Chemical Engineering

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Library Specialist
Andrew Wohrley
wohrlaj@auburn.edu
334-844-1768


[edit] Recent Publications by AU Chemical Engineering Faculty

The publications below are part of an RSS Feed from our Engineering Village Database. Follow the links to see more information about the articles and to find the full-text, when available. (Must be a current AU student, faculty or staff member to access)



[edit] Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Dictionary of Food Ingredients. Ref. TX 551 .I26 2001

Dictionary of Organic Compounds. 6th edition. Ref. QD246. D5 1996

Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds. Ref. QD 411 .D53.

Elsevier's Dictionary of Chemistry: Including terms for Biochemistry in English, French, Spanish, Italian and German. Ref QD5 . D67

Encyclopedia of Analytical Science. Ref. QD 71.5 E53 1995.

Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design. (McKetta) Ref TP 9 .E66

Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. (Kirk-Othmer) Ref TP 9 .E685 1991

Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemical Analysis. QD 131 .E5

Encyclopedia of Separation Technology. Ref TP 156 S45 E53 1997

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary. 12th edition. Ref QD5 .C5 1993.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Chemistry. Ref. QD5.M36 1993

The Merck Index. Ref TP 156 .E6 E62 1996

Organic Chemical Process Encyclopedia. TP 690 .S56

Polymeric Materials Encyclopedia. TP 1110 P65 1996

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry. Ref TP 9 .U57 2003

Handbooks and General Reference Books

Beilsteins Handbuch der Organischen Chemie. QD 251 .B4 1918

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Ref QD 65 .H3

Catalog Handbook of Fine Chemicals (aka Aldrich's) Desk Ref TP 202 .A54

The Chemical Industry. HD 9650.5.C522 1994

Chemical Technicians Ready Reference Handbook. Ref. QD 61 .S58 1996

Compendium of Safety Data Sheets for Research and Industrial Chemicals. Ref. TP 200 .C66 1985

Food Chemicals Codex Ref TP 455 F66

Handbook of Applied Chemistry. TP 151 .H5813 1983

Industrial Inorganic Chemistry. TP200.I5313 1989

Langes Handbook of Chemistry. Desk Ref. TP 151 .H25

Names Synonyms and Structures of Organic Compounds. Ref QD 291 .N36

Organic Chemical Drugs and their Synonyms. Ref RS 154 .N428

OPD Chemical Buyers Directory. Ref TP 12 .O6.

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook. Desk Ref TP 151 .C52

Physical and Thermodynamic Properties of Pure Chemicals. Ref TP 200 D39 1989

Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Chemistry. Ref TP 145 .R54

Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers. Ref TP 151 R85 1998.

Shreve's Chemical Process Industries Ref TP 145 .S5

Survey of Industrial Chemistry. TP145.C441986

[edit] Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call Number Range LC Subject Heading
HD 9650 - HD 9663 Chemicals and Chemical Industries
KF 3946 Engineering Law
QA 76- QA 76.8 Electronic Computers
QC 175.2 - QC 175.36 Transport Theory. Kinetic Theory of Liquids
QC 311.5 Statistical Thermodynamics
QC 319.8 - QC 338.5 Heat Transfer
T 57.6 Operations Research. Systems Analysis
TA 357 Applied Fluid Mechanics
TA 455.P58 Polymers
TJ 810 Solar Energy
TK 9202 - TK9400 Nuclear Engineering and Reactors
TP Chemical Technology
TP 200 - TP 248 Chemicals: Manufacure, Use
TP 315 - TP 360 Fuel
TP 368 - TP 465 Food Processing and Manufacture
TP 500 - TP 569 Fermentation Industries
TP 751 - TP 762 Gas Industry
TP 785 - TP 869 Clay Industries, Ceramics, Glass
TP 890 - TP 933 Textile Bleaching, Dying, Printing, etc.
TP 1101 - TP 1185 Plastics and Plastics Manufacture
TS 1080 - TS 1176 Paper Manufacture. Woodpulp Industry

[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your Global ID and password, which should be the same as your Auburn email username and password.


[edit] Subject Databases

Beilstein Database http://www.lib.auburn.edu/BSTEIN

Beilstein links to a web page where on-campus users can download the software needed to search both Beilstein and the Gmelin databases.

Chemical Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCIFI

(Covers a broad spectrum of technical and scientific information including chemistry, biochemistry and chemical engineering. 1967 - Present. Only available on campus.)

Engineering Village http://www.lib.auburn.edu/EIVILLAGE

Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings with some fulltext available through Science Direct. 1970 - Present

INSPEC http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INSPEC

Indexes journal, conference and report literature in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, and computer science and information technology. 1968 - Present

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CSA

(Includes Aerospace & High Technology Database, METADEX, Materials Business File, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Corrosion Abstracts, Weldasearch and Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts. 1985 - Present)


[edit] General Databases

Academic Search Premier http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ASP

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

Academic Universe http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ACADU

Comprehensive fulltext coverage of news and business information

InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP http://www.lib.auburn.edu/searchbank

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present

Dissertation Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/DA

1861 – Present. The years 1998-1999 are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.

Science.gov http://www.science.gov/

Comprehensive list of US government index to research publications.

Science Accelerator http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/

Single interface that searches multiple US government technology indexes.

[edit] Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CCSE

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 – Present

Ingenta http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INGENTA

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.

Citation Database

Web of Science (Science Citation Index) http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCI

Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. 1984 - Present

[edit] Associations and Societies

American Ceramic Society http://www.ceramics.org

The American Institute for Chemical Engineers (AIChE) http://www.aiche.org

American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical and Petroleum Engineers http://www.aimeny.org

Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) http://www.bio.org/

Electrochemical Society http://www.electrochem.org

Institution of Chemical Engineers http://www.icheme.org

Society of Plastics Engineers http://www.4spe.org


[edit] Journals

To search for articles, use the Indexes and Databases section of this guide. Selected Chemical Engineering Journals at AU Libraries, or Electronic Chemical Engineering Journals.

Please note: If you don't see the journal that you need on the above lists, always be sure to check AubieCat. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.

[edit] Web Sites

Chemical Industry Home page

Information from and about industry, research, and academia in Chemistry.

http://www.neis.com/

Chemistry Webbook

The NIST Chemistry Webbook is searchable by Compound and formula and provides information about the CAS RN, phases, IR spectra, and mass spectra.

http://webbook.nist.gov/chemistry/

EMCI Query Form

Chemical information searchable by chemical name or Chemical Abstracts Registry Number.

http://www.epa.gov/enviro/html/emci/emci_query.html

F.A.C.T. Web Sites in Inorganic Chemical Thermodynamics

An archive of Java applets, software, and full text useful for chemical thermodynamics.

http://www.crct.polymtl.ca/fact/websites.htm

NIOSH Chemical Safety

Chemical safety information from the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health.

http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/topics/chemical-safety/default.html

MatWeb

Online Materials Information Resource

http://www.matweb.com/

Scirus

Database for evaluated Science and Technology websites.

http://www.scirus.com/

Sigma-Aldrich Company

Contains information about the company's products along with Material Safety Data Sheets.

https://www.sigmaaldrich.com/

Vermont SIRI MSDS collection

Online collection of material safety data sheets.

http://hazard.com/msds/index.php


[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages

Chemical Engineering

http://www.eng.auburn.edu/programs/chen/


If you have any comments about this information page, please contact: wohrlaj@auburn.edu Auburn University Libraries • 231 Mell Street • Auburn University, AL 36849

Phone: (334) 844-4500 or 800-446-0387