Census Data

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search



[edit] United States Censuses in AU Libraries

Clicking on the year will run a subject search in AubieCat, the Auburn University Libraries Online Catalog. These listings include the Libraries' holdings of both the statistical and manuscript censuses. Remember, the manuscript census is released only after seventy years have passed, making 1930 the most current release. Also, Auburn primarily selects the manuscript census for Alabama and selected counties of other mainly southeastern states.

2000,
1990, 1980, 1970, 1960, 1950, 1940, 1930, 1920, 1910, 1900,
1890, 1880, 1870, 1860, 1850, 1840, 1830, 1820, 1810, 1800,
1790

[edit] Statistical Data

[edit] Current Data

American FactFinder
American Community Survey
Data Tables
Census 2000
Population Estimates

[edit] Historical Data

1990 Census (US Census Bureau)
1980 Census (Missouri Census Data Center)
United States Historical Census Browser, 1790-1960 (University of Virginia Library)
This includes total, white, free African American and slave populations, churches, education and literacy, vital statistics, and economic data. Data collected varies by census.
NHGIS: National Historical Geographic Information System (Minnesota Population Center)
"The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2000."
Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
Includes links to current and older editions of the Statistical Abstracts. Also includes PDF's of the Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970 2 volume set.
Social Explorer (AU only)
Includes data beginning with the 1940 census
IPUMS-USA (Minnesota Population Center)


[edit] Other Resources

Historical Background (University of Virginia)
For information on the various censuses
Historical Census Publications: Electronic Versions at the University of Michigan Library
Each inventory link leads to an Excel spreadsheet that breaks down the decennial census and includes online links to pdf documents, ICPSR datasets, NHGIS information and other computer files.
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000 (US Census Bureau)
Includes: questionnaires and instructions (1790 - 2000), availability of Population Schedules, availability of the 1930 census records, state and territorial censuses, Mortality Schedules, population items on principal Census Questionnaires, a history of the Decennial Censuses (1790 to 2000), and individual histories of the United States Censuses
Modernizing the U.S. Census (published online by the National Academy Press, 1995) (National Academy Press)
Census questions asked in the 1960-1990 censuses are included in Appendix A (table beginning on page 192)
Enumeration Forms and Questions (Minnesota Population Center)
Published Census Volumes (Minnesota Population Center)
The Soundex Indexing System (National Archives)