicine, measurement and kinanthropometry and related fields, available on microfiche and in electronic format.


Kraus Curriculum Development Library

Collects, evaluates, and selects curricula, frameworks, and standards to meet the needs of those who need to locate, examine, compare, and contrast examples of these.


Library and Information Science Abstracts

International abstracting and indexing tool designed for library professionals and other information specialists.


Mental Measurements Yearbook

Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute, contains fulltext information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas as included in the printed Mental Measurements Yearbooks.


Professional Collection

Professional Collection is a custom selection of more than 300 full-text journals for educators that is updated daily and provides 24-hour online access from school or home. The Professional Collection offers balanced coverage for any professional educator.


Professional Development Collection

Provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports.


PsycINFO

Contains summaries of the world's journal literature in psychology and related disciplines, as well as dissertations and technical reports.Covers nearly 2000 periodicals in over 25 languages.


Psych Articles

PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals with the exception of ads and editorial board lists. PsycARTICLES covers 53 journals, 1985-present, and provides both PDF and HTML formats.


Social Sciences Citation Index

The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1984 - Present.


Social Sciences Full Text

Indexes, abstracts and full-text from periodicals covers areas that include addiction studies, anthropology, criminology, economics, family studies, gerontology, minority studies, policy sciences, political science, psychology, social work, and urban studies.


Sociological Abstracts

Sociological Abstracts Database is a primary resource for accessing the latest research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database draws information from an international selection of over 2,600 journals and other serials publications, plus conference papers, books, and dissertations. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles.


SPORTDiscus

Covers sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, recreation, facilities and equipment.


Teacher Reference Center (TRC)

This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is now also offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

[edit] General Databases

Academic One File

A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.


Academic Search Premier

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.


Expanded Academic ASAP

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 - Present.


LexisNexis Academic

Provides full-text documents from over 5,600 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications with a variety of flexible search options.


Web of Science

Access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high impact research journals in the world. Also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching.


LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM

Subject Profile in Education

L    Education (general)
LA    History of education
LB    Theory & practice of education
LC    Special aspects of education
LD    Institutions – U.S.
LE    Institutions – America (non-U.S.)
LF    Institutions – Europe
LG    Institutions – Asia, Africa, Indian, Ocean islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific islands
LH    College & school magazines & papers
LJ    Student fraternities & societies – U.S.
LT    Textbooks


Subject Profile in Psychology

BF    Psychology
QP    351 - 495
RC    337 - 576


[edit] Selected Journals

JAKE

Search on part, or all, of the journal abbreviation (You have to have the first several letters of the first word correct). Only covers journals that appear in database aggregators.


[edit] Print Reference Materials

[edit] Encyclopedias & Almanacs

Almanac of Higher Education. Ref. LA 226 .A556 1995

American Educator’s Encyclopedia. Ref. LB 15 .D37 1991

Cyclopedia of Education. Ref. LB 15.M7 1911-1913

Education and Sociology: an Encyclopedia. Ref. LC 189.95 E38 2002

Encyclopedia of Adolescence. Ref. HQ 796.E58 1990

Encyclopedia of American Education. Ref. LB 17 .U54 2001

Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education. Ref. LB 1139.25 .E53 1992

Encyclopedia of Education. Ref. LB 15 .E47 2003

Encyclopedia of Educational Research. 6th Ed. Ref. LB 15 .E48 1992

Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence. Ref. BF 431 .E59 1994

Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory. Ref. BF 318 .E53 1992

Encyclopedia of School Administration and Supervision. Ref. LB 2805 .E53 1988

Encyclopedia of Special Education. Ref. LC 4007 .E53 2002

Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood & Adolescence. Ref. HQ 772 .G27 1998

International Encyclopedia of Education. Ref. LB 15 .I569 1994

International Encyclopedia of Higher Education Ref. LB 15 .I57 1978

Literacy in America: an encyclopedia of history theory, and practice. v.1-2 Ref. LC 151 .l487 2002

World Education Encyclopedia. Ref. LB 15 .W87 1988

Encyclopedia of Education -- Ref: LB15. E47 2003

Encyclopedia of Educational Research -- Ref: LB15.E48 1992

Education and technology: an encyclopedia -- Ref: LB 1028.3 .E17 2004

Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education -- Ref: LC 1099.3 .M58 1999

International Encyclopedia of Education -- Ref: LB15.I569 1994

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences -- Ref: H41.I58 2001

World Education Encyclopedia -- Ref: LB15.W87 2002

Biographical Dictionary of American Educators v.1-3 Ref.LA 2311.B54 1978

Reference Sources for Small and Medium-Sized Libraries. 7th edition, edited by Jack O'Gorman. Z 1035.1 .A47 2008.

Reference And Information Services: An Introduction, 4th edition, coming 2009.

[edit] Dictionaries & Thesauri

Dictionary of Multicultural Education. Ref. LC 1099.D53 1997

Dictionary of Reading and Related Terms. Ref. LB 1049.98.D53 1981

Dictionary of Special Education Terms. Ref. LC 3957.M66 1980

Facts on File Dictionary of Education. Ref. LB15.S43 1988

Greenwood Dictionary of Education. Ref. LB15.G68 2003

Historical Dictionary of school segregation and desegregation. Ref. LC 212.52. R34 1998

Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors.(Available in ERIC database) Ref. LB15.E3 2001

Thesaurus of Psychological Index. Ref. Z695.1.P7T 48 1994

Oxford Reference Online Premium (Electronic Resource)

Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press as well as the Oxford Companions Series in a single cross-searchable resource. The following titles are included in Oxford Reference Online Premium.

The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
The Oxford Dictionary of Art
A Dictionary of Modern Design
The Oxford Companion to the Garden
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
The Oxford Companion to Western Art


[edit] Education Websites

Alabama Arise
Alabama Department of Education
ALSDE Homepage
Blue Web
Content Knowledge
Edhelper.com
Education Index
Education Resource Organizations Directory
The Educator’s Reference Desk
U.S. Department of Education
Education Week on the Web
Gateway to Educational Materials Project
U.S. Department of Education
UNESCO
Special Libraries Association Education Division - Links
Teacher Reference Center

Teacher Reference Center (TRC) This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books is now also offered free via the EBSCOhost platform. This database provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.

Childcare & Early Education Research Connections
Teachers ~ Library of Congress


[edit] Statistics & More

Google Scholar
Tips for using Google Scholar
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
National Center for Education Statistics
Institute of Education Sciences (IES)

The Education Sciences Reform Act of 2002 (PDF 166 KB) established the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) within the U.S. Department of Education. IES brings rigorous and relevant research, evaluation and statistics to our nation's education system.

Sources of Statistics

Condition of Education
Digest of Education Statistics
Education Indicators
Education State Rankings
Report of Educational Statistics
Citation Manuals
Diana Hacker ~ Research & Documentation
Assessing_Journal_Quality
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Lexis Nexis Statistical
U of M ~ Statistical Resources on the Web
Professional Associations and Organizations

[edit] AU ~ College of Education

College of Education
Department of Counselor Education, Counseling Psychology, and School Psychology
Department of Curriculum and Teaching
Department of Educational Foundations, Leadership and Technology
Department of Rehabilitation and Special Education
Department of Kinesiology
Learning Resource Center Haley Center 3rd Floor