Aviation Management
From SubjectGuides
Contents |
[edit] Library Specialist
Andrew Wohrley:
wohrlaj@auburn.edu
(334)-844-1768
RBD Library 2nd. Floor
[edit] Reference Tools
Indexes and Databases
All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your Global ID and password, which should be the same as your Auburn email username and password.
[edit] Subject Databases
ABI/Inform http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ABI
An index with abstracts to periodicals in business, including economics, finance, accounting, management, marketing, and transportation. Coverage is from 1971 forward and approximately 60% of the database is full text.
Aerospace & High Technology Database http://www.lib.auburn.edu/AHT
Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences; in addition to journal literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA and other U.S. government agencies; 1986 to present, updated monthly.
Business & Company Resource Center http://www.lib.auburn.edu/BCRC
Database to research all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry rating, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc.
Business Source Premier http://www.lib.auburn.edu/BSP
Business Source Premier offers information in most areas of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. It contains full text from many of the world's top management and marketing journals, and also provides indexing and abstract backfiles for the top scholarly business journals, dating back to 1965 or earlier.
CompendexWeb http://www.lib.auburn.edu/EIVILLAGE
Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings with some fulltext available through Science Direct. 1970 - Present
Lexis-Nexis Aviation Index http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ACADU
Index directly to all of the latest aviation news, most of which comes from the Aviation Week group. Click on Business News, and then Industry & Market, and the aerospace index is the default.
OxResearch http://www.lib.auburn.edu/OXRESEARCH
OxResearch, also known as Oxford Analytica, delivers articles analyzing economic and political developments worldwide, and evaluates issues within a coherent political, social, and economic framework. The objective, multi disciplinary articles are compiled by an international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities, as well as think-tanks and other institutions of international standing. The database includes all materials full-text with a three-month rolling wall of embargoed full-text materials.
Hoover's Online http://www.lib.auburn.edu/HOOVERS
Provides detailed information on more than 50,000 of the largest or fastest growing public and private U.S. companies. Includes company address, number of employees, key people, financial data, news items and selected links to company web sites, SEC filings, and current stock prices.
[edit] General Databases
Academic Search FULLTEXT Premier http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ASP
Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.
Academic OneFile http://www.lib.auburn.edu/AONE
Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present
Dissertation Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/DA
1861 – Present. The years 1998-1999 are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.
Social Sciences Citation Index : http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCI
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes 1,700 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage is from 1984 - Present.
Current Awareness Resources
Current Contents http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CCSE
Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 – Present
Ingenta http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INGENTA
A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.
[edit] Journals
Auburn Library Catalog http://aubiecat.auburn.edu/
[edit] Human Factors
ICAO Flight Safety and Human Factors Website http://www.icao.int/anb/humanfactors/
FAA Human Factors Research and Engineering Group http://www.hf.faa.gov/
DOT Human Factors Division http://www.volpe.dot.gov/hf/index.html
Flight Safety Foundation http://www.flightsafety.org/home.html
[edit] Statistics
NTSB http://ntsb.gov/aviation/Stats.htm
FAA http://www.faa.gov/data_statistics/
[edit] Web Sites
Internet Sites for Aviation and Aviation Management
Airbus Industrie http://www.airbus.com/
AviationWeek.com http://www.aviationweek.com
Boeing http://www.boeing.com/
CFD Online http://www.cfd-online.com/
European Space Agency http://www.esa.int/
Federal Aviation Administration http://www.faa.gov/
International Civil Aviation Organization http://www.icao.org
Lockheed-Martin http://www.lmco.com/
National Aeronautics and Space Administration http://www.nasa.gov/
National Air & Space Museum http://www.nasm.si.edu/
NASA Technical Reports Server http://ntrs.nasa.gov/
UK Airport News http://www.uk-airport-news.info/
[edit] Associations and Societies
Aerospace Industries Association http://www.aia-aerospace.org/
The American Astronautical Society http://www.astronautical.org/
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics http://www.aiaa.org/
Air Line Pilots Association http://www.alpa.org/
Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association http://www.aopa.org/
Experimental Aircraft Association http://www.eaa.org
International Air Transport Association http://www.iata.org/
NASA'S Scientific and Technical Information http://www.sti.nasa.gov/STI-public-homepage.html
National Air Transportation Association http://www.nata.aero/
[edit] Auburn University Department and Course Pages
Department of Aviation Management and Logistics http://www.business.auburn.edu/academicdepartments/aviation/
Auburn University Libraries • 231 Mell Street • Auburn University, AL 36849
Phone: (334) 844-4500 or 800-446-0387