Civil Engineering

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Library Specialist
Andrew Wohrley
wohrlaj@auburn.edu
334-844-1768


[edit] Recent Publications by AU Civil Engineering Faculty

The publications below are part of an RSS Feed from our Engineering Village Database. Follow the links to see more information about the articles and to find the full-text, when available. (Must be a current AU student, faculty or staff member to access)


[edit] Reference Tools

[edit] Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dictionary of Civil Engineering Abbreviations Signs and Symbols TA 11 .D5

Dictionary of Engineering Acronyms and Abbreviations Ref TA 11 .E73

Elsevier's Dictionary of Civil Engineering TA 9 .G87

Encyclopedia of Environmental Analysis and Remediation Ref TD 145 .E53 1998

Environmental Engineering Dictionary and directory Ref TD 9 .P36 2001

The Facts on File Dictionary of Environmental Science Ref. TD 9 .W95 2001

McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Engineering Ref TA 9 .M36

Handbooks and General Reference Books

ACI Manual of Concrete Practice Ref TA 682.42 .A4 1998

The Civil Engineering Handbook Ref TA 151 .C57 2003

Concrete Construction Handbook Ref TA 681 .C745 1998

Construction Materials Reference Book Ref TA 403.4 .C66 1990

Davis' Handbook of Applied Hydraulics Ref TC 145.D3

Earthquake Engineering Handbook Ref TA 654.6 E374 2003

Handbook of Water and Wastewater Treatment Technology Ref TD 430 .C4593

The Industrial Wastewater Systems Handbook Ref TD 897.5 .S74 1998

Land Surveyor-in-Training Sample Examination Ref TA 537 .C64 1998

Land Surveyor Reference Manual Ref TA 551 .H37

Project Manager's Portable Handbook T 58.6 .C54 2000

Standard Handbook for Civil Engineers Ref TA 151 .S8 1996

Standard Handbook of Environmental Engineering Ref TD 145 .S72 1999

Statistical Record of the Environment Ref TD 180 .D37


[edit] Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
GB 1001 - GB 1005 Groundwater Hydrology
HD 9715 - HD 9718 Construction Management
HE 370 - HE 380 Traffic Engineering
HV 675 Prevention of Accidents
KF 390 .E54 Engineering Law
KF 902 Contracts. Construction Industry
KF 3812 Air Pollution - Laws and Legislation
KF 3948 Laws - Atomic Power Radiation
KF 3950 Laws - Atomic Waste Disposal
QC 795.3 Radioactive Substances. Special Aspects
QD 561 Ions and Ionization
QE 602 - QE 606 Structural Geology
RA 565 - RA 598 Sanitation and Sanitary Control
RA 1231 .R2 Radioactive Substances - Toxicology
S 591 - S593 Soils Classification - Analysis
T 57.6 - T 57.95 Operations Research - Systems Analysis
TA Civil Engineering
TC 7 - TC 1645 Hydraulic Engineering
TE 7 - TE 450 Highway Engineering - Roads and Pavements
TF Railroad Engineering and Operation
TH 425 - TH 435 Building - Contracts and Specifications
TH 1094 - TH 1095 Earth Movements and Buildings
TL 725 - TL 758 Transportation


[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your Global ID and password, which should be the same as your Auburn email username and password.


[edit] Subject Databases

Engineering Village http://www.lib.auburn.edu/EIVILLAGE

Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings with some fulltext available through Science Direct. 1970 - Present

INSPEC http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INSPEC

Indexes journal, conference and report literature in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, and computer science and information technology. 1968 - Present

International Civil Engineering Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ICEA

ICEA indexes international literature on Civil Engineering. 1976-Present

Materials Science http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CSA

(Includes METADEX, Materials Business File, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Corrosion Abstracts, Weldasearch and Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts. 1985 - Present)

Transportation Research Record http://trb.metapress.com

Online version of TRR with full-text back to 1996.

TRIS Online http://ntl.bts.gov/tris/

Online government index of research related to road and transportation engineering. (late 60s - Present)

[edit] General Databases

ASCE Journals Online http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ASCE

Recent years of ASCE Journals online full-text

Academic Search Premier http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ASP

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP http://www.lib.auburn.edu/searchbank

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 Present

Dissertation Abstracts http://wwwlib.umi.com/dissertations/

1861 Present. The years 1998-1999 are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.

Science.gov http://www.science.gov/

Comprehensive list of US government index to research publications.

Science Accelerator http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/

Single interface that searches multiple US government technology indexes.

[edit] Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CCSE

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 Present

Ingenta http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INGENTA

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff. Citation Database

Science Citation Index http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCI

Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. 1984 - Present


[edit] Journals

To search for articles, use the Indexes and Databases section of this guide.

Selected Civil Engineering Journals at AU Libraries [These are selected titles that we are currently subscribing to in paper format in the library; call numbers are included.] Selected Electronic Civil Engineering Journals.

Please note: If you don't see the journal that you need on the above lists, always be sure to check AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.

[edit] Associations and Societies

American Society of Civil Engineers http://www.asce.org

American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials http://www.transportation.org/

American Water Works Association http://www.awwa.org/

Bureau of Transportation Statistics http://www.bts.gov/

Earthquake Engineering Research Institute http://www.eeri.org/

[edit] Web Sites

ASCE Civil Engineering Database http://www.pubs.asce.org/cedbsrch.html

Building Materials by McGraw-Hill Sweets http://products.construction.com

Ultimate Civil Engineering Directory http://www.tenlinks.com/engineering/civil/

Geosource http://www.geosource.com/welcome.htm

Scirus http://www.scirus.com/


[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages

Civil Engineering

http://eng.auburn.edu/programs/civil/index.html