Aerospace

From SubjectGuides

Jump to: navigation, search
Library Specialist
Andrew Wohrley
wohrlaj@auburn.edu
334-844-1768


[edit] Recent Publications by AU Aerospace Engineering Faculty

The publications below are part of an RSS Feed from our Engineering Village Database. Follow the links to see more information about the articles and to find the full-text, when available. (Must be a current AU student, faculty or staff member to access)


[edit] Reference Tools

[edit] Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

The Airline Encyclopedia, 1909-2000. Ref HE 9780 .S65 2002

The Cambridge Dictionary of Space Technology Ref TL 788 .W54 2001

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Space Ref TL 788 .V48 2003

Dictionary of Aeronautical English. Ref TL 509 .D53 1999

Encyclopedia of Space Science and Technology Ref QB 497 .E53

Encyclopedia of US Air Force Aircraft and Missile Systems. Vol. 1 Post World War II Fighters 1945-1973. UG 1243 .K53 Vol. 2 Post World War II Bombers 1945-1973. D 301.82/5:B63

Encyclopedia of Space Science and Technology. Ref QB 497 .E53 2003

Osprey Encyclopedia of Russian Aircraft Ref TL 526 .R9 G83 2000

SAE Dictionary of Aerospace Engineering Ref TL 509 .S24 1998

Handbooks and General Reference Books

AIM/FAR. Ref TL 712 .F432 2003

Aerospace Facts and Figures. TL 501.A818

NIST-JANAF Thermochemical Tables. QD 511 .N57 1998

International Reference Guide to Space Launch Systems. Ref TL 784 .I83 1999

Jane's All the World's Aircraft [latest in reference]. Ref TL 501.J3

Jane's Airports Equipment and Services Ref TL 725.3 .E6 J36

Jane's Avionics Ref UG 1420.J36

Jane's Space Directory. [latest in reference]. Ref TL 787 .J28

Handbook of Geophysics and the Space Environment. 4th Ed. QC 806 .H35 1985

Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge Ref TD 4.408:P64/5/2003

USA in Space Ref TL 789.8 .U5 U83



[edit] Subject Profile Call Numbers

Call number range LC Subject Heading
HE 9797.4 .A2 Access to Airports
KF 2400 -KF 2462 Aviation Law
QA 402 Systems Analysis
QA 861 Rigid Dynamics
QA 865 Vibrations
QA 913 Fluid Dynamics
QA 929 Viscous Fluids
QA 930 Gas Dynamics
QC 175 - QC 175.16 Kinetic Theory of Gases
QC 320 Heat Transfer
QC 670 Electromagnetic Theory
QC 871 - QC 995 Meteorology
TA 342 - TA 345 Mathematical Models
TA 357 - TA 359 Applied Fluid Mechanics
TA 404.8 - TA 418 Materials Mechanical Properties
TH 1635 Space Frame Structures
TJ 266 - TJ 267.5 Turbines
TK 7872 .P4 Piezoelectric Devices
TL 500 - TL 4050 Aeronautics
Z 699 Information Storage and Retrieval



[edit] Indexes and Databases

All databases are available on campus and remotely unless otherwise noted. To access a resource from home, you will need to type your Global ID and password, which should be the same as your Auburn email username and password.

[edit] Subject Databases

Aerospace & High Technology Database http://www.lib.auburn.edu/AHT

Index to basic and applied Aerospace research from the sixties to the present. Links to full text included.

Engineering Village http://www.lib.auburn.edu/EIVILLAGE

Indexes engineering and technology journals, reports, monographs and conference proceedings with some full text available through Science Direct. 1970 - Present

INSPEC http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INSPEC

Indexes journal, conference and report literature in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, and computer science and information technology. 1968 - Present

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CSA

Check the Aerospace Radio button. (Includes Aerospace & High Technology Database, METADEX, Materials Business File, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Corrosion Abstracts, Weldasearch and Ceramic Abstracts / World Ceramics Abstracts. 1985 - Present)

[edit] General Databases

Academic Search Premier http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ASP

Covers abstracts and indexing for over 3,000 scholarly journals and features full text articles for over 1,200 journals since 1990.

Academic Universe http://www.lib.auburn.edu/ACADU

Comprehensive fulltext coverage of news and business information

InfoTrac's Expanded Academic ASAP http://www.lib.auburn.edu/searchbank

Indexes 1500 journal titles in a variety of subject areas. Articles in over 500 journals are full text. 1980 – Present

Dissertation Abstracts http://www.lib.auburn.edu/DA

1861 – Present. The years 1998-1999 are available off campus, but earlier years are only available on campus.

Science Accelerator http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/

Single interface that searches multiple US government technology indexes.

Science.gov http://www.science.gov/

Comprehensive list of US government index to research publications.

Energy Citations Database http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/

Index to publications in physics and engineering from 1948-present.


Current Awareness Resources

Current Contents http://www.lib.auburn.edu/CCSE

Provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic data from current issues of scholarly research journals and books in the sciences. 1996 – Present

Ingenta http://www.lib.auburn.edu/INGENTA

A database of article information taken from over 18,000 journals that allows faxing of articles not owned by AU Libraries. Available to AU faculty, graduate students and staff.

Citation Database

Web of Science (Science Citation Index) http://www.lib.auburn.edu/SCI

Provides access to current bibliographic information and cited references from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. 1984 - Present

[edit] Journals

To search for articles, use the Indexes and Databases section of this guide. Selected Aerospace Engineering Journals at AU Libraries, or Electronic Aeronautics Engineering Journals

Please note: If you don't see the journal that you need on the above lists, always be sure to check [AubieCat http://aubiecat.auburn.edu]. By doing a "journal title" search in that database, you will get the call number for any paper subscription and/or a link to any electronic subscription.

[edit] Associations and Societies

The American Astronautical Society http://www.astronautical.org/

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics http://www.aiaa.org/

Air Line Pilots Association http://www.alpa.org/

Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association http://www.aopa.org/

Experimental Aircraft Association http://www.eaa.org

Students for the Exploration and Development of Space http://www.seds.org/


[edit] Web Sites

Aerospace Corporation http://www.aero.org/

Aerospaceweb.org http://www.aerospaceweb.org/

Airbus http://www.airbus.com/

AviationWeek.com http://www.aviationweek.com

Boeing http://www.boeing.com/

CFD Online http://www.cfd-online.com/

European Space Agency http://www.esa.int/

Federal Aviation Administration http://www.faa.gov/

International Civil Aviation Organization http://www.icao.org

Lockheed-Martin http://www.lockheedmartin.com/

National Aeronautics and Space Administration http://www.nasa.gov/

National Air & Space Museum http://www.nasm.si.edu/

Scirus http://www.scirus.com/

NASA Technical Reports Server http://ntrs.nasa.gov/

[edit] Auburn University Department of Aerospace Engineering

http://eng.auburn.edu/programs/aero/index.html

Auburn University Libraries • 231 Mell Street • Auburn University, AL 36849

Phone: (334) 844-4500 or 800-446-0387