Economics
From SubjectGuides
|
Contact for questions about research:
|
[edit] Economics Reference Sources (2nd Floor)
- Alabama Economic Outlook–
- Reference Collection - HC 107 .A4 A24
- (Check the library catalog for location of older editions)
- Economic Abstract of Alabama–
- Reference Collection - HC 107 .A4 E25
- (Check the library catalog for location of older editions)
- The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics-
- Online only at http://www.econlib.org/library/CEE.html
- The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics–
- Reference Collection - HB 61 .N49
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History–
- Reference Collection - HC 15 .O94
- State Profiles: The Population and Economy of Each U.S. State–
- Reference Collection - HA 203 .S7314
- The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-2004–
- Reference Collection - HB 235 .U6 V35
[edit] Statistics
- Annual Abstract of Statistics (United Kingdom)–
- Reference Collection – HA 1122 .A33
- (Check the library catalog for location of older editions)
- Business Statistics of the United States
- Patterns of Economic Change–
- Reference Collection - HC 101 .A13122
- (Check the library catalog for location of older editions)
- Historical Statistics of the States of the United States–
- Reference Collection – HA 214 .H57
- The Illustrated Book of World Rankings–
- Reference Collection – HA 155 .K87
- International Historical Statistics (Africa, Asia & Oceania): 1750-2000–
- Reference Collection – HA 4675 .M552
- International Historical Statistics (The Americas): 1750-2000–
- Reference Collection - HA 175 .M55
- International Historical Statistics (Europe): 1750-2000–
- Reference Collection – HA 1107.M5
- Sourcebook of County Demographics–
- Reference Collection – HA 203 .S65
- Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics–
- Reference Collection – HA 203 .S66
- Statistical Abstract of Latin America–
- Reference Collection – HA 935 .S8
- (Check the library catalog for location of older editions)
- Bureau of Economic Analysis
- Key national, international, and regional aspects of the U.S. economy including the Gross Domestic Product.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
- This independent national statistical agency collects, processes, analyzes, and disseminates essential statisitical data in the broad fields of labor economics and statistics. Includes current data on the Consumer Price Index, Unemployment Rates, Average Hourly Wages, etc.
- County Business Patterns
- The divisions of the economy covered are agricultural services, forestry, and fisheries; mining; contract construction; manufacturing; transportation and other public utilities; wholesale trade; retail trade; finance, insurance, and real estate; and services.
- Federal Reserve Board
- Provides recent statistical releases, breaking news, economic research & data, and consumer information.
- National Agricultural Statistics Service
- Includes NASS reports on U.S., state, and county data.
- FedStats
- Gateway to statistics from over 100 U.S. Federal agencies, links to statistical agencies, press releases, and additional links to other statistical sites and general government locator sites.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States
- An invaluable compilation of statistics mostly provided by governmental agencies. Although it contains more than business statistics, fully two-thirds of the material can be characterized as economic or industrial.
- STAT-USA
- The site for the U.S. business, economic and trade community, providing authoritative information from the Federal government. (Ask at the Reference Desk on 2nd Floor for the login/password to use this database.)
- U.S. Census Bureau
- Your gateway to the census and other useful statistical information.
- Economic Statistics Briefing Room
- Provides access to current Federal economic indicators and provides links to information produced by a number of Federal agencies.
[edit] Country Data
- CIA World Fact Book
- Geographic, political, and economic data on the countries of the world.
- CountryWatch
- Provides up-to-date, critical country-specific data and daily news coverage on 192 countries. Also provides economic forcasts for each country.
- Library of Congress Country Studies
- Substantial reports on over 100 countries. This covers everything from history and business to government and national security.
[edit] Databases for Finding Journal Articles
All databases are available on campus and remotely (unless otherwise noted). To access a database from home, you will need to use your AU Global ID and password.
- Business Source Premier
- Provides full text from journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, and accounting. Also provides access to company profiles from the Datamonitor Company Profile Authority database.
- ABI/INFORM
- An index with abstracts to periodicals in business, including economics, finance, accounting, management, marketing, and transportation.
- EconLit
- Produced by the American Economics Association, EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 450 international economic journals. EconLit source material includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Contains records from 1969-present with approximately 15,000 records added annually.
[edit] Articles & Journals Not Owned by Auburn University Libraries
- Inter-Library Loan
- Request materials owned by other libraries and have them delivered to AU Libraries (main or branches) for pick up or delivered electronically to your email.
- Ingenta
- A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows full-text PDF access and faxing to articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff (available to AU Faculty, Retired Faculty, Staff & Enrolled Grad/Distance Ed Students only).
[edit] Additional Web Sources
- Country Reports on Economic Policy & Trade Practices
- Released by the Bureau of Economic and Business Affairs U.S. Department of State
- Economagic.com
- Economic data on charts or Excel spreadsheet format
- National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)
- A private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works.
- Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences Winners
- 1969-Present
- Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
- The OECD groups 30 member countries sharing a commitment to democratic government and the market economy. Its work covers economic and social issues.
- EconPapers
- Provides access to the world's largest collection of on-line Economics working papers, journal articles and software
- Public Debt of the United States-
- Dept. of the Treasury
[edit] Currency Exchange Rates
Foreign Exchange Rates from OANDA
Interactive Currency Converter - by Date
[edit] Auburn University Department Pages
For additional information about Economics or to comment about this page, please send an email to Amia Baker.