Art

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Suzy Westenkirchner
ART Information Agent
suzywest@auburn.edu
334-844-2817
Library Homepage ~ http://www.lib.auburn.edu
Summer 2008 Reference Desk Hours
Monday: 11 - 1 PM
Wednesday: 3 - 5 PM
Thursday: 5 - 9 PM
2nd Floor ~ RBD Library ~ 334-844-1737
Or please call for an appointment
Ask A Librarian
Chat
Email
Phone

Contents

[edit] Print Resources

Art Index: A Cumulative Author and Subject Index to a Selected List of Fine Arts Periodicals and Museum Bulletins. 1929-1983. N 1 .A454

Art Information and the Internet: how to find it, how to get it. ~ N 59 .J66 1999

American Art Directory ~ REF. N 50 .A54 A directory of art organizations, schools, museums, periodicals, scholarships and exhibitions.

Artists' & Graphic Designers Market ~ REF. NC 999 .A7 2000 A directory of places where artists can sell their art.

Dictionary of Art ~ REF. N 31 .D5 1996 A multi-volume dictionary of artists, works, terms, movements, countries throughout the world with both short and extensive entries.

Dictionary of Twentieth - Century Art [electronic resource]. Publication Information: Oxford University Press, 2003

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography ~ REF. N7560 .E53 1998 Major themes in art and the works that address the themes.

Oxford Reference Online Premium (Electronic Resource)

Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press as well as the Oxford Companions Series in a single cross-searchable resource. The following titles are included in Oxford Reference Online Premium.

The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
The Oxford Dictionary of Art
A Dictionary of Modern Design
The Oxford Companion to the Garden
The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
The Oxford Companion to Western Art


Oxford Dictionary of National Biography OXNB is an illustrated collection of 50,000 especially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to 2000. REF DA 28 .O95 2004 and Electronic Link

Munsell Book of Color ~ REF. Folio ND 1493 .M8 M85 1976 Color charts organized by hue showing degrees of value and saturation. Corresponding Munsell Color Tree at 1st floor Service Desk

World Painting Index ~ REF. ND 45 .H38 An index to reproductions of art works in books by title and author. Indexes to reproductions of art works.

Conference Papers & Proceedings

Papers First: An index of papers presented at conferences worldwide. Coverage is from 1993 to the present.
Select World Catalog, then select additional databases or search multiple databases at once.

Proceedings First: Index of worldwide conference proceedings. Coverage is from 1993 to the present.

Search for conference proceedings in the Catalog by doing a SUBJECT SEARCH for your topic along with the word “congresses”. If you are unsure of what subject heading to use, try a KEYWORD search:
For example:
Art and globalization – congresses
Aesthetics congresses

Library of Congress Subject Area Call Numbers (for browsing the stacks)

N Art
NA Architecture
NB Sculpture
NC Drawing and Graphic Arts
ND Painting
NE Prints and Printmaking
NK Decorative Arts
NX Arts (in general)
TR Photography
TT Handicrafts


[edit] Indexes & Databases

Art Abstracts

An index to journal articles, reviews and reproductions in art periodicals since 1984. Some include abstracts. The earlier print version of this title is the same index. Art Abstracts, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.


Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

An index to periodical articles in Architecture. Includes history of architecture and interior design


Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)

Academic Search Premier is a large multi-disciplinary database containing full text for thousands of publications, most of which are peer-reviewed. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for many more journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.


Academic One File (Gale)

A comprehensive database of over 8,000 journals, magazines, and news transcripts in physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.


America: History and Life

Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.


ArtLex:Dictionary of Visual Art

Basic definitions of more than 2600 terms in all areas of art as well as illustrations, quotations, and pronunciation notes.


Artcyclopedia

Search by movement, medium, subject, nationality, artist's name, and more.


Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.


AskArt

An index to information about artists. Search by artist's name.


AUETD (Auburn University Theses and Dissertations)

Provides access to Auburn University theses and dissertations.

Catalog Search Tips
If you do an author search for 'Auburn University dissertations' the AU dissertations will all come up alphabetically by degree program.
If you do an author search for 'Auburn University master's theses' the AU master's theses will all come up alphabetically by degree program.
If you do an author search for 'Auburn University honors theses' the AU honors theses will all come up alphabetically by degree program.
Don't include the single quotes in your search.


Dissertations and Theses

The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Over 100,000 titles are available full-text.


Encyclopaedia Britannica

Consists of a fully searchable and browsable collection of authoritative references, including Britannica's latest article database; articles not yet in the print Britannica; Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (tenth edition); the Britannica Book of the Year; and links to other World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors.


Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)

Indexes over 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas including astronomy, religion, law, history, psychology, humanities, current events, sociology, communications and the general sciences. Articles in over 500 journals are full text.


JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to several collections of backfiles of scholarly publications covering the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. JSTOR includes the full runs of each journal, generally up to 1-7 years from the present. Note: Auburn University subscribes to the Arts & Sciences I & II Collections and the Health & General Science Collection.


Oxford Reference Online Premium

Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press as well as the Oxford Companions Series in a single cross-searchable resource.


Project Muse

Project MUSE offers journal titles from 40 scholarly publishers and covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.

World Cat


[edit] Image Sources

Art Promote

A searchable database with thousands of annotated listings in over 200 categories of visual art, music, and literature.


Encyclopedia of Source Illustrations AG 6 .H413 v.1-2 Copyright free images.


Dover Pictorial Archive (series) A series of books, each covering a different subject, with copyright free images. Several Call Number Locations


Hart Picture Archive (series) A series of books, each covering a specific subject, with copyright free images. Several Call Number Locations


American Historical Images on File A series of individual titles, each covering a particular subject, with copyright free historical images. Several Call Number Locations


Academic Search Premier Image Search (Ebsco)


AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive


Flickr

Flickr allows one to register and upload images. Users may search Flickr using keywords or browsing tags. Also, one may browse for images available under one of the Creative Commons licenses.


Zooomr

Zooomr allows one to register and upload images Users may search Zooomr using keywords or browsing tags. Also, one may browse for images by geographical location.


Ditto

Ditto allows one to search the Web for images and do ordinary Web searches. The image search capability is very good.


Picsearch

Picsearch searches for images on the web. Searches can be limited to type of image: color, black & white, animated, etc.


Imagery

Searches for images on the net and gives users the ability to either open the image only, or the page the image is found in. *Only works with Firefox.


Photobucket

Photobucket searches for images users post on the web.


Artville ~ Getty Images


Havanna Street


SILS: Art Image Browser


Corbis



[edit] Web Sites

ArtNet

Access to artists, galleries, and exhibitions, with views of works for sale.


Creative Commons


Ceramics Web


Artsource

Diverse, networked resources in art and architecture.


Artists Index

Access to information about contemporary artists by category.


Art Sales Index

Art Sales Index has the most accurate auction data on the market, compiled from Hislop's Art Sales Index.


Mother of All Art History Links

Includes links to other art history departments, research resources, visual resources, image collections, art museums, and online collections.


International Print Center

The only non-profit institution devoted solely to the exhibition and understanding of both historical and contemporary fine prints.


Artchive

A site distinguished by art criticism on selected master artists as well as other branches with limited links.


Sculptor.org

A comprehensive site for sculptors, which provides both educational and marketing information.


ART Thesaurus ~ GETTY


CPANDA

CPANDA is a collaboration between Princeton University's Firestone Library and the University's Center for Arts and Cultural Policy Studies, is an approachable and valuable resource. As "the world's first interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States," it offers free access to data sets created using well-documented social science methodology. These data sets contain mostly cross-sectional data, produced from surveys conducted during the mid to late 1990s and early 2000s. The archive also contains a few time series and longitudinal data sets extending as far back as the 1840s.


[edit] Journals & Etc.

List of Art Journals (not exhaustive) [1]

Book Reviews in Art [2]

Indexes to Reproductions of Art Works (not exhaustive) [3]


[edit] Associations and Societies & Etc.

Art Show

Lists of Arts Organizations, Associations, Societies & Clubs.


American Institute for Graphic Artists


College Art Association


Graphic Artists Guild


National Association of Schools of Art and Design


Auburn University ~ Art Department Home Page


Jule Collins Smith Art Museum


AU Library of Architecture, Design and Construction


[edit] Blogs

ArtCal
Art.Blogging.LA
artreview.com
The official blog of Art21, Inc.
ArtCritical
Bureaux, Petite mort
Eyebeam reBlog - distilling art + technology
Grammar.police
Modern Art Obsession
Where the Pursuit of the Collection IS the Obsession
Modern Art Notes
NewArtTV Your channel to the art world
Two Coats of Paint
Wooster Collective A celebration of street art

[edit] Locating Images

Alta Vista Image Search


NYPL Digital Gallery

Access to over 300 thousand images digitized from primary sources from the New York Public Library.


Internet Archive

A searchable collection of moving images.


Artfacts.net

An international online gallery and museum guide for modern contemporary and emerging art.


ADS- Visual Arts Data Service

An extensive image database specializing in Design and Applied arts based at the Surrey Institute of Art & Design. (registration is required)


Creative Commons

The Creative Commons project is a nonprofit organization offering flexible copyright for creative work. On their website you will find links to music, images, video, text, and more. One of their goals is to encourage creativity through sharing and collaboration.

Here is a quick overview of the licences:

Attribution means:

You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform your copyrighted work - and derivative works based upon it - but only if they give you credit.

Noncommercial means:

You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform your work - and derivative works based upon it - but for noncommercial purposes only.

No Derivative Works means:

You let others copy, distribute, display, and perform only verbatim copies of your work, not derivative works based upon it.

Share Alike means:

You allow others to distribute derivative works only under a license identical to the license that governs your work.


FLICKR

The photo sharing website Flickr.com allows users to attach creative commons licences to their photos, which can then be searched by tagged keywords. http://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/


You can also locate images in Wilson Art Abstracts by selecting the drop down menu "Art Reproduction" in your search query.


If you have any questions or comments about this page, please contact: suzywest@auburn.edu